Feature request: Reboot functionality

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
samo79
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:13 pm
Location: Italy

Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by samo79 »

One of the annoying limitation on AmigaOS4 is the missing of a proper reboot functionality integrated with the system, each time i need to switch off my Amiga i need to press the "big button" on the case :D

I know AmigaOS in general doesn't need an option like this, all files, filesystem etc will stay secure 100% of time (almost with the SmartFilesystem!) but an option like this should be really elegant and usefull.

I tryed OS4Reboot from: http://os4depot.net/index.php?function= ... reboot.lha

And it works perfectly fine altrough you can't switch off your machine with this one, only soft reset is allowed.

I think adding a proper reboot option with a couple of options (almost soft reset and hard reset) and maybe "integrate" it into the Workbench menu for the Update 4 should not be so difficult, and would be really nice ;)

Edit: i have to correct myself !
OS4Reboot support also hard reboot altrough the installer search for the old SYS:WBStartup folder that we don't have anymore since latest OS4 updates (this is an old tool aniway)

But still having such functionality already integrate with the system would be mutch better :)
User avatar
Stephen Robinson
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:43 pm

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by Stephen Robinson »

A shutdown command would be nice, reaching down, holding a button down for 5 seconds, it's just too much work!
Near at hand is your forgetting all; near, too, all forgetting you.
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by nbache »

Stephen Robinson wrote:A shutdown command would be nice
You mean, like C:Reboot?

Best regards,

Niels
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by xenic »

nbache wrote:
Stephen Robinson wrote:A shutdown command would be nice
You mean, like C:Reboot? Niels
Yes and you can integrate C:Reboot into WorkBench by adding a WorkBench menu or AmiDock icon :-)
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
Stephen Robinson
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 218
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:43 pm

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by Stephen Robinson »

nbache wrote:
Stephen Robinson wrote:A shutdown command would be nice
You mean, like C:Reboot?

Best regards,

Niels
No, shutdown. Not rebooting, that's a different thing.
Near at hand is your forgetting all; near, too, all forgetting you.
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by mechanic »

A shutdown command would first need hardware that supports it.

As for Reboot. At least on my Sam, Ctrl+LAmiga+RAmiga resets AmigaOS,
and Ctrl+Alt+Alt resets the computer.

????
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by nbache »

mechanic wrote:As for Reboot. At least on my Sam, Ctrl+LAmiga+RAmiga resets AmigaOS,
and Ctrl+Alt+Alt resets the computer.

????
Well, it's not so easy to issue actual keypresses from a script. So having the command as an alternative is convenient enough.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by nbache »

Stephen Robinson wrote:No, shutdown. Not rebooting, that's a different thing.
Ah, you're right. I missed the point.

Best regards,

Niels
alekc
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:06 pm

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by alekc »

I guess as the Amiga hardware and OS itself becomes more advanced and complex such feature will be a requirement. You can hook keyboard keys to monitor the reset sequence in order to finish all write operation etc but unless such functionality is provided by hardware you can't hook power button.

I'm to for inclusion of shutdown utility.
Deniil
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 6:59 pm

Re: Feature request: Reboot functionality

Post by Deniil »

@Stephen Robinson

Do you really need to hold the button for 5 seconds (which should be 4 I think)? I just hit the power button on my case and it switches off immediately. Have an XE though.

However, I'd also like a Shutdown option in Workbench (and it should of course not be limited by WB's own ability to quit, since quitting WB is pretty much always impossible due to this and that program "still running").
Post Reply