Anyone got Fienix to run?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by Raziel »

I downloaded it from here:
https://fienixppc.blogspot.com/p/cfe.html?m=1

1) Instead of an USB stick I used an USB HDD
2) I took all the steps (switching around the keyboard to another port after entering CFE)

It starts to load all the stuff with many green OKs on the left side, but ends up with a black screen when it probably should load in the Fienix GUI.

Anyone have a fix for that behaviour?
Do I maybe need the keyboard back in port 1 to make fienix boot?

...


Thank you, looking for an alternative to use the x1000 hardware...
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by MichaelMerkel »

checj this thread here. maybe it helps.

viewtopic.php?p=50962#p50962

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by Raziel »

You are not authorised to read this forum.
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1528
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by nbache »

It leads to a thread in the forum "Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only”.

IIRC, the "... Linux only" forums are only shown if you haven't deselected them. In the infancy of those forums, a lot of people complained that they weren't interested in all the Linux material, so some form of preference was deviced to let you deselect them.

But I can't find anything in my settings that deals with that.

Does anyone remember how it can be manipulated?

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by MichaelMerkel »

nbache wrote: Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:54 pm It leads to a thread in the forum "Platform: AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only”.

IIRC, the "... Linux only" forums are only shown if you haven't deselected them. In the infancy of those forums, a lot of people complained that they weren't interested in all the Linux material, so some form of preference was deviced to let you deselect them.

But I can't find anything in my settings that deals with that.

Does anyone remember how it can be manipulated?
afaik you need to contact the moderator of this site. you cannot dis-/enable it on your own.

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)
User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by MichaelMerkel »

Raziel wrote: Tue Oct 13, 2020 11:52 pm
You are not authorised to read this forum.
quick quote from there until you get access:
Please try using Fienix-GPU-Bandage:
  1. Boot up your system, when the black screen appears press CTRL + ALT + F1 to switch to console
  2. Log in as su
  3. Enter "apt-get install fienix-gpu-bandage"
  4. Enter "fienix-gpu-bandage"
  5. Press 1 for Yes
  6. Reboot
but it did not work for me. i used my old card and then installed/executed the bandage tool. after that also the newer card booted.

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by Raziel »

@MichaelMerkel

Thanks for the quote.

Will try, but I dont think I'll go through adding an older card just to be able to boot.

Isn't there possibility to use that bandage by default and ask the user on startup if he/she wants to use it or not?
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by Raziel »

Is there anyone capable of de-locking me from the linux forums?

Tia
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by Raziel »

Since i'm still locked out of the linux forums and no one seems to care, i'll post here again

I got it to run a little further, but after some short time of massive text scrolling i get

Begin: Running /scripts/local-block ... done.
over and over again, until after some time i get

Gave up waiting for root device.
...
ALERT! LABEL=FIENIX-DISK does not exist!
Dropping to a shell


Any hints on how to fix that?

I have, of course, tried to drop the whole "LABEL=" part from the CFE line, but that didn't help.
FIENIX-DISK does not exist!

I'm out of ideas.
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: Anyone got Fienix to run?

Post by sailorMH »

Raziel wrote: Sat Dec 05, 2020 3:49 pm I have, of course, tried to drop the whole "LABEL=" part from the CFE line, but that didn't help.
FIENIX-DISK does not exist!
I'm out of ideas.
I dont'know, if I remember it exactly, it is some time ago when I istalled Fienix. Please, take it like advice and not exact manual.
I do not boot from image on usb.
First, I boot to other linux (Debian i my case), prepare HDD and create ext4 partition ( for example/dev/sdb6 ) for fienix.
Then I mount fienix image ( maybe something like # mount -o loop fienix.img /mnt/image ) and fienix partition # mount /dev/sdb6 /mnt/sdx
and then # rsync -vrlAogt /mnt/image /mnt/sdx ( sorry, don't remember exact params)

then I use last stable kernel from xeno74 ( unfortunatelly is on AmigaOne X1000 - Linux Only ) and copy it to my usb stick (or cfcard)
and booting via:
setenv bootargs "root=/dev/sdb6 rootdelay=5"
boot -elf -noints -fs=ext2 usbdisk0:vmlinux
Pegasos 2, AmigaOne X1000, Powebook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
MorphOS, AmigaOS, linux: MintPPC 11, Debian, Ubuntu ..., MacOS X
Post Reply