New graphics card

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

New graphics card

Post by musa »

Hi
Can anyone tell me if this graphics card will work in X1000.

graphics card, AMD Radeon R7 240 (Core clock 730 MHz / Boost clock 780 MHz), 2 GB GDDR5 (Memory clock 4.6 GHz), PCI Express 3.0 x16, DVI-D, D-Sub, HDMI - R7240-2GD5-L
Thank you in advance for your help.
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
walkero
Site Admin
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:05 pm
Location: Athens/Dublin
Contact:

Re: New graphics card

Post by walkero »

Hello musa
you can find a good list of compatible cards at
http://mail.hdrlab.org.nz/projects/amig ... therboards

Also, have a look at http://mail.hdrlab.org.nz/benchmark/gfx ... OS/AmigaOS in case your card is submitted from someone else.
If you develop or want to develop for AmigaOS 4.x, then join us at OS4Coding.net
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: New graphics card

Post by musa »

Hi
Thanks for your reply.
I know the list of compatible cards well but I still do not think it is easy. I have unfortunately bought a couple of cards which were not compatible anyway. Maybe something with it being called the same but not the same version. Some work on X5000 but not on X1000. I will try to get my my old 6870 repaired (think it might be some new cool pasta).
Have a nice day :)
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: New graphics card

Post by Raziel »

@musa

iirc its the onboard ram on those gfx cards that can make them refuse to work.
The chipset might be supported by the driver, but the ram is not...dunno where I got that from.

If you need a second hand card, just shout, have one lying around, some radeon 6xxx...have to take it out the box
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: New graphics card

Post by musa »

Raziel wrote: Sun Jan 17, 2021 12:43 am @musa

iirc its the onboard ram on those gfx cards that can make them refuse to work.
The chipset might be supported by the driver, but the ram is not...dunno where I got that from.

If you need a second hand card, just shout, have one lying around, some radeon 6xxx...have to take it out the box
Thank you very much for your answer Raziel .
Yes I was long about to find out it with the ram type. I bought and tested 2 different cards but all with the wrong ram type. I do not know if the card I point to at the top of the thread has run on other x1000 but I can see that the card supports both the 2d and 3d drivers in amiga os4.1 FE I can also see that it has GDDR5 so now I take the change and Buying it . Then I just hope I'm lucky. Thanks for your offer but I will try this card first.
Have a nice day
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: New graphics card

Post by musa »

Hi
Today I got my Radeon r7 240. Workbench works fine in 2d but I can not get the 3d to work. All latest drivers downloaded from Amistore and installed. I use dvi output. If I try to start face3d then I get this output Could not open screen.
Does anyone have a suggestion on how to proceed?
Thanks in advance
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: New graphics card

Post by Raziel »

Did you try other benchmarks?
Like cow3d? http://www.os4depot.net/share/utility/b ... /cow3d.lha

Face3D should open a screenmode requester on start, plus Face3D is buggy...even on my system (with working 3D) i cannot get it to work (i only get black thick stripes rapidly moving from top to bottom)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: New graphics card

Post by musa »

Raziel wrote: Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:03 pm Did you try other benchmarks?
Like cow3d? http://www.os4depot.net/share/utility/b ... /cow3d.lha

Face3D should open a screenmode requester on start, plus Face3D is buggy...even on my system (with working 3D) i cannot get it to work (i only get black thick stripes rapidly moving from top to bottom)
cow3d say elf libray out of memory
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 1008
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: New graphics card

Post by Raziel »

Sounds like your 3d installation is borked.

Try other 3d stuff, Spencer demo e.g
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
User avatar
musa
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: New graphics card

Post by musa »

Raziel wrote: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:34 pm Sounds like your 3d installation is borked.

Try other 3d stuff, Spencer demo e.g
Thank you very much for your input.
I compared the files in my kickstart folder with the files in the folder in the last update from Amistore and they were not identical. i copied files from the update over and over wrote them and one there was also missing. Reboot and I now have 3d.
Thank you so much for the help
Have at nice day
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
Post Reply