Updater

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
Steff
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2018 3:37 pm

Updater

Post by Steff »

I have run the "Updater" and there is a requester telling me that there is "No disk present in device APPDIR Process: 393 "Updater"". Can somebody tell me how i solve yet another puzzle of the Ami X5000?

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1433
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Updater

Post by tonyw »

That sounds like a bug in the Updater utility. APPDIR: is not a device but an assignment. To a program like Updater, APPDIR: should immediately appear as a non-disk device and it should be ignored.

If you can Cancel the requester, it should not matter.
cheers
tony

User avatar
colinw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 181
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:20 am
Location: Brisbane, QLD. Australia.

Re: Updater

Post by colinw »

APPDIR: is a virtual volume just like RAM: or ENV: or other such handlers.
APPDIR appears to you as a virtual disk that only contains softlinks.
You can treat it just like any disk volume, short of formatting it or having actual files stored on it,
it is also setup so that no disk icon appears on workbench, just like the ENV: handler.

By the looks of the requester, it seems the "Updater" program is forgetting to do a IDOS->SetProcWindow(-1);
when it is trying to get information while running through the DOS device list.
This requester tends to indicate the type of error message you would get because APPDIR is both the
DEVICE name and the VOLUME name, however, there is no VOLUME node actually in the doslist for APPDIR,
so it seems like it is assuming that there is no disk present because of that.

What "Updater" should be doing is getting a list of VOLUMES, (not DEVICES), then it wouldn't even see things
like APPDIR: or ENV: or CD/floppy disk drives with no disks in them.

User avatar
mritter0
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Bettendorf, IA, USA

Re: Updater

Post by mritter0 »

I did a fresh install for my new system. I, too, started to get the APPDIR requesters, from Updater, as well. What it turned to be for me is that my program, WorkbenchExplorer, was calling "APPDIR:LhA" to extract an archive. I hadn't run C:LhA yet so it couldn't find it in the APPDIR: "database". So I manually ran LhA from a shell, ran WEx again, extracted archive, works fine now.

Doing that seems to have fixed the Updater issue, too.
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: Updater

Post by zzd10h »

Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

duga
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 7:11 am

Re: Updater

Post by duga »

zzd10h wrote:Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?
Where can I get that? I have version 53.37.

duga
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 7:11 am

Re: Updater

Post by duga »

duga wrote:
zzd10h wrote:Should be fixed in Updater 53.43.
What are your Updater version ?
Where can I get that? I have version 53.37.

Running 53.48 now. :)

Post Reply