Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
gerograph
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Moers
Contact:

Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by gerograph »

Hi all,

What is the best set up in order to record my old tapes and convert them to MP3? Using onboard audio?

regards Gero

xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by xenic »

@gerograph
I suggest you read the topic "HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound ". Some people have problems with setting the recording volume but the problem is being worked on. If you are transcribing old tapes, you might want to record uncompressed audio so you can filter tape hiss before you convert to MP3.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE

User avatar
gerograph
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Moers
Contact:

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by gerograph »

@xenic
you might want to record uncompressed audio so you can filter tape hiss before you convert to MP3

And what would be the best software to do that? Do I need separate software for recording, filtering and converting?

User avatar
davebraco
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:06 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by davebraco »

µA1 256mo SATA -> lend to a dev
A1200PPC 256Mo MediatorTX Radeon9250 SATA RTL8029 SOLO-1
Sam440ep 533mhz 512mo 64Go SSD
Sam460ex 1150mhz 2Go RadeonHD 6570LP ENVY24HT
AmigaOne X1000 4Go SSD R9 270X Catweasel MK4
AmigaOne X5000 -> work in progress

User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by zappa2009 »

I updated to the latest HD-Audio-Driver Version 6.20 (I got it yesterday via AmiUpdate).
The AHI-Bug is gone. ;)
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by LyleHaze »

zappa2009 wrote:I updated to the latest HD-Audio-Driver Version 6.20 (I got it yesterday via AmiUpdate).
The AHI-Bug is gone. ;)
When recording audio, positive feedback is usually a bad thing.
I'll take this comment as the exception.
Nice to hear about improvements.
:)

User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by zappa2009 »

@Lyle
Hehe Thanks but ans Question: When came a Mixer for the HD-Audio ? Without i can`t listen when I record.
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by LyleHaze »

zappa2009 wrote:@Lyle
Hehe Thanks but ans Question: When came a Mixer for the HD-Audio ? Without i can`t listen when I record.
The HDAudio chip in the X1000 does not offer audio monitor abilities. Since HDAudio is the "new standard" I suspect that most or all of the new sound chips will not.

I am working on a software solution (one of many projects in front of me), but it will not be through the Mixer.
Once it is working and tested, I'll be sure to make it available.

User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by zappa2009 »

Good to hear ;)

BTW , If I use HD-Rec ( www.hd-rec.de ) I can hear some monitor sounds with HD-Audio. But with some Delay Echo and Ripple. If it helps for future work.
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9

User avatar
AlexC
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Best set up for Audio Recording + MP3

Post by AlexC »

BTW , If I use HD-Rec ( http://www.hd-rec.de ) I can hear some monitor sounds with HD-Audio. But with some Delay Echo and Ripple. If it helps for future work.
HD-Rec takes care of copying the input(s) to the output via its own software mixer.

There shouldn't be much of a delay, not enough to be noticeable, unless the buffers are very large or something is really slow in the I/O chain of events.

At least that was my experience with some older HD-Rec on the A1-XE several years ago, but after some HD-Rec and OS updates it stopped working altogether for me and I haven't tried it again since. What version of HD-Rec are you using?

Post Reply