Media Toolbox and OS

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
Post Reply
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Media Toolbox and OS

Post by mechanic »

Media Toolbox.

Are the functions Automount, Bootable, and Boot priority on the drive or part of the OS?

I would like to put a second copy of 4.1FE on a different partition of the same drive to test some differences between the CD version and the CD + Updated version, but I don't want each SYS: partition to know the other exists.

:idea:
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
Ribdevil
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:11 pm

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Post by Ribdevil »

You can mount both partitions, and hide one or another with Wokbench Prefs.

Works fine. I have this config in my system.

Virginio

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Post by LyleHaze »

When Workbench prefs "hides" a partition, it just prevents the icon from displaying on the workbench screen.
All partitions that "automount" will be available, whether hidden or not.
The bootable automount partition with the highest boot priority will be the default Sys.
The user MAY select any bootable automount partition from the early start menu if configured that way.

That's my understanding anyway.. I have been wrong before, and I expect I'm not done yet.

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: Media Toolbox and OS

Post by mechanic »

Thanks guys, but I used the Big Hammer approach and installed on a separate HD.
Plug, unplug etc.. Real complete isolation. :roll:
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

Post Reply