Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.
Mark Sealey
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:39 pm

Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Mark Sealey »

Ok....hello everyone.....getting close to a fully functional stable OS3.1.4.

Right....I have 3.1.4 Rom installed now.....the only way I can successfully boot is by doing the following...in early boot menu.

1. Disable CC0 (pcmcia card port)
2. Disable Cpu cashe

After this I get a beautiful full boot to my workbench....OMG its fast..stable and awesome...a little chip ram hungry as Fblit doesn't work any more.

Even my IDE speed up and Shadow Rom works(Furia card)....its even faster with this !!!

At the moment im not too bothered about pcmcia port or the cpu cashe....Furia Tune says the cpu cashe is on anyway.

At the end of the day a Huge Thanks for all the hard work.

Mark :D
Attachments
FB_IMG_1538987883403.jpg
Mark Sealey
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Mark Sealey »

I guess theres no fix for this then
Gulliver
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 11:29 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Gulliver »

Hi Mark,

Could you please give a description of the Amiga you are using?

So far all tests conducted and real life experience show no issues with pcmcia functionality.

My guess since caches seem to be involved, is that your accelerator is playing tricks on you,
Mark Sealey
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Mark Sealey »

This could be true....I have a A600 Furia card running 020/33 88882/40 9.5meg fast....32gb sd card...2meg chip

For me to use the pcimca slot I have to disable 4meg fast ram....tbh I don't plan on using a pcimca slot....I just wanted to boot normally....and not have to disable stuff in the early start up menu.

Thanks for the reply.
culexus
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:53 am

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by culexus »

Is there any updates to this? I do also have the same setup and would love to have full support for my furia in os 3.1.4.
kolla
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:38 am

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by kolla »

Mark Sealey wrote: as Fblit doesn't work any more.
Why doesn't it work?

FBlit worked just fine with 3.1.4 on my MiST, using the "3.9" FBlit config from IconLib 46.4.
http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/IconLib_46.4
Gulliver
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 11:29 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Gulliver »

Hi again,

I am very curious as to whether the fast ram beyond the 8 MB addressing space is the cause of this.

Is there any way you can disable the last 1.5 MB of fastram? Just so that you test it with only 8 MB fast (and not 9.5 MB).
Mark Sealey
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Mark Sealey »

Thank you for the Reply.....ok

Burnt a Custom OS3.1.4 rom....with OS3.1 Expansion.library instead of the OS3.1.4 version....as somewhere in the forums i heard that the Os.3.1.4 expansion.library chokes the Furia at startup.....With a New Rom i can now boot like normal and not disable anything....I also Took out the Card.device......the system seems faster now.

As for the Fast Ram...as defualt the furia give me 8mb fast....with a Optional 1.5 slow ram......so unless i add C:furuiatune add mem into the startup-sequence/cli i boot with 8mb fast.

Thanks everyone
Mark Sealey
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:39 pm

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by Mark Sealey »

Anybody...? or is this forum dead...?
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1506
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Boot issues with OS3.14 (cc0/cpu cash)

Post by nbache »

Mark Sealey wrote:Anybody...? or is this forum dead...?
Most users here are into OS4, so you may find it easier to get good answers over on Amiga.org.

Best regards,

Niels
Post Reply