BUG: Copy Command Line program

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
djrikki
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:21 pm
Location: Grimsby, Lincolnshire, UK
Contact:

BUG: Copy Command Line program

Post by djrikki »

Hello,

If type the following and try and execute:

Code: Select all

copy "Mac OS X Music:iTunes/iTunes Media/Music/#?" "music:iTunes Media/Music/" ALL FORCE NOREP
The NOREP argument is ignored in error, if I move it before ALL FORCE like so:

Code: Select all

copy "Mac OS X Music:iTunes/iTunes Media/Music/#?" "music:iTunes Media/Music/" NOREP ALL FORCE
It no longer is ignored and carries out the action as requested - skipping files that already exist.

Just a small thing; but the first code example should have been just as valid as the second.
User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1438
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: BUG: Copy Command Line program

Post by tonyw »

Personally I always put all the options first, like so:

copy all force norep "Mac OS X Music:iTunes/iTunes Media/Music/#?" "music:iTunes Media/Music/"

Does it behave differently if you do that?
cheers
tony
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: BUG: Copy Command Line program

Post by xenic »

@tonyw
The examples in the copy documentation show the arguments at the end of the command line so it should work that way. Since there have already been topics discussing problems with the "link" arguments for "copy", let's hope that we get a fixed copy command that also addresses this issue (argument order).
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
Post Reply