[SOLVED] New kernel does not boot

A forum for Classic Amiga specific support issues.
ciVic
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:06 am

[SOLVED] New kernel does not boot

Post by ciVic »

Hi all,

The kernel that is currently available in AmiUpdate does not boot, the one from Update 6 works. It stops before I can enter the early boot screen, but I can see the OS4.1 image. I have an A4000D with Mediator 4000Di, Radeon 9250 128MB, CyberstormPPC 50/200, RTL8029AB.

Best regards,
Oliver
Last edited by ciVic on Tue Jan 01, 2019 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by DarrenHD »

ciVic wrote:Hi all,

The kernel that is currently available in AmiUpdate does not boot, the one from Update 6 works. It stops before I can enter the early boot screen, but I can see the OS4.1 image. I have an A4000D with Mediator 4000Di, Radeon 9250 128MB, CyberstormPPC 50/200, RTL8029AB.

Best regards,
Oliver
Oliver, we are aware of the issue affecting some systems and this kernel - mostly Mediator A4000D systems with PCI graphic cards. We're working on narrowing down the cause....for now revert to the update 6 kernel.
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

ciVic
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:06 am

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by ciVic »

Thank you for the fast answer. Maybe also interesting ist, that (with every kernel version) the system freezes even before displaying the OS 4.1 screen when DVI is connected so I can use VGA only.

User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by DarrenHD »

ciVic wrote:Thank you for the fast answer. Maybe also interesting ist, that (with every kernel version) the system freezes even before displaying the OS 4.1 screen when DVI is connected so I can use VGA only.
I didn't know about the DVI freeze - probably because I only have VGA on my card. Are you able to get a serial log of this?

Darren
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

ciVic
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:06 am

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by ciVic »

Here it is.
Attachments
ser.zip
Zipped serial debug log
(3.8 KiB) Downloaded 373 times

User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by DarrenHD »

ciVic wrote:Here it is.
Thanks, seems to just stop after it finds the graphics card rom. Would you mind to try again using the debug kernel? Just modify your Kicklayout-A4000 file and put kernel.debug instead of kernel. Get the serial log and post.

thanks
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by ssolie »

DarrenHD wrote:Thanks, seems to just stop after it finds the graphics card rom. Would you mind to try again using the debug kernel? Just modify your Kicklayout-A4000 file and put kernel.debug instead of kernel. Get the serial log and post.
Note there is more information about the debug kernel at http://wiki.amigaos.net/index.php/Debug_Kernel

There is also an excellent article regarding setting up and obtaining serial output at http://wiki.amigaos.net/index.php/Advan ... ging_Guide
ExecSG Team Lead

ciVic
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:06 am

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by ciVic »

Oh I thought it was the debug kernel since I changed that in the layout for the A4000. How can I see in the log that the debug kernel was loaded?

User avatar
DarrenHD
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:38 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by DarrenHD »

ciVic wrote:Oh I thought it was the debug kernel since I changed that in the layout for the A4000. How can I see in the log that the debug kernel was loaded?
Don't worry about it, I've isolated at which kernel it fails and I have reported the crashlogs to the developers...so hopefully they will be able to fix this soon.
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New kernel does not boot

Post by ssolie »

We figured out the root cause. The solution will be delivered with AmiUpdate once it has passed through beta testing.
ExecSG Team Lead

Post Reply