Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

User avatar
nubechecorre
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:28 pm
Location: Sanremo
Contact:

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by nubechecorre »

I have ordered Gorky17 from AcubeSystems and I will play it on my Sam440ep but for fun and curiosity I will try it also on my Amiga1200 PPC with Radeon 9250 and let you know how it works!

Stay tuned :-) ;-)
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse

slygon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:35 pm

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by slygon »

OK,

I just bought an AmigaOne X5000, and a copy of this game. I can't get it to run.... it installs, but when I click on the game icon, nothing happens.....

So... quick question:

Does/Should this work on an AmigaOne X5000.... (running the new OS4.1 Update 1)..... If so... any tricks or things I should look at? I won't discount the possibility that I have done something wrong.... my disclaimer is... I have no real history with Amiga computers... I have had a lot of Commodore machines, but the AmigaOne is a new hobby for me.... trying to learn as I go....

Thanks,

-Slygon

User avatar
nubechecorre
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:28 pm
Location: Sanremo
Contact:

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by nubechecorre »

Did you run the config program before running the game?
I tried it before replying to you and it started without problems.. I have just notice a little glitch on the upper part of the screen that there wasn't before the final edition update 1 so I guess that something is changed and this could be the cause of your problem..
Here I have a Sam440ep mini itx that has a Radeon M9 graphic board..
Try to set the wb to 16bit screen depth and see if something changes..
Tell us what happen :-)

Edit: I was thinking that you have a new system and maybe you are using the new warp3dnova and this could be the problem... to be sure, when you run the config program of Gorky, set the software render instead of the GPU render...
http://www.os4games.it

Sam440ep mini-itx

Classic System:

Amiga 1200
PowerPC 603+ 68040 25 Mhz + 256MbRam
Radeon 9250 128Mb VRam
Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb VRam
HD-Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 Gb PATA
DVD-RW LG Dual Layer
SoundBlaster PCI 128
4xEIDE Buffered Interface Elbox
Cocolino Interface Elbox
AmigaOne White Mouse

slygon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:35 pm

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by slygon »

OK...

It still doesn't work... It doesn't even launch...

I DO have a new system (AmigaOne X5000).

This is what I know....

I do have the Warp3DNova drivers installed, but I also recently bought and installed the older Warp3D drivers....

I have tried to do GPU render, with several resolutions and bit settings... no go.... I also changed it to software render, which only gives me the choice of 640x480 16bit... no go.... I even tried setting WB to match the settings both on software and hardware render just to make sure it isn't a screen setting issue.... no go.... no errors, no nothing... it doesn't even appear to TRY to run.... so something is preventing it from launching....

I do expect that it has something to do with the hardware in the X5000 or something in the version of AmigaOS released specifically for the X5000.... I just can't figure out how to troubleshoot it....

If you have any ideas on other areas to look, let me know.

Thanks for the help!

-Slygon (Eric)

User avatar
Spektro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:55 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by Spektro »

slygon wrote:OK...

It still doesn't work... It doesn't even launch...

I DO have a new system (AmigaOne X5000).

This is what I know....

I do have the Warp3DNova drivers installed, but I also recently bought and installed the older Warp3D drivers....

I have tried to do GPU render, with several resolutions and bit settings... no go.... I also changed it to software render, which only gives me the choice of 640x480 16bit... no go.... I even tried setting WB to match the settings both on software and hardware render just to make sure it isn't a screen setting issue.... no go.... no errors, no nothing... it doesn't even appear to TRY to run.... so something is preventing it from launching....

I do expect that it has something to do with the hardware in the X5000 or something in the version of AmigaOS released specifically for the X5000.... I just can't figure out how to troubleshoot it....

If you have any ideas on other areas to look, let me know.

Thanks for the help!

-Slygon (Eric)
Hi Slygon,
The game or the system may print useful information through the serial port which may tell us what the problem is. Try catching the serial output with Sashimi http://os4depot.net/index.php?function= ... ashimi.lha
- Janne Peräaho

slygon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:35 pm

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by slygon »

I can confirm that the newly released patch fixes my problem on the X5000!

Great job whoever found and fixed the issue! Now I can play!

-Slygon

esc
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by esc »

What patch? I have the same problem on my X5000. It won't run no matter what I do. I also bought the radeon hd 2 drivers as well as the warp3d drivers, I'm not sure how to make this game work.

esc
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 6:38 pm

Re: Gorky 17 game for AmigaOS

Post by esc »

Figured it out. The data files (in /DAT) never got copied over from the CD installer. Manually copied them and am good to go :)

Post Reply