Updating on German Workbench does not work

This forum is for Pegasos II specific issues.
Post Reply
ingoj
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:24 am

Updating on German Workbench does not work

Post by ingoj »

Hi Hyperion!

I just discovered that when running on German locale AmiUpdate gives misleading information.

On first invocation AmiUpdate gives this notification to restart the computer:
First Screenshot
First Screenshot
When you follow the advice it's apparent that this will lead you nowhere, of course. But when you invoke AmiUpdate the second time, the program window pops up and you'll see this:
Second Screenshot
Second Screenshot
You can see not matched strings and wrong order of buttons. The correct buttons show up when you switch to English language:
third screenshot
third screenshot
As you can see, the buttons in the German locale are mixed up:

- Scan is Aktualisieren (Update)
- Update is Abbrechen (Cancel)
- Select None is Fortfahren (Proceed)
- Info is Danke (Thanks)

So, clicking on Aktualisieren (Update) will result in another scan for updated packages.

I was updating from two versions behind and on very first invocation AmiUpdate itself updated, resulting in this broken setup. Maybe when updating from the previous version this problem does not occur.

Just wanted to let you know... :-)

Ingo

User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 343
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Post by MichaelMerkel »

ingoj wrote:Hi Hyperion!
screenshot-02.png
hi ingo.

see your second screenshot. there is an updated german locale file available - guess why :-)

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)

ingoj
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:24 am

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Post by ingoj »

MichaelMerkel wrote:
ingoj wrote:Hi Hyperion!
screenshot-02.png
see your second screenshot. there is an updated german locale file available - guess why :-)
Sure, but it's difficult to install it that way with the broken locales in place. ;-)

Ingo

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1415
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Updating on German Workbench does not work

Post by nbache »

ingoj wrote:Sure, but it's difficult to install it that way with the broken locales in place. ;-)
You need to switch to English locale until you have both AmiUpdate and the translation(s) installed and in sync. Then you can switch back.

Best regards,

Niels

Post Reply