Hard reset / reboot fails

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by vox »

Hi X1000 owners!

I do have a problem since day one - both AmigaOS and Linux (first was Ubuntu now is Debian 7) simply
don`t restart the machine (hard restart, not AmigaOS soft reset, 3 fingers salute). In fact machine
does restart but simply machine doesn`t show X1000 boot screen or sends any video signal to monitor.

Shutdown surely works and on turning on everything works like charm.

Is this isolated problem of mine, and what would be the cause, or other X1000 users have similar glitch?
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/

User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
Posts: 1381
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:28 pm

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by trevordick »

Question: This could be an OS4/card issue. Which RadeonHD gfx card do you have installed?

In Linux, with the latest Kernesl you can login & out and shut down the machine. I don't think I have ever used reset?

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'

User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by vox »

trevordick wrote:Question: This could be an OS4/card issue. Which RadeonHD gfx card do you have installed?

In Linux, with the latest Kernesl you can login & out and shut down the machine. I don't think I have ever used reset?

Trevor
Thanks Trev,

Radeon Bart (6000HD series, see my signature)

Can you please try a restart / reset from Linux and hard reset using PUFF under AmigaOS?

Seems to be CFE/Uboot or GFX card thing related to 6000 or 7000HD cards,
also reported on SAM460
http://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/v ... 68&forum=4

I believe Hans has somewhere explained it is x86 BIOS on GFX card thing,
and presumably solution would be some kind of PPC Flash, like Mac Cards had.
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by Hans »

vox wrote:I believe Hans has somewhere explained it is x86 BIOS on GFX card thing,
and presumably solution would be some kind of PPC Flash, like Mac Cards had.
No, the solution wouldn't be some kind of PPC Flash. For starters, nobody makes PPC firmware for these cards. Using an interpreter to execute x86 code is simply the way that things work these days.

FWIW, I have never had a hard-reset (done by pushing the reset button on the case) fail with any card that I've tested. Did you use the reset button, or Ctrl+alt+alt? It's worth trying both.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.

daz
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:32 pm

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by daz »

vox wrote:Hi X1000 owners!

I do have a problem since day one - both AmigaOS and Linux (first was Ubuntu now is Debian 7) simply
don`t restart the machine (hard restart, not AmigaOS soft reset, 3 fingers salute). In fact machine
does restart but simply machine doesn`t show X1000 boot screen or sends any video signal to monitor.

Shutdown surely works and on turning on everything works like charm.

Is this isolated problem of mine, and what would be the cause, or other X1000 users have similar glitch?
Other people have experienced this (Not me), take a look at this page, see if the instrutions here help:

http://wiki.amigaos.net/index.php/AmigaOne_X1000

Regards
Darren

User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by vox »

daz wrote:
vox wrote:Hi X1000 owners!

I do have a problem since day one - both AmigaOS and Linux (first was Ubuntu now is Debian 7) simply
don`t restart the machine (hard restart, not AmigaOS soft reset, 3 fingers salute). In fact machine
does restart but simply machine doesn`t show X1000 boot screen or sends any video signal to monitor.

Shutdown surely works and on turning on everything works like charm.

Is this isolated problem of mine, and what would be the cause, or other X1000 users have similar glitch?
Other people have experienced this (Not me), take a look at this page, see if the instrutions here help:

http://wiki.amigaos.net/index.php/AmigaOne_X1000

Regards
Darren
OK, soon I all be adding RAM and SSD so my fat technician will take a look at PSU.
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/

User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by vox »

Hans wrote:
vox wrote: FWIW, I have never had a hard-reset (done by pushing the reset button on the case) fail with any card that I've tested. Did you use the reset button, or Ctrl+alt+alt? It's worth trying both.
Hans
When I say HARD RESET I mean SOFTWARE FULL RESTART - HARD REBOOT and not RESTART by using hardware button on case.

There is no RESET BUTTON on x1000 case as far as I can see ...
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by Raziel »

vox wrote: There is no RESET BUTTON on x1000 case as far as I can see ...
You have to look harder then
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by vox »

Raziel wrote:
vox wrote: There is no RESET BUTTON on x1000 case as far as I can see ...
You have to look harder then
No you have read blogs :-) And have Quickstart Manual shipped with your X1000, probably.

There is reset button (we ll I would not call it a button) once door
is opened, but its not acessable since I keep it closen unless DVD is used.

That is hard solution, but yet the problem remains.

Thanks for your help and solidarity, as usual.
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 966
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Hard reset / reboot fails

Post by Raziel »

No you have read blogs And have Quickstart Manual shipped with your X1000, probably.
No you just have to open your eyes
That is hard solution, but yet the problem remains.
Just to add my X with a RadeonHD 6870
...i don't have that problem
Thanks for your help and solidarity, as usual.
Sensible questions get sensible answers
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

Post Reply