x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

Post by vox »

Hi fellow Amigans,

X1000 boot time is not much representative, I do remember there was a thread (on AW.net?) on how to shave off boot time.

I do remember most important find out to speed up boot was set pmu=A4 (switch to 1800Mhz), getting gfx card that initialize / change resolutions faster (any champ) and eventually commenting out kickstart file.

On first one, how to save it permanently.
Any more CFE related advices?

Surely, last step was most tricky and NOT advised by Hyperion, but e.g. there are always things that will never be used (Voodo, Sil controller etc.) and surely is adviced to backup original files, but saves both boot time and OS resources.

and last Amigan question, is there something that can be commented out from S:startup-seq,user startup, net startup?
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/
User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam
Contact:

Re: x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

Post by danbeaver »

There is a bit of a hardware initialization wait until the CFE calls the boot routine for setup (which seems to occur once the USB goes active and powers the keyboard); there is an adjustable wait time for boot drive choice, then it loads the OS 4.1 kernel and finally starts the S:Startup-sequence. You can cut out the boot sound and a few other things, but time is lost getting an ip number. You can make a smaller kernel, but it may not decrease boot time. I'm not sure about resolutions, but editing the CFE will shorten boot time, the rest would cut milli seconds for the most part. This is only my opinion as a peon.
User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

Post by vox »

danbeaver wrote:There is a bit of a hardware initialization wait until the CFE calls the boot routine for setup (which seems to occur once the USB goes active and powers the keyboard); there is an adjustable wait time for boot drive choice, then it loads the OS 4.1 kernel and finally starts the S:Startup-sequence. You can cut out the boot sound and a few other things, but time is lost getting an ip number. You can make a smaller kernel, but it may not decrease boot time. I'm not sure about resolutions, but editing the CFE will shorten boot time, the rest would cut milli seconds for the most part. This is only my opinion as a peon.
Thanks. Well, CFE can be software updated over time, so there I will change just boot speed and menu wait.
S:Startup-sequence is not worth of editing and can mess things quite a lot, so only left operation
is editing Kickstart

What surely I can edit out, no fear

;MODULE Kickstart/ATIRadeon.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3DLabsPermedia2.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3dfxVoodoo.chip

;MODULE Kickstart/sii3112ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3114ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3512ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii0680ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/lsi53c8xx.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/it8212ide.device.kmod

Some more good advices:

cpu speed to 4, enter CFE, press F at the first menu.

Enter:

setenv -p STARTUP "set pmu -astate=4 ; menu"

Enter printenv to check it's correct

You might already have STARTUP set to "speed ; menu" in which case check the speed variable.

You can check all this in ranger in the hardware / firmware tab.

As for USB, it sounds like you have something weird connected that's taking a long time to initalise, USB only takes a second or so here. Try removing everything except the mouse and keyboard, reboot, add half the others back, reboot, remove them and add the other half etc... or if you don't have much commented just add one at a time.

@vox

There is a stripped down kicklayout file Here. Yes I know it's a lot bigger, it contain 3 kicklayouts instead of the standard 2.

If you have any problems booting enter CFE and type

setenv amigaboot_quiet N

Then

menu

You will see a second menu that lets you choose which kicklayout to use, hit space to stop the countdown then press the number for the 'Emergeny' entry.

This layout assumes you don't have an old radeon card fitted, if you do uncomment ATIRadeon.chip in the top section (never edit the bottom two and you are safe.
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

Post by Christopher Follett »

Hi,

Everything to speed it up has already been done.
I already stripped the Kicklayout of stuff that X1000 will never use and set pmu to fastest CPU speed.
The only thing that takes the longest is USB startup. Not much that can be done about that.
vox wrote:
danbeaver wrote:There is a bit of a hardware initialization wait until the CFE calls the boot routine for setup (which seems to occur once the USB goes active and powers the keyboard); there is an adjustable wait time for boot drive choice, then it loads the OS 4.1 kernel and finally starts the S:Startup-sequence. You can cut out the boot sound and a few other things, but time is lost getting an ip number. You can make a smaller kernel, but it may not decrease boot time. I'm not sure about resolutions, but editing the CFE will shorten boot time, the rest would cut milli seconds for the most part. This is only my opinion as a peon.
Thanks. Well, CFE can be software updated over time, so there I will change just boot speed and menu wait.
S:Startup-sequence is not worth of editing and can mess things quite a lot, so only left operation
is editing Kickstart

What surely I can edit out, no fear

;MODULE Kickstart/ATIRadeon.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3DLabsPermedia2.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3dfxVoodoo.chip

;MODULE Kickstart/sii3112ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3114ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3512ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii0680ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/lsi53c8xx.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/it8212ide.device.kmod

Some more good advices:

cpu speed to 4, enter CFE, press F at the first menu.

Enter:

setenv -p STARTUP "set pmu -astate=4 ; menu"

Enter printenv to check it's correct

You might already have STARTUP set to "speed ; menu" in which case check the speed variable.

You can check all this in ranger in the hardware / firmware tab.

As for USB, it sounds like you have something weird connected that's taking a long time to initalise, USB only takes a second or so here. Try removing everything except the mouse and keyboard, reboot, add half the others back, reboot, remove them and add the other half etc... or if you don't have much commented just add one at a time.

@vox

There is a stripped down kicklayout file Here. Yes I know it's a lot bigger, it contain 3 kicklayouts instead of the standard 2.

If you have any problems booting enter CFE and type

setenv amigaboot_quiet N

Then

menu

You will see a second menu that lets you choose which kicklayout to use, hit space to stop the countdown then press the number for the 'Emergeny' entry.

This layout assumes you don't have an old radeon card fitted, if you do uncomment ATIRadeon.chip in the top section (never edit the bottom two and you are safe.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
User avatar
vox
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:19 pm
Location: Belgrade Country:Serbia
Contact:

Re: x1000 advices - shaving off boot time

Post by vox »

Christopher Follett wrote:Hi,

Everything to speed it up has already been done.
I already stripped the Kicklayout of stuff that X1000 will never use and set pmu to fastest CPU speed.
The only thing that takes the longest is USB startup. Not much that can be done about that.
Thanks Chris, yes you did, there was just Radeon 9250 and one more thing to comment out.
Setting PMU to A4 was a way more noticable boost :-)
------------------------------------------
Future MOS user pon SAM460ex
https://www.facebook.com/rasvoja
https://www.youtube.com/user/rasvoja
http://socdevelopment.wordpress.com/
Post Reply