Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by mechanic »

Should running the 4.1FE kernel (on the CD) on a 4.1FEup1 system have any ill effects on the system?
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by broadblues »

I don't know what exactly the effect would be, there are probably bug fixes between the two versions, so you run the risk of being affected by those bugs.

Why did you want to?

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by tonyw »

The kernel version in the original FE was 53.70 whilst that in FE Update 1 was 53.89. There are too many differences to list.

As Andy asked, why would you want to use an older version?
cheers
tony

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by mechanic »

The Up1 kernel causes a DSI error around 7FBExxxx when addressing Xena with the available tools. Near as I can tell it is around the AHI/device.audio at 7FBE2000.

I have tried the on CD kernel and it works. Don't know if it could cause any problems though.(?)

A bug report has been submitted and I know I should wait for a fix....... but the Ancient Enemy does not care about that.
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1439
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by nbache »

Apart from bug fixes etc. in the kernel itself, there may also be other system components which require a certain version of the kernel to work at all.

So you risk having some function simply stopping to work at all.

In fact, if you really need to use the older kernel, I'd probably advise you to reinstall from the FE completely and stick with that instead of trying to mix and match.

If you do it on a separate boot partition, you can boot into that when you need to use the Xena stuff, and boot the normal system for anything else.

Best regards,

Niels

User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by broadblues »

@NBache.

I second that.

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by LyleHaze »

I need to look into that.
I also need to look into the XTAG interface on the X5000.

It goes without saying that I have a lot of stuff that needs to get done.

I'm not hogging the fun stuff. I'll gladly share with anyone who wants to volunteer. :)

The XTAG on each machine simply "bit bangs" a couple pins on a CPLD.(?)
The format is simple, the code is well tested, only the actual hardware interface needs to be implemented on the X5.


And the X1 causing memory issues..?? I really could not even guess without digging deeper.

edit. I try to avoid making excuses.. But at the moment I am preparing to move, and the "move date" has been pushed up
a couple months. Eventually this should mean more free time and a better workspace, but right now it's all I can do to
keep up with my family and job responsibilities.
I'll keep trying.

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: Using FE kernel on FEup1 system.

Post by mechanic »

Not a problem Lyle. As you know I already have a second installation of FE and playing with xena on that. Just a PITA doing so.

The JTAG is working on both kernels, FE and FEup1. It's the bus that causes problems on the up1 kernel. Unable to setup memory/address space in the PCI range.

Good luck with the move. I hope things go smooth.

P.S. I still haven't got after the vendor/device fix for the JTAG code. :(
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

Post Reply