X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

I've had my X5000 working great for quite a while now. After being turned off for several weeks it no longer boots anything. It will power up and show the initial X5000 screen, the boing ball will spin and it will then turn to a gray screen and sit. If I do nothing it will reset itself and repeat back to the X5000 logo. I can interrupt the boing ball and get into u-boot and interact just fine. If I load OS4 from u-boot menu It shows "Loading finished ######################### 100%" message comes up after a short time. Next Line reads: "About to call loader entry at 0x7BD02020" at which point it just hangs there.

NO media will boot into OS4. The original CD, my recovery USB stick or the SSD in it with OD4 installed. The last time I used my system it was fine. I didn't make any changes to it. Its sat and now doesn't work.

The odd thing, if I put in the other GPU I have that supports MorphOS and connect the 2nd SSD I have with a clean install of MorphOS on it, it boots fine into that. SO... This is something OF4 related it seems that came up from nowhere. I now have my system back to stock and am still trying to get it to boot into OS4.
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

Here is my serial output


2 USB Device(s) found
SATA0 (3 Gbps)
U-Boot 2014.04 (Oct 17 2016 - 08:22:22)
CE at device
CPU0: P5020, Version: 2.0, (0x82200020)
Core: e5500, Version: 1.2, (0x80240012)
Clock Configuration:
CPU0:1995 MHz, CPU1:1995 MHz,
CCB:798 MHz,
DDR:665 MHz (1330 MT/s data rate) (Asynchronous), LBC:49.875 MHz
FMAN1: 498.750 MHz
QMAN: 399 MHz
PME: 399 MHz
L1: D-cache 32 KiB enabled
I-cache 32 KiB enabled
Reset Configuration Word (RCW):-ST Prod.: DVDRAM GH24NSC0 Rev: LI00
00000000: 0c540000 00000000 1e1e0000 00000000
00000010: 44808c00 ff002000 68000000 45000000
00000020: 00000000 00000000 00000000 0003000f
00000030: a0000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Board: CYRUS
36-bit Addressing
I2C: ready
SPI: ready
DRAM: Initializing....using SPD
DDR: failed to read SPD from address 81
Detected UDIMM VS2GB1333D3
There is no rank on CS0 for controller 0.
Not enough bank(chip-select) for CS0+CS1 on controller 0, interleaving disabled!
Not enough bank(chip-select) for CS0+CS1 on controller 1, interleaving disabled!
Not all DIMMs are identical. Memory controller interleaving disabled.
2 GiB (DDR3, 64-bit, CL=9, ECC off)

Local Bus Controller Registers
BR0 0xE0001001 OR0 0xFFF00010
BR1 0xE1001001 OR1 0xFFF00010
BR2 0x00000000 OR2 0x00000000
BR3 0x00000000 OR3 0x00000000
BR4 0x00000000 OR4 0x00000000
BR5 0x00000000 OR5 0x00000000
BR6 0x00000000 OR6 0x00000000
BR7 0x00000000 OR7 0x00000000
LBCR 0x40000000 LCRR 0x80010004
L2: 512 KiB enabled
Corenet Platform Cache: 2 MiB enabled
SERDES: bank 2 disabled
MMC: FSL_SDHC: 0
EEPROM: NXID v0
PCIe1: Root Complex, x4 gen2, regs @ 0xfe200000
01:00.0 - 1002:683d - Display controller
01:00.1 - 1002:aab0 - Multimedia device
PCIe1: Bus 00 - 01
PCIe2: Root Complex, x4 gen2, regs @ 0xfe201000
03:00.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:01.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
05:00.0 - 12d8:e111 - Bridge device
04:02.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
07:00.0 - 10ec:8168 - Network controller
04:03.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:08.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:10.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
PCIe2: Bus 02 - 0a
PCIe3: disabled
PCIe4: disabled
Looking for VGA
PINS: 0xfc000808
videoboot: Booting PCI video card bus 1, function 0, device 0
Begin BIOS POST
End BIOS POST
Setting VESA Mode
Found required VESA mode
About to set mode 279
About to get mode
Got mode 49431 (0xc117)
OK
XSize = 1024 YSize = 768 Base =0xe0000000
mmio_base = 0x80000000
bgx = 0xad55ad55 fgx = 0x0
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
ID: NXID v0
SN: 116330024
UID: 4429431001910050e4d4a080a0800000
Errata: ÿÿÿÿÿBGÿ
Build date: 2015/06/11 14:42:47
CRC: 3d2fd346
SCSI: scanning bus for devices...
Found 0 device(s).
Net: Initializing Fman

