Transient boot problmes with X5000

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
Roland
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by Roland »

I have experienced from the beginning transient boot problems with my X5000. They appear only when the machine has been unused (the powersupply unplugged) several weeks (4-5). The first try to boot after a pause almost always fails. When I press the power button (Fractal Design Core case), booting seems to start normally as the fans begin to rotatate, but after 1-2 secs they suddenly stop and the booting halts. The standby-leds (green and red) on Cyrus board stay lighted, and the 'MCU error led' is blinking.

A second (or at least third) try to boot is usually succesful.

This is not a major issue, but what might possibly cause it...? My power supply is relatively new and of high quality (Seasonic Platinum), and there has not been any issues with it.
- Roland -
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1502
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by nbache »

Two suggestions immediately come to mind:

- Change the battery

- Make sure all fans (case fans and CPU fan as well as any graphic card fan) are running as they should, and that any filters in front of them are free of dust etc., as well as your CPU cooling ribs and other surroundings

Oh, and number three: Check all internal cables and plugs and make sure they sit properly.

Best regards,

Niels
Roland
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by Roland »

nbache wrote: Fri Jul 17, 2020 10:01 am Two suggestions immediately come to mind:

- Change the battery

- Make sure all fans (case fans and CPU fan as well as any graphic card fan) are running as they should, and that any filters in front of them are free of dust etc., as well as your CPU cooling ribs and other surroundings

Oh, and number three: Check all internal cables and plugs and make sure they sit properly.
Thanks for the suggestions... I have checked them but cannot test it before I'm again longer period away from my X5000 (I don't have a second machine here). But I doubt any of these is the reason as the problem was present from the very beginning.

I would expect to hear from A-Eon/Varisys some comment on this issue as the led warning should tell to experts what has gone wrong!
- Roland -
smf
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:16 pm

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by smf »

I have no idea why it would only appear when your machine have been unplugged for a while and why it would work the second time but the symptoms sounds similar to how the machine would react if it can not read from the microSD-card that contains the uboot and stuff.
(the psu should shut down quite soon after being powered on)

So maybe a bad contact with the card.
I have had my X5000 for around 5 years and a few years ago it would not boot sometimes but it was enough to remove the card and insert it again and since then it has never happened again.
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1444
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by tonyw »

If it only plays up after being "off for a while", then the prime culprit is the battery.

My second choice would be the memory. Take out the memory card, clean the contacts with a soft eraser and clean the socket with a small brush.

My third choice would be PSU.
cheers
tony
Roland
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by Roland »

@smf
I have recently removed and inserted the boot-SD a couple of times, when updating U-Boot. So I doubt that is the culprit, but if nothing else helps I will test with another SD card.

@tony
Thanks for the tips! I have now replaced the battery with a fresh one, and cleaned the DIMMs and the sockets. Let's see if it helps...

But it is unclear to me for what is the battery needed in X5000, except for the realtime clock? If I remember right, I have once booted my machine without having a battery installed.
- Roland -
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1444
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Transient boot problmes with X5000

Post by tonyw »

I haven't had a battery fail in either of my X5000s, so I can't be certain, but with older machines like the XE/SE and X1000, the machine won't even run without a fresh battery IIRC.

It's not only the RTC that uses the battery.
cheers
tony
Post Reply