Date & Time will not stay

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by Spectre660 »

That would no be correct unless all keyboards and KVM's caused a problem.
I use an A-Eon AmigaOne keyboard do not any problems. But dont use a KVM.
esc wrote:Stepping back a bit - I could have sworn someone mentioned this was an issue with KVM switch and/or certain USB keyboards. If that's the case, and we consider that to be a defect, that would mean _all_ of these boards are defective, no?
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by nbache »

appturk wrote:Well I have read all and nothing stated by anyone solves this problem.
Does that include Tony's hint about checking the battery voltages or simply replacing them with known fresh ones? Just making sure - because that's what by now sounds "least unlikely" to me :-).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
salass00
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by salass00 »

daveyw wrote: The stupid time prefs in the humourously named "Enhancer" pack is baffled by daylight saving, and was always one hour out. I eventually solved the problem by programming daylight saving dates into it (even though the standard AOS locale prefs writes this to a variable.
To be honest there is nothing sensible about daylight saving time. Rather than making us change our clocks twice every year at some arbitrarily chosen dates they should just pick one time and stick to it.
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by nbache »

salass00 wrote:To be honest there is nothing sensible about daylight saving time.
OTOH there would be even less sense in not adhering to the time changes the rest of the world have chosen to make - sort of like insisting on driving on the other side of the road than all your fellow drivers.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
salass00
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:12 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by salass00 »

nbache wrote:OTOH there would be even less sense in not adhering to the time changes the rest of the world have chosen to make - sort of like insisting on driving on the other side of the road than all your fellow drivers.
I never suggested doing any such thing. If the A-Eon time prefs doesn't work correctly with DST then it needs to be fixed, obviously, and for that to happen the developer would have to be made aware of the problem first (for example by filing a proper bug report with all the relevant information like what locale settings were used and so on).
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by nbache »

salass00 wrote:
nbache wrote:OTOH there would be even less sense in not adhering to the time changes the rest of the world have chosen to make
I never suggested doing any such thing.
No, of course not. Sorry, I made my response a bit too terse by leaving out the part where I agree with you about DST being senseless to begin with, but ... (see above).

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Date & Time will not stay

Post by LyleHaze »

My Tabor had the same issue. The Tabor and X5000 have the same clock chip and driver.
There is a bit in the clock chip that must be set to allow the chip to use the battery. Older battclock does not check or fix this bit. There is an update in the works, but I'm not sure when it may release.

As a courtesy to an Amiga Dealer, I may be able to get you a small command to fix this.
At least we can give it a try and see if this will solve the issue.

Lyle
Post Reply