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 1130, count 128 ...
Fman1: Uploading microcode version 106.1.0
Tuning PHY @ 3
Tuning PHY @ 7
FM1@DTSEC4 [PRIME], FM1@DTSEC5

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 1280, count 512 ... 512 blocks read: OK

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 65536, count 131072 ... 131072 blocks read: OK
USB0: USB EHCI 1.00
scanning bus 0 for devices... 4 USB Device(s) found
USB1: USB EHCI 1.00
scanning bus 1 for devices... 2 USB Device(s) found
SATA0 (3 Gbps)
SATA1 (1.5 Gbps)
CE at device
scanning bus for devices...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Device 0: (1:0) Vendor: HL-DT-ST Prod.: DVDRAM GH24NSC0 Rev: LI00
Type: Removable CD ROM
Capacity: not available
Found 1 device(s).
## Starting application at 0x00200000 ...


Loading finished [########################################] 100 %
About to call loader entry at 0x7BD02020
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

Saw the DDR sticks showing as not the same, which isn't accurate so I replaced them with another set. The original set was in first, then the newer set. Same issue with loading, but they both reported the same. Tried with just one stick and no change.

U-Boot 2014.04 (Oct 17 2016 - 08:22:22)

CPU0: P5020, Version: 2.0, (0x82200020)
Core: e5500, Version: 1.2, (0x80240012)
Clock Configuration:
CPU0:1995 MHz, CPU1:1995 MHz,
CCB:798 MHz,
DDR:665 MHz (1330 MT/s data rate) (Asynchronous), LBC:49.875 MHz
FMAN1: 498.750 MHz
QMAN: 399 MHz
PME: 399 MHz
L1: D-cache 32 KiB enabled
I-cache 32 KiB enabled
Reset Configuration Word (RCW):
00000000: 0c540000 00000000 1e1e0000 00000000
00000010: 44808c00 ff002000 68000000 45000000
00000020: 00000000 00000000 00000000 0003000f
00000030: a0000000 00000000 00000000 00000000
Board: CYRUS
36-bit Addressing
I2C: ready
SPI: ready
DRAM: Initializing....using SPD
DDR: failed to read SPD from address 81
Detected UDIMM KHX1600C10D3/8G
There is no rank on CS0 for controller 0.
Not enough bank(chip-select) for CS0+CS1 on controller 0, interleaving disabled!
Not all DIMMs are identical. Memory controller interleaving disabled.
6 GiB left unmapped
8 GiB (DDR3, 64-bit, CL=9, ECC off)
DDR Chip-Select Interleaving Mode: CS0+CS1

