PNG (icon) "blur"

A forum for general AmigaOS 4.x support questions that are not platform-specific
User avatar
Nicsoft
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:02 pm

PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by Nicsoft »

Can it be a bug in the PNG Datatype 53.10 or the Radeon HD driver 2.7, that causes the graphics "blur" on the icons?
- Using Dir Me Up 3 (all previous versions have had this "blur" to). The "blur" only affects the .png -icons of Dir Me Up, not any AmigaOS .iff -icons...

The author "Glames" doesn't have this problem and says it's AmigaOS related.
My system: Sam460ex. Radeon HD4550. AmigaOS 4.1 FE.

Screenshot:
http://nicsoft.se/pics/PNG_DT5310_Radeon_HD_27.png
K-L
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Lyon, France
Contact:

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by K-L »

Same thing on Sam440. I will report to Glames (but I don't think it's a bug, seems normal behaviour of DirMeUp).
--
AmigaONE X1000 / Radeon 2400 Pro (R610LE) / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
Samm440ep/733Mhs (o/c) / Radeon M9 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
User avatar
Nicsoft
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:02 pm

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by Nicsoft »

Perhaps he could do an .iff -version "ONLY" (without .png icons I mean)...
Then we could see if it would solve this little problem?

PS! I have contacted Glames.
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by xenic »

Nicsoft wrote:Can it be a bug in the PNG Datatype 53.10 or the Radeon HD driver 2.7, that causes the graphics "blur" on the icons?
No. The problem is that you can't have much detail in a 20x16 pixel image and when you add alpha blending to images that small, they just look blurred. When the prices on 4k monitors come down and we have 4k capable graphics cards, most of the toolbar images in OS4 programs will be so small you will need a magnifying glass to tell what they represent. Programs that use text buttons will still be readable by changing fonts.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
Nicsoft
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:02 pm

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by Nicsoft »

Fixing these graphics glitches in AmigaOS 4.1 FE would be nice. The PNG rendering glitch in (for example) Dir Me Up: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/DirMeUp_PNG_glitch.png ] and a "letter" glitch,
(here an example) in Jack: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/Jack_last-letter_glitch.png ] (often a vertical line in a letter, in this case the "s"). Finally a MUI glitch in OWB: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/OWB_1.23_Close_glitch.png ]...

Couldn't it be graphics.library (DMA?) related? (These glitches). An answer from "the Hyperion guys" would be very welcome..!
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by broadblues »

xenic wrote:
Nicsoft wrote:Can it be a bug in the PNG Datatype 53.10 or the Radeon HD driver 2.7, that causes the graphics "blur" on the icons?
No. The problem is that you can't have much detail in a 20x16 pixel image and when you add alpha blending to images that small, they just look blurred. When the prices on 4k monitors come down and we have 4k capable graphics cards, most of the toolbar images in OS4 programs will be so small you will need a magnifying glass to tell what they represent. Programs that use text buttons will still be readable by changing fonts.
Adding alphs to a image does not create blur at any size.

Scaling a small image up and filtering to remove the jaggies will create blur, but that doesn't appear to be what is happening in thiose screen shots.
User avatar
broadblues
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:40 am
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Contact:

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by broadblues »

Nicsoft wrote:Fixing these graphics glitches in AmigaOS 4.1 FE would be nice. The PNG rendering glitch in (for example) Dir Me Up: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/DirMeUp_PNG_glitch.png ] and a "letter" glitch,
(here an example) in Jack: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/Jack_last-letter_glitch.png ] (often a vertical line in a letter, in this case the "s"). Finally a MUI glitch in OWB: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/OWB_1.23_Close_glitch.png ]...
Those are quite extreme glitches, it would be useful to know how he's rendering the images.
Couldn't it be graphics.library (DMA?) related? (These glitches). An answer from "the Hyperion guys" would be very welcome..!
The text corruption you are highlighting is almost definetly DMA related, and the bug in gfxlib that caused them has been fixed for a little while now. At least I think it has, I don't have 5450 in my X1k anymore, and the 7750 isn't affected.
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by xenic »

broadblues wrote:Adding alphs to a image does not create blur at any size.

Scaling a small image up and filtering to remove the jaggies will create blur, but that doesn't appear to be what is happening in thiose screen shots.
Maybe it's just my old eyes but small toolbar images look blurred if there is too much alpha blending.

However, Nicsoft's example images look more like graphics glitches than blur to me. I had similar graphics glitches (and worse) with my X1000 Radeon HD5450 graphics card with the original RadeonHD driver. Improvements in the RadeonHD driver eliminated 98% of the problem but I still have some old programs with a few tiny graphics glitches in Intuition and Gadtools gadgets. When I originally reported the problem, only people with HD5450 graphics cards could reproduce the graphics glitches.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
xenic
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 12:06 am

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by xenic »

Nicsoft wrote:Finally a MUI glitch in OWB: [ http://nicsoft.se/pics/OWB_1.23_Close_glitch.png ]...
I think that's actually a DOS requester using the 'SYS:Prefs/Presets/Requester/Question' image. That would seem to rule out the problem being a program bug. You could try the WarpPNG datatype from http://www.warpdt.co.uk for trial testing. If that PNG datatype has the same glitches then I'm not sure what you can do.
AmigaOne X1000 with 2GB memory - OS4.1 FE
User avatar
Nicsoft
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:02 pm

Re: PNG (icon) "blur"

Post by Nicsoft »

xenic wrote:I think that's actually a DOS requester using the 'SYS:Prefs/Presets/Requester/Question' image. That would seem to rule out the problem being a program bug. You could try the WarpPNG datatype from http://www.warpdt.co.uk for trial testing. If that PNG datatype has the same glitches then I'm not sure what you can do.
I tried the WarpPNG datatype with Dir Me Up (after rebooting of course). Sadly no difference. So that's not where the problem lies...
Post Reply