Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

I powered on my SE and decided to update it. It was in 4.1_upd1. Update 2 was fine. After update3 installation I lost picture...

I commented out a1ide.device and uchi and ochi usb entrys from kicklayout allready, in all steps.

I tried two different graphics card, radeon 9250/256mb and 9000 pro/128 mb. No difference.

ymptom is, that kickstart loads, then bootpicture as normal. Then it just takes lon time, and long time and long time..., maybe 3-4 minutes. Then black screen. Monitor doesnt complain about no-signal though.

After all I made clean install , 4.1, upd1, upd2, upd3. Everytime same, after upd3 no picture after bootpicture. I made allso upd3, upd4, upd5 and upd6 over upd2 without resetting before upd6. No help.

I get PCI radeon 9250 maybe next week and try with it. Any ideas, if it can work in any of three pci-slots or only in PCI66MHz above of AGP ?

For the Chronicles, I replaced battery to my A1-SE. It was original. Actually I replaced it to my Peg2 allso. In PEg2 voltage was 2,83V and A1-SE 2,99V. Whereas nominal voltage to battery is 3,0V and measured from new somewhere 3,25V. Somehow Pegasos like batteries more than SE.

Generally, has anyone any ideas, how to continue ?
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by Slayer »

Maybe get back to vanilla update 2 and transfer the contents of kickstart across but nothing else

Directory "Files_AmigaOne/Kickstart" on Tuesday 26-Feb-13
uhci.usbhcd 86708 ----rwed
rtg.library 844864 ----rwed
newlib.library.kmod 576748 ----rw-d
lsi53c8xx.device.kmod 82860 ----rw-d
loader 65772 ----rwed
Kicklayout 3306 ----rwed
keyboard.device.kmod 17052 ----rw-d
kernel.debug 1538876 ----rwed
kernel 1056192 ----rwed
it8212ide.device.kmod 84600 ----rw-d
ehci.usbhcd 58276 ----rwed
bootimage 138988 ----rwed
biosversion.resource.kmod 66864 ----rw-d
a1ide.device.kmod 85164 ----rw-d

cold reboot and?
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

Thanks :)

You mean, that transfer upd3 kickstart to clean upd2 install ? Or use upd2 kickstart with upd3 files?

That could be, that testing it module by module, sooner or later I catch, where it hangs.

Some intresting thing. My radeon 9250 is broken. Actually it worket in a1se. When I plugged it back to peg2, it gave black and white boxed graphics at boot.

Dont know, if it matters, but broken it is.

Anyway, with 9000 pro symptoms were just same, so it looks like not gfx-card prob.
User avatar
Slayer
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 851
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by Slayer »

Yes, you have the idea, I just thought just quickly dump it all in there and if it hangs then you know it's probably one of the files in kickstart, if not, we have to look at the system installation part which is more vast
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

Ok, Thanks :)

I try to check it tomorrow.
User avatar
TSK
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Home land of Santa C., sauna, sisu and salmiakki

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by TSK »

@mlehto

I have to use sii0680ide.device.kmod version 53.3 (5.2.09) on the A1-SE. Newer versions doesn't work.
I commented out a1ide.device and uchi and ochi usb entrys from kicklayout allready, in all steps.
Remember to comment out USBCtrl Start line from Startup-sequence as well.

I'm using Update 6 + all updates on SE.
Keep the party going !
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

Status update

Got new graphics card today. Radeon 9200 128 mb.

Cleaned uboot to be sure. Battery away to couple of minutes and back.


By hand usb and a1 ide off.

Configured sii0680.

Installed OS4.1 upd1 to new hd (sfs/02).

Applied fixes by TSK

Reboot,

-> fine

Installed upd2

reboot

-> fine

installed upd3

-> jammed to bootpicture, capslock is avail , then black picture, caps lock avail.

I wait now for a while and try then downgrade kernel modules one by one to upd2.
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

Ok, managed it to work :)

I downgraded whole kickstart to upd2, while rest of system was upd3.

Then changed modules to upd3 one by one.

kernel
boot ->ok
rtg.library
boot ->ok
bootimage
boot ->ok
atiradeon.chip
boot ->ok

Boring ... decided to upgrade more modules at once

all siliconimage modeles

boot -> fail

Case closed.

kickstart is now entirely upd3, exept sii0680ide.device

Rest sii-devices commented out, anyway.

Test with load all other siixxxxide.devices from upd3, except 0680.

Works still.

Ok.

It is done, thanks for all involved :)

Next I try to get usb card to use, NEC-based card, usb 1.1/2.0 compliant.
mlehto
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by mlehto »

TSK wrote:@mlehto

I have to use sii0680ide.device.kmod version 53.3 (5.2.09) on the A1-SE. Newer versions doesn't work.
I commented out a1ide.device and uchi and ochi usb entrys from kicklayout allready, in all steps.
Remember to comment out USBCtrl Start line from Startup-sequence as well.

I'm using Update 6 + all updates on SE.

Ok, I got same conclusion ... :)

I had bit hurry, because I made operation at work. My boss and my subordinates look at me little bit weird, but so what ... :)

Happy upd6 + internet updates owner :D

Have to allso thank all os4 devs and betatesters, OS4 start to be very mature, stable and good to use, by parts, wich are published. Thank you!
User avatar
TSK
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:15 pm
Location: Home land of Santa C., sauna, sisu and salmiakki

Re: Amigaone SE, Upd3, lost graphics

Post by TSK »

Ok, managed it to work
Nice to know.
Next I try to get usb card to use, NEC-based card, usb 1.1/2.0 compliant.
Could you tell me if you'll find such card from somewhere ?
Keep the party going !
Post Reply