Local Bus Controller Registers
BR0 0xE0001001 OR0 0xFFF00010
BR1 0xE1001001 OR1 0xFFF00010
BR2 0x00000000 OR2 0x00000000
BR3 0x00000000 OR3 0x00000000
BR4 0x00000000 OR4 0x00000000
BR5 0x00000000 OR5 0x00000000
BR6 0x00000000 OR6 0x00000000
BR7 0x00000000 OR7 0x00000000
LBCR 0x40000000 LCRR 0x80010004
L2: 512 KiB enabled
Corenet Platform Cache: 2 MiB enabled
SERDES: bank 2 disabled
MMC: FSL_SDHC: 0
EEPROM: NXID v0
PCIe1: Root Complex, x4 gen2, regs @ 0xfe200000
01:00.0 - 1002:683d - Display controller
01:00.1 - 1002:aab0 - Multimedia device
PCIe1: Bus 00 - 01
PCIe2: Root Complex, x4 gen2, regs @ 0xfe201000
03:00.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:01.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
05:00.0 - 12d8:e111 - Bridge device
04:02.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
07:00.0 - 10ec:8168 - Network controller
04:03.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:08.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
04:10.0 - 111d:8092 - Bridge device
PCIe2: Bus 02 - 0a
PCIe3: disabled
PCIe4: disabled
Looking for VGA
PINS: 0xfc000808
videoboot: Booting PCI video card bus 1, function 0, device 0
Begin BIOS POST
End BIOS POST
Setting VESA Mode
Found required VESA mode
About to set mode 279
About to get mode
Got mode 49431 (0xc117)
OK
XSize = 1024 YSize = 768 Base =0xe0000000
mmio_base = 0x80000000
bgx = 0xad55ad55 fgx = 0x0
In: serial
Out: serial
Err: serial
ID: NXID v0
SN: 116330024
UID: 4429431001910050e4d4a080a0800000
Errata: ÿÿÿÿÿBGÿ
Build date: 2015/06/11 14:42:47
CRC: 3d2fd346
SCSI: scanning bus for devices...
Found 0 device(s).
Net: Initializing Fman

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 1130, count 128 ...
Fman1: Uploading microcode version 106.1.0
Tuning PHY @ 3
Tuning PHY @ 7
FM1@DTSEC4 [PRIME], FM1@DTSEC5

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 1280, count 512 ... 512 blocks read: OK

MMC read: dev # 0, block # 65536, count 131072 ... 131072 blocks read: OK
USB0: USB EHCI 1.00
scanning bus 0 for devices... 4 USB Device(s) found
USB1: USB EHCI 1.00
scanning bus 1 for devices... 2 USB Device(s) found
SATA0 (3 Gbps)
SATA1 (1.5 Gbps)
CE at device
scanning bus for devices...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Not ready...
Device 0: (1:0) Vendor: HL-DT-ST Prod.: DVDRAM GH24NSC0 Rev: LI00
Type: Removable CD ROM
Capacity: not available
Found 1 device(s).
## Starting application at 0x00200000 ...


Loading finished [########################################] 100 %
About to call loader entry at 0x7BD02020
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1550
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by nbache »

What happens if you leave both SSDs in and boot Morphos? Can MorphOS see the other SSD (e.g. in whatever you have instead of Media Toolbox)?

If not, it would indicate that the OS4 SSD is simply toast, although that doesn't really explain why you can't boot from the CD, of course.

What about the battery? Edit: And make sure you measure the voltage of the new battery, even if you think it is brand new.

Best regards,

Niels
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

I'll measure the batter and try another new one as well.
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

New battery, 3.4V and no change. The MorphOS SSD has never been able to see the OS4 drive because of the NGFS or whatever its called it used. It can see it if I wanted to format it though.
Roland
Posts: 506
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Roland »

Acill wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 3:59 pm... I can interrupt the boing ball and get into u-boot and interact just fine. If I load OS4 from u-boot menu It shows "Loading finished ######################### 100%" message comes up after a short time. Next Line reads: "About to call loader entry at 0x7BD02020" at which point it just hangs there.
I think that "Loading finished ###.... 100%" message means that Kickstart has been loaded succesfully. Thus the HD and partition where your Kickstart is loaded from must be working, too.

I had a similar situation when I first time tried to boot my X5000 from the OS 4.1 installation CD but the graphics card I had (R7 240) was not supported by the basic Radeon driver on that CD. But I cannot imagine why your machine has suddenly stopped to boot OS 4.1... With your HD 64xx card there should not be problems even with the OS 4.1 CD.

PS. Have you tested with another monitor cable...? If I remember correctly this kind of problems can sometimes appear with certain type of cables, and MOS may behave differently.
- Roland -
Acill
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Acill »

Yes, tried several HDMI cables. Here is my var output from u-boot. Trevor asked me for it.

