Page 1 of 2

X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:30 pm
by xenic
I downloaded the latest RadeonHD.chip and my 8 bit screen corruption still exists. An example is the AmigaOS Boot Menu-Boot Options screen. I couldn't find a way to screengrab it so I took a picture:
BootOptions.jpg
BootOptions.jpg (15.31 KiB) Viewed 4595 times
Notice the black block in the lower left where the scrollbar arrows should be. The same corruption occurs with my Radeon 9250 when used in my X1000. When the Radeon 9250 is used in my SAM Flex there is no corruption. We concluded previously that the problem must be in the X1000 or the X1000 OS display software.

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 7:18 am
by danbeaver
What color should it be?

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:27 am
by zzd10h
Just tested on my X1000 on R9250 / VGA
and I have no problem neither in the boot option nor somewhere else.

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:46 pm
by Raziel
danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
They should probably look the same as the up/down buttons on the far right bottom of the pic

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:04 pm
by xenic
Raziel wrote:
danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
They should probably look the same as the up/down buttons on the far right bottom of the pic
You are correct; it should be the up/down arrows that are at the bottom of every scroller.

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:10 pm
by xenic
danbeaver wrote:What color should it be?
It should be an image of the up/down arrows that are at the bottom of every standard scroller. Sometimes the block is grey (with no arrows) but is usually black. I'll have to retest with my 9250 since yours works right. It's beginning to look like my problem is some unknown settings issue or a defective X1000. It only seems to affect 8 bit screens which I seldom use, so I guess I'll just have to live with the problem.

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 8:08 pm
by A3000T
xenic wrote: Notice the black block in the lower left where the scrollbar arrows should be. The same corruption occurs with my Radeon 9250 when used in my X1000. When the Radeon 9250 is used in my SAM Flex there is no corruption. We concluded previously that the problem must be in the X1000 or the X1000 OS display software.
I can reproduce this problem (corrupted gadgets on 8-bit screens). I have already filed a bug report about it some time ago.

Kind regards,

Dennis

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 7:59 pm
by xenic
A3000T wrote:I can reproduce this problem (corrupted gadgets on 8-bit screens). I have already filed a bug report about it some time ago.
I wasn't sure if the latest Radeon driver was supposed to fix the problem, so I just wanted to let others know that it still exists. As long as OS4 devs are aware of the problem, I'm satistied.

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 9:25 pm
by Hans
@xenic

IIRC, we concluded that this corruption needs to be fixed in the relevant GUI/graphics code. The problem arises because the PA6T processor has very strict alignment requirements when sending data through the PCIe bus, and some software needs to be updated to respect this.

EDIT: These alignment requirements could be more of a PCIe thing. In any case, correctly aligning transfers improves transfer speeds.

Hans

Re: X1000 Radeon graphics problem

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:56 pm
by xenic
@Hans
EDIT: These alignment requirements could be more of a PCIe thing. In any case, correctly aligning transfers improves transfer speeds.
Does that mean that kickstart/PCIGraphics.card needs to be fixed or would alignment issues be in the CFE firmware??