Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5711
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

Post by xeno74 »

Hi All,

Is it possible to have AmigaOS 4.1.6 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE together on my A1-X1000? I'd like to install the FE on another partition and create a boot option for it.

Rgds,

Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

Post by LyleHaze »

Yes, you can have MANY boot options available, with a menu at boot time to give you options, and after a short timeout the partition with the highest boot priority will be selected as default.

The information you seek in in the "X1000 CFE Firmware and Booting guide", which can be found in the secure download area at a-eon.biz.
The part you are looking for starts on Page ten.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5711
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

Post by xeno74 »

LyleHaze wrote:Yes, you can have MANY boot options available, with a menu at boot time to give you options, and after a short timeout the partition with the highest boot priority will be selected as default.

The information you seek in in the "X1000 CFE Firmware and Booting guide", which can be found in the secure download area at a-eon.biz.
The part you are looking for starts on Page ten.
Thanks a lot for your answer. :-)
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
Severin
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

Post by Severin »

LyleHaze wrote:Yes, you can have MANY boot options available, with a menu at boot time to give you options, and after a short timeout the partition with the highest boot priority will be selected as default.
If you set os4_bootdevice=auto in CFE then have all your bootable partitions with the same priority it will boot from whatever partition kickstart was loaded from.

@xeno74

Don't forget to also set amigaboot_quiet=N in CFE to see the kickstart menu screen to choose which kicklayout to boot from.

User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 672
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Possible 4.1.6 and FE together on an A1-X1000?

Post by kilaueabart »

LyleHaze wrote:Yes, you can have MANY boot options available, with a menu at boot time to give you options, and after a short timeout the partition with the highest boot priority will be selected as default.

The information you seek in in the "X1000 CFE Firmware and Booting guide", which can be found in the secure download area at a-eon.biz.
The part you are looking for starts on Page ten.
I immediately proceeded to do just that. I am given only one option: FE. To get to backup 4.1.6 I must do the two-mouse-button thing.

Somehow amigaboot.of has remained unaware of any other kickstart. I'm copying the results of CFE show devices just in case there is anything meaningful in them, other than no mention of any hard drive in ide 2, 0 (that's where Media Toolbox says it is).

uart0 NA16550 UART at 0xFCFF03F8
pcconsole0 PC Console (USB/VESA)
eeprom-0 Microsip 24LC128 EEPROM on SMBus
eth0 PA Semi Ethernet (ge3) at 0x00A3000 (02-00-E0-0A-30-00)
flash0.os SPI flash at FFE0000 ofset 00000000 size 1024KB
flash0.boot SPI flash at FFE0000 ofset 01000000 size 1024KB
therm0 TI TMP423 Thermal Sensor on SMBus channel 0 dev 0x4C
cf0 CompatcFlash ATA disk unit 0 at 0xF00000000
ide0.0 PCI IDE disk unit 0 at I/O 0000 (PCI:E0590000)
atapi0.1 PCI IDE disk unit 1 at I/O 0000 (PCI:E0590000)
eth1 RTL8139 Ethernet at 0xA0320000 (f8-1a-67-00-af-37)
usbdisk0 USB Disk unit 0
usbdisk1 USB Disk unit 1

Post Reply