set up to read floppies on X1000?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
tingo
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:52 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by tingo »

Is it possible to set up an X1000 to read classic Amiga floppies?
If so, what do I need to do that?

(I thought someone might have asked this question already, but didn't find anything when searching. Maybe my search- and Google-fu is weak)
Torfinn

User avatar
mbrantley
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 3:49 am
Location: Mobile, Alabama USA

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by mbrantley »

You need a CatWeasel PCI card and a floppy disk drive. I am doing this with a CatWeasel Mark IV card in my X1000 after having relocated my PCI network card with a PCIe adapter to free a PCI slot. I have read that an earlier version of the CatWeasel will be going back into production. The one I have does not seem to be available anymore.

User avatar
tingo
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 191
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:52 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by tingo »

Hmm, the current lack of CatWeasels is a hurdle, yes.
Anyway, thanks for telling me what is needed.
Torfinn

User avatar
328gts
Posts: 541
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by 328gts »

mbrantley wrote:You need a CatWeasel PCI card and a floppy disk drive. I am doing this with a CatWeasel Mark IV card in my X1000 after having relocated my PCI network card with a PCIe adapter to free a PCI slot. I have read that an earlier version of the CatWeasel will be going back into production. The one I have does not seem to be available anymore.

+ 1 have the same setup & it's working great
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+

User avatar
RobMattin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:23 pm

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by RobMattin »

tingo wrote:Hmm, the current lack of CatWeasels is a hurdle, yes.
Anyway, thanks for telling me what is needed.
Catweasel like hardware could be a good project for Xena/Xorro.

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by Raziel »

RobMattin wrote:
tingo wrote:Hmm, the current lack of CatWeasels is a hurdle, yes.
Anyway, thanks for telling me what is needed.
Catweasel like hardware could be a good project for Xena/Xorro.
Oh, i definitely second that
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
ddni
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by ddni »

A xorro classic amiga floppy controller?

I would buy that!

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by tonyw »

Neither the hardware design nor the software task is trivial. Granted, the software might be written for nothing by a fan with nothing better to do, but a hardware interface to a PC floppy needs to be designed and mass produced. Can you still get PC floppies with 40-pin connectors?
I don't think you'd be able to afford it, unless someone like Trevor paid for the hardware design out of the goodness of his heart.
And after all that, what do you get? The ability to read old Amiga disks which are all available on line anyway?

Buy a CatWeasel instead.
cheers
tony

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1452
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by nbache »

tonyw wrote:And after all that, what do you get? The ability to read old Amiga disks which are all available on line anyway?
I sure hope all my floppies with backups and old letters and other personal documents aren't available online ;-).
Buy a CatWeasel instead.
That, however, is very true - if only you can find an Amiga floppy drive.

Another possibility, which for many might be just as easy, is to set up an old A1200 or similar with networking, read the floppies on that and transfer them to the HD of an NG Amiga (or wherever) as ADFs or - for system-friendly disks - simply LhA archives.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
ddni
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: set up to read floppies on X1000?

Post by ddni »

Does os4 support kyroflux?

Post Reply