X1000 Radeon graphics problem

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by xenic »

I downloaded the latest RadeonHD.chip and my 8 bit screen corruption still exists. An example is the AmigaOS Boot Menu-Boot Options screen. I couldn't find a way to screengrab it so I took a picture:
BootOptions.jpg
BootOptions.jpg (15.31 KiB) Viewed 4574 times
Notice the black block in the lower left where the scrollbar arrows should be. The same corruption occurs with my Radeon 9250 when used in my X1000. When the Radeon 9250 is used in my SAM Flex there is no corruption. We concluded previously that the problem must be in the X1000 or the X1000 OS display software.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam
Contact:

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by danbeaver »

What color should it be?
zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by zzd10h »

Just tested on my X1000 on R9250 / VGA
and I have no problem neither in the boot option nor somewhere else.
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 980
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by Raziel »

danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
They should probably look the same as the up/down buttons on the far right bottom of the pic
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by xenic »

Raziel wrote:
danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
They should probably look the same as the up/down buttons on the far right bottom of the pic
You are correct; it should be the up/down arrows that are at the bottom of every scroller.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by xenic »

danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
It should be an image of the up/down arrows that are at the bottom of every standard scroller. Sometimes the block is grey (with no arrows) but is usually black. I'll have to retest with my 9250 since yours works right. It's beginning to look like my problem is some unknown settings issue or a defective X1000. It only seems to affect 8 bit screens which I seldom use, so I guess I'll just have to live with the problem.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
A3000T
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by A3000T »

xenic wrote: Notice the black block in the lower left where the scrollbar arrows should be. The same corruption occurs with my Radeon 9250 when used in my X1000. When the Radeon 9250 is used in my SAM Flex there is no corruption. We concluded previously that the problem must be in the X1000 or the X1000 OS display software.
I can reproduce this problem (corrupted gadgets on 8-bit screens). I have already filed a bug report about it some time ago.

Kind regards,

Dennis
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by xenic »

A3000T wrote:I can reproduce this problem (corrupted gadgets on 8-bit screens). I have already filed a bug report about it some time ago.
I wasn't sure if the latest Radeon driver was supposed to fix the problem, so I just wanted to let others know that it still exists. As long as OS4 devs are aware of the problem, I'm satistied.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by Hans »

@xenic

IIRC, we concluded that this corruption needs to be fixed in the relevant GUI/graphics code. The problem arises because the PA6T processor has very strict alignment requirements when sending data through the PCIe bus, and some software needs to be updated to respect this.

EDIT: These alignment requirements could be more of a PCIe thing. In any case, correctly aligning transfers improves transfer speeds.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Post by xenic »

@Hans
EDIT: These alignment requirements could be more of a PCIe thing. In any case, correctly aligning transfers improves transfer speeds.
Does that mean that kickstart/PCIGraphics.card needs to be fixed or would alignment issues be in the CFE firmware??
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
Post Reply