Can't get the Sil3512 controller working [solved]

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.
Post Reply
User avatar
saimo
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:37 pm
Contact:

Can't get the Sil3512 controller working [solved]

Post by saimo »

Hello, it's hours that I try all the possible hardware/software combinations, but I just can't get the Sil3512 controller I've just received working. Can anybody help, please?


HARDWARE

* AmigaOne XE-G4
* Sil3512 controller (received from ACube, so we know it's compatible), fitted into the 66 MHz PCI slot (as per the board specs)
* Brand-new Kingston SSDNow v100 32 GB (SATA 1.5 compatible)
* Maxtor PATA drive connected to the a1ide device
* no other PATA/SATA device connected
* Radeon 9000 card fitted in the AGP slot
* SB Live! card fitted in one of the 33 MHz PCI slots
* 512 MB RAM


UBOOT

U-Boot 1.1.4 (Mar 16 2006 - 12:23:46)
slb_v2 1.19 (11/26/2008)

a1ide_maxbus=1
a1ide_timeout=1
a1ide_conf=1000
a1ide_xfer=G000
a1ide_irq=1000
sii3512ide_maxbus=1
sii3512ide_timeout=1
sii3512ide_conf=10
sii3512ide_xfer=G0
sii3512ide_irq=10

Note: I've really tried all possibilities, from fully specified variables (as reported above) to let-the-system-guess settings, passing through the values in between. I have also tried to connect the drive to the other SATA port (on the board, there is no indication of which one is primary) and changed the variables accordingly to no avail.

When Uboot starts up, it does not seem to notice the Sil3512 device.


FROM AMIGAOS 4.1 UPDATE 5

Media Toolbox does not list the Sil3512 device, but IDETool seems to detect the board:

idetool -e
----------Vendor 1095 / Device 3512 ConfigSpace Dump -------
00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
+ -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
00 | 95 10 12 35 07 00 B0 02 01 00 04 01 01 80 00 00
10 | 01 11 80 00 09 11 80 00 11 11 80 00 19 11 80 00
20 | 21 11 80 00 00 00 01 8C 00 00 00 00 95 10 12 65
30 | 00 00 00 00 60 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0A 01 00 00
40 | 00 00 00 00 44 08 C2 02 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
50 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
60 | 01 00 22 06 00 40 00 64 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
70 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
80 | 22 00 00 00 22 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF AF FB D3
90 | 00 00 00 0C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 18 00 00 00 00
A0 | 01 01 15 65 DD 62 DD 62 92 43 92 43 09 40 09 40
B0 | 01 01 15 65 DD 62 DD 62 92 43 92 43 09 40 09 40
C0 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
D0 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
E0 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
F0 | 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

----------SiI3115(A) PCI IDE Configuration-----------------
PCI Revision : $1
PCI Class code : $1
PCI Cacheline size : $1
IDE0 prim IO base : $00801100
IDE0 alt. IO base : $0080110A
IDE1 prim IO base : $00801110
IDE1 alt. IO Revision : $0080111A
Busmater cntr. IO base: $00801120
Mem. mapped reg. base : $8C010000

However, trying to get more details about the unit gives no results:

idetool -l sii3512ide
idetool : device sii3512ide doesn't support command, aborting

(the same goes with -u, -d, -r).

Of course I have the appropriate Kickstart module in the Kicklayout:

MODULE Kickstart/sii3512ide.device.kmod

[version sii3512ide.device 53.15 (02/19/2012)]


FINAL NOTE

Until today I was using a Sil0680 card (with exactly the same setup described above, except for the SATA stuff, of course), but for the occasion I removed it and moved the PATA HD onto the a1ide device.
I'm typing this precisely from the A1, which works just fine except that the Sil3512 doesn't show up.
Thanks in advance for any idea you'll throw at me.
Last edited by saimo on Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1506
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Can't get the Sil3512 controller working

Post by nbache »

IIRC, you cannot use the 66 MHz slot and the AGP slot simultaneously. Are you sure you need 66 MHz for the SiI3512?

Also, it matters which (33 MHz PCI) slot you put each card into; I think I have my sound card in the bottom one and my SATA card in the top one. Try moving them around a bit.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
saimo
Posts: 94
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't get the Sil3512 controller working

Post by saimo »

Your guess is correct: m3x told me that the card is compatible with the 33 MHz slots and now it's working :)
Thanks anyway.
What a pity I still have to boot off the HD, though.
Post Reply