REXX assign issue

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by nbache »

Okay, then I misunderstood you. Thanks.

Yeah, that sounds like the same issue I described.

It doesn't look like it is in Bugzilla specifically for Rx, so I'll add it there.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by Raziel »

Thank you...not holding my breath for any kind of fix or release, though
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
Amigo1
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by Amigo1 »

nbache wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 7:01 pm
..but some programs are not prepared for the existance of more than one component of an assign target. So it looks like Rx is one such program, not surprising, since it is part of the ARexx package which was written long ago
Best regards,

Niels
but from AmigaOS 3.1.x upt to AmigaOS 3.9 the "RX" searches all the components of an assign target just fine. So it looks like Rxis prepared.
I can not test it anymore, but I am fairly sure on AmigaOS 4.0 this still worked fine, maybe even AmigaOS 4.1..

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by nbache »

Possible, can't say. I only run 4.1FEu1+.

Anyway, the issue is now logged and being looked into. But as I hinted above, don't expect it to be fixed soon.

User avatar
Amigo1
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 3:32 pm

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by Amigo1 »

nbache wrote:
Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:16 pm
Possible, can't say. I only run 4.1FEu1+.
Just wanted to point out it did and does work on previous versions of the OS.
Anyway, the issue is now logged and being looked into.
Great!! :)
But as I hinted above, don't expect it to be fixed soon.
I don't but I guess it's true, hope is the last one to die.
Is there anybody still using ARexx anyway?

@Raziel
@nbache

Thank you both very much for your endurance and very much possitive attitude. :)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by nbache »

Amigo1 wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:15 am
Is there anybody still using ARexx anyway?
Of course - I use it a lot for various daily tasks, both recurring and one-time. I have a number of scripts tied to buttons in DOpus4, e.g. for launching various tools in connection with my translation work.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by Raziel »

@Amigo1
@nbache

Dito.

I have rediscovered AREXX lately.
Wrote some scripts for my house installation (Heating), an automated updater script for some stuff (HOSTS, pci.ids, ca-bundle.crt), an automated backup script (using BackUp from Deniil) and a weather forecaster (just like WET, but for my village), all using the Notification message system (because i'm still not able to code [for] a GUI)

Maybe some day i'll switch to Hollywood, but i'm lacking the time for it right now.

...oh and i would have given up on AREXX already, if it wasn't for my trustworthy (and soon to be completely ripped apart) printed AmigaOS3.1 Commodore AREXX manual.

I really hope that there will be a printed AREXX manual again someday
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by nbache »

Raziel wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:35 pm
(because i'm still not able to code [for] a GUI)

Maybe some day i'll switch to Hollywood, but i'm lacking the time for it right now.
Have you tried BroadBlues' ProAction? It's quite usable from ARexx as well - and teaches you ReAction at the same time :-).
Raziel wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:35 pm
...oh and i would have given up on AREXX already, if it wasn't for my trustworthy (and soon to be completely ripped apart) printed AmigaOS3.1 Commodore AREXX manual.

I really hope that there will be a printed AREXX manual again someday
I use the good old ARexxGuide: http://aminet.net/package/util/rexx/ARexxGuide2_0A

Best regards,

Niels

redfox
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:29 am

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by redfox »

@Amigo1
@nbache
@Raziel

I still use ARexx alot, for a variety of functions, some simple scripts, some more complex programs and subroutines. Always learning new stuff and (for me) new concepts as I experiment with MicroRexx, RxBGUI, RxMUI and ProAction. I'm not a programmer by trade, just like to tinker and learn as I go.

I use the following reference manuals:
Amiga OS 3.1 ARexx Commodore manual
ARexx User's Reference Manual, Copyright 1987 William S. Hawes

Niels, thanks for the link to that ARexx guide at Aminet.

Regards,
redfox

xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: REXX assign issue

Post by xenic »

Just wanted to point out it did and does work on previous versions of the OS.
I tried your test with the OS3 RX command and that didn't work on OS4.1FE either. Workarounds that worked for me are: rx REXX:amiga.rexx and REXX:amiga.rexx
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE

Post Reply