Playing a CD

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
AmigaNG
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:17 pm

Playing a CD

Post by AmigaNG »

maybe a tad old fashioned and not the end of the world if I cant get to work, but I cant seem to be able to play a CD on my X1000.

I try Tunenet and I keep getting a Guru Error, worst still is its one of them annoying Guru's that just locks up your computer so have to reboot, I then tried PlayCD in OS, that finds the disk and displays the tracks but doent play anything? Solution? Is there another program I can set up to do this?
(Running a X1000 FC, with Update 6)
Thanks.

Hardly ever buy CD any more but just got the new War of the Worlds album with my Christmas money.
2012 - the year I got a new Amiga and the world ended.....a good year.

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Playing a CD

Post by ssolie »

Have you applied all the updates via AmiUpdate?

I also remember PlayCD went through a few changes. I'll need to check which version X1000 users have versus the current beta.
ExecSG Team Lead

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Playing a CD

Post by Raziel »

AmigaNG wrote:maybe a tad old fashioned and not the end of the world if I cant get to work, but I cant seem to be able to play a CD on my X1000.

I try Tunenet and I keep getting a Guru Error, worst still is its one of them annoying Guru's that just locks up your computer so have to reboot, I then tried PlayCD in OS, that finds the disk and displays the tracks but doent play anything? Solution? Is there another program I can set up to do this?
(Running a X1000 FC, with Update 6)
Thanks.

Hardly ever buy CD any more but just got the new War of the Worlds album with my Christmas money.
I just tried PlayCD 53.7 (29.09.2011) on the X1000 and the program just sits there.
It reads out the track numbers, but on pressing the Play button nothing happens, no time counter starts, no audio replay...
but that could be because the sata dvd drive does not feature any audio cable like the old ide drives (of course i don't know if the audio is transported over the sata cable, so...)!?

For playing back any CD you can use AmigaAmp which is a great audio player and also a very good replacement for the (very sadly) buggy TuneNet
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
AmigaNG
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: Playing a CD

Post by AmigaNG »

I just tried PlayCD 53.7 (29.09.2011) on the X1000 and the program just sits there.
Yep thats what my version says and does too. I fogot it might just be for the old audio out that featured on drives.
for playing back any CD you can use AmigaAmp which is a great audio player and also a very good replacement for the (very sadly) buggy TuneNet
I didnt know Amigaamp could play disk, I just tried it, maybe being dumb here but how do you get it to play disks, I just tried Project open selected the disk and nothing happens.

Thanks so far.
2012 - the year I got a new Amiga and the world ended.....a good year.

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Playing a CD

Post by Raziel »

AmigaNG wrote:
I just tried PlayCD 53.7 (29.09.2011) on the X1000 and the program just sits there.
Yep thats what my version says and does too. I fogot it might just be for the old audio out that featured on drives.
for playing back any CD you can use AmigaAmp which is a great audio player and also a very good replacement for the (very sadly) buggy TuneNet
I didnt know Amigaamp could play disk, I just tried it, maybe being dumb here but how do you get it to play disks, I just tried Project open selected the disk and nothing happens.

Thanks so far.
Be sure to have the Playlist window open and just drag the disk to it (should also work for the main window).

The tracks will be displayed and you can either play them all by simply clicking play or choose whatever you want
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
Severin
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:41 pm

Re: Playing a CD

Post by Severin »


User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1452
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Playing a CD

Post by nbache »

ssolie wrote:I also remember PlayCD went through a few changes. I'll need to check which version X1000 users have versus the current beta.
I do believe the public version (both on X1000 FC and latest public state on the rest) should already have AHI support with the USEAHI tooltype.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Playing a CD

Post by Raziel »

nbache wrote:
ssolie wrote:I also remember PlayCD went through a few changes. I'll need to check which version X1000 users have versus the current beta.
I do believe the public version (both on X1000 FC and latest public state on the rest) should already have AHI support with the USEAHI tooltype.

Best regards,

Niels
Aaargh :-(

Of course...why haven't i thought of it myself :-(

Works great btw :-)

Take care

Hubert
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
AmigaNG
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: Playing a CD

Post by AmigaNG »

Thanks Guys
Be sure to have the Playlist window open and just drag the disk to it (should also work for the main window).
I feel real dumb that its that simple! AmigaAmp for the win!
2012 - the year I got a new Amiga and the world ended.....a good year.

xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Playing a CD

Post by xenic »

AmigaNG wrote:Thanks Guys
Be sure to have the Playlist window open and just drag the disk to it (should also work for the main window).
I feel real dumb that its that simple! AmigaAmp for the win!
PlayCD didn't work when I first tried it after setting up my new X1000. It turned out to be a TOOLTYPE issue. The "USEAHI" tooltype was not set. Just use Workbench menu Icon/Information to check your PlayCD TOOLTYPES. PlayCD works fine once USEAHI is activated.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE

Post Reply