Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:10 pm

Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by fingus »

Suggestion:

Click a Cursor Position on a CLI command.

example:
workbench:> assign work:test/

Click with the Mouse on w of "work" to change it to backup
User avatar
Thomas Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by Thomas Frieden »

fingus wrote:Suggestion:

Click a Cursor Position on a CLI command.

example:
workbench:> assign work:test/

Click with the Mouse on w of "work" to change it to backup
What would that actually do ? Where does "backup" come from and how should the mouseclick know what to exchange the word for ?
User avatar
ChrisH
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 920
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by ChrisH »

@Thomas
I guess (only guess!) that clicking on "w" would highlight the whole word, allowing you delete it & replace with "backup" or whatever? I'd suggest it would need to be a double-click though.

I suppose it you could try to detect that it was a path (KingCON does something similar when you press Tab IIRC) but I don't see that would be particularly helpful.
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by tonyw »

You can think of lots of "shortcuts" like that, but you end up with so many low-level features that only a few users can remember them and most people don't use them. Also (and this is the worst part) maintaining such code is a horrible job.

If that is what fingus wants, I'd suggest that back-spacing to the "work" string, erasing it and typing "b<HT>" would get the same result faster.
cheers
tony
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by fingus »

Thomas Frieden wrote:
fingus wrote:Suggestion:

Click a Cursor Position on a CLI command.

example:
workbench:> assign work:test/

Click with the Mouse on w of "work" to change it to backup
What would that actually do ? Where does "backup" come from and how should the mouseclick know what to exchange the word for ?
Ok, my example was not really clear, i try it again:

You have three partitions named:

Workbench:
Work:
Backup:

And now you open a cli and type or paste from a readme something like this:

assign blah: NotyourHDDName:blah/

It would be a nice feature to click the Cursor for example to the first char of "NotyourHDDName" to delete manually by Keyboard the Drive-Name to type in one fitting Name of your system. Otherwise you have to press Backspace or Cursor left a few times to reach "NotyourHDDName" to change it. Auto-Highlighting would also be a very nice feature to have, but in my case its not a must.
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:52 pm

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by Hans-Joerg Frieden »

fingus wrote: It would be a nice feature to click the Cursor for example to the first char of "NotyourHDDName" to delete manually by Keyboard the Drive-Name to type in one fitting Name of your system. Otherwise you have to press Backspace or Cursor left a few times to reach "NotyourHDDName" to change it. Auto-Highlighting would also be a very nice feature to have, but in my case its not a must.
What if you have typed
Assign blah: "RAM Disk:blah/"

Will your proposed feature stop at the space? At the ':'? at the quote? EIther way you do it, it doesn't really work. It's either a "select word" or a "select volume", in any case the use of such a feature is extremely narrow, for a situation that hardly ever arises.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
chris
Posts: 552
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by chris »

Hans-Joerg Frieden wrote:What if you have typed
Assign blah: "RAM Disk:blah/"

Will your proposed feature stop at the space? At the ':'? at the quote? EIther way you do it, it doesn't really work. It's either a "select word" or a "select volume", in any case the use of such a feature is extremely narrow, for a situation that hardly ever arises.
I think he means, when you click the mouse in the Shell/a console window, the cursor should move to that place. No other cleverness. This would actually be very useful.
User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:52 pm

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by Hans-Joerg Frieden »

chris wrote:I think he means, when you click the mouse in the Shell/a console window, the cursor should move to that place. No other cleverness. This would actually be very useful.
That would be usable indeed. Also, double clicking a word to select it would be useful.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore
User avatar
fingus
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:10 pm

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by fingus »

chris wrote:
Hans-Joerg Frieden wrote:What if you have typed
Assign blah: "RAM Disk:blah/"

Will your proposed feature stop at the space? At the ':'? at the quote? EIther way you do it, it doesn't really work. It's either a "select word" or a "select volume", in any case the use of such a feature is extremely narrow, for a situation that hardly ever arises.
I think he means, when you click the mouse in the Shell/a console window, the cursor should move to that place. No other cleverness. This would actually be very useful.
Thats excatly what i meant. There should be a german speaking section here to prevent such misunderstanding. ;-)
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Suggestion: Click Cursor Position in CLI

Post by xenic »

@fingus
I don't think it is necessarily a language issue. Like other KingCON users, I immediately knew that you were suggesting an editable command line in the Amiga shell (console actually). Most of us would like to see most of the additional features in KingCon included in the Amiga console (scrollable windows, buffer saving, command line editing etc.)
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
Post Reply