X5000> printenv
amigaboot_quiet=Y
amigabootmenu_default=0
baudrate=115200
bdev=sda3
bootargs=root=/dev/sda2 mem=3500M console=ttyS0,115200 console=tty0
bootargs_live=root=/dev/ramdisk boot=casper mem=3500M ro --
bootargs_live_debug=root=/dev/ramdisk boot=casper mem=3500M ro break debug
bootcmd=setenv bootargs root=/dev/$bdev rw console=$consoledev,$baudrate $othbootargs;tftp $loadaddr $bootfile;tftp $fdtaddr $fdtfile;bootm $loadaddr - $fdtaddr
bootdelay=10
bootdvd=scsi reset ; load scsi 0 2000000 boot_dvd ; bootm 2000000
bootfile=uImage
consoledev=ttyS0
eth1addr=00:80:10:11:07:08
ethact=FM1@DTSEC4
ethaddr=00:80:10:11:07:07
ethernetboot=echo Running Ethernet Boot
ethprime=FM1@DTSEC4
fdtaddr=c00000
fman_ucode=7fe733f0
harddiskboot=echo Running Hard Disk Boot
hwconfig=fsl_ddr:ctlr_intlv=cacheline,bank_intlv=cs0_cs1;usb1:dr_mode=host,phy_type=utmi;usb2:dr_mode=host,phy_type=utmi
linuxboot=echo Running Linux
liveusb=usb start ; setenv bootargs_live_debug ; ext2load usb 1:1 2000000 boot_dvd ; bootm 2000000
loadaddr=1000000
loadbmps=mmc read 0x10005000 0x500 0x200; mmc read 0x20000000 0x10000 0x20000
massboot=usb reset ; boota
mos=bootmorphos
netdev=eth0
nfsboot=setenv bootargs root=/dev/nfs rw nfsroot=$serverip:$rootpath ip=$ipaddr:$serverip:$gatewayip:$netmask:$hostname:$netdev:off console=$consoledev,$baudrate $othbootargs;tftp $loadaddr $bootfile;tftp $fdtaddr $fdtfile;bootm $loadaddr - $fdtaddr
opticalboot=echo Running Optical Boot
preboot=run loadbmps;bmp d 0x20000000;ami
ramboot=setenv bootargs root=/dev/ram rw console=$consoledev,$baudrate $othbootargs;tftp $ramdiskaddr $ramdiskfile;tftp $loadaddr $bootfile;tftp $fdtaddr $fdtfile;bootm $loadaddr $ramdiskaddr $fdtaddr
ramdiskaddr=2000000
ramdiskfile=ramdisk.uboot
rootpath=/opt/nfsroot
scsidevs=1
stdin=usbkbd,serial
stdout=serial,vga
uboot=u-boot.bin
ubootaddr=0xFFF80000

Environment size: 1917/8188 bytes
Roland
Posts: 506
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by Roland »

Acill wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 9:39 pm Yes, tried several HDMI cables.
Do you have any DVI or VGA cable to test with...? Usually they are less problematic than HDMI. It may be that your machine is booting OS4.1 normally but cannot anymore show it on the monitor.
Here is my var output from u-boot. Trevor asked me for it.
...
amigaboot_quiet=Y
...
I'm away from my machine and cannot compare to my variable settings... But if you change that amigaboot_quiet variable to 'N', you can see what boot options there are really available.
- Roland -
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1550
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X5000 Fails to Boot Anything Now

Post by nbache »

Acill wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 8:03 pm New battery, 3.4V and no change.
Okay, then at least that's ruled out.
The MorphOS SSD has never been able to see the OS4 drive because of the NGFS or whatever its called it used. It can see it if I wanted to format it though.
Right, that's all I was after, to make sure the drive wasn't completely dead.

I assume you have checked that all your cards and cable plugs (especially the SATA plugs which can often come just a bit loose and sit askew) are secure in their slots and sockets, and slots and connections are clean?

Apart from that, not sure what to suggest next.

Edit: Yeah, I agree with Roland. Try a DVI cable - maybe your Morphos driver can use the HDMI port and the (oldish) RadeonHD driver in OS4 can't?

Best regards,

Niels
Post Reply