list | more broken (?)

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

list | more broken (?)

Post by Raziel »

First of all...THANK YOU very much for the great update :-D
It feels faster, even more stable and it's just awesome to be able to install it without a complete new install. KUDOS!

Now for a simple misbehaviour i found.

list | more should list the files, stop when the shell's window bottom is reached and show the rest or next page when the user presses a key...

with update 3 none of this happens, instead the shell window is blanked and somehow "frozen"...i can move it around, resize, put to background, get it back to front and such but i cannot close it for my life :-)

It just stays there and probably waits for something ;-)

Anyone can reproduce that?
Is it a regression?
PIPE is in Devs:/DOSDrivers, but i assume there was a change in L:queue-handler which triggers this behaviour, no?

Thank you very much again
Oh...it worked in update 2
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
abalaban
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:09 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by abalaban »

@Raziel

'xxx | more' always behave a bit strangely (IMHO, or at least compared to how someone used to the Unix feature would expect it to work). In practise I found myself using more and more the 'recorder' command line and then a 'more' or 'EditPad' on the result.
In the meantime this might be of some to you :?:
AmigaOne X1000 running AOS 4 beta
AmigaOne XE/G4
Amiga 1200/PPC 603e + BVision PPC

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by Raziel »

abalaban wrote:@Raziel

'xxx | more' always behave a bit strangely (IMHO, or at least compared to how someone used to the Unix feature would expect it to work). In practise I found myself using more and more the 'recorder' command line and then a 'more' or 'EditPad' on the result.
In the meantime this might be of some to you :?:
I need to try that recorder thingie :-)

Normally on large texts i do a list xxx >ram:xxx.txt and then read it with all the time i have ;-)

...still, this command shouldn't lock up the shell, should it? :-)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
abalaban
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:09 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by abalaban »

Raziel wrote:I need to try that recorder thingie :-)

Normally on large texts i do a list xxx >ram:xxx.txt and then read it with all the time i have ;-)
Advantage of using recorder is that it does not prevent the shell output contrary to a simple file redirection. So you know in real-time (or quasi) what is going on unlike with a redirection.
Raziel wrote:...still, this command shouldn't lock up the shell, should it? :-)
Yes I agree
AmigaOne X1000 running AOS 4 beta
AmigaOne XE/G4
Amiga 1200/PPC 603e + BVision PPC

User avatar
Hypex
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:23 pm
Location: Vic. Australia.

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by Hypex »

I can confirm here. It blanks my shell. How strange. :-)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by nbache »

Raziel wrote:...still, this command shouldn't lock up the shell, should it? :-)
It doesn't. Press Ctrl-C and then q, and you will get your prompt back.

Still, weird behaviour. I'll try experimenting a bit more ;-) here.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1415
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by tonyw »

None of the Shell/con-handler/console group has changed since Update 2, so it must be something else causing it.
cheers
tony

xenic
Posts: 1164
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by xenic »

Raziel wrote: PIPE is in Devs:/DOSDrivers, but i assume there was a change in L:queue-handler which triggers this behaviour, no?
I don't think so. I just replaced the Update3 more command with the Update2 more command and that works. It looks like someone botched an update of the more command :-)
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by Raziel »

@nbache

ah, thank for that :-)
I gotta really try to dig out my old amiga knowledge ;-)

@xenic

damn, the nearest solution :-D
good catch, thanks...do you also know who is responsible for the more command?
...and ask him to fix it ;-)

Hihi, i like the update :-D
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: list | more broken (?)

Post by broadblues »

It seams to be a probablem with more and reading from a pipe as:

list >PIPE:mypipe
more <PIPE:mypipe

fails in a similar way, once you hit ctrl-c you et a warning that the file might be binary.

Post Reply