Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
cpaek72
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 10:06 pm

Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by cpaek72 »

Just installed the new enhancer update and had a Radeon RX560 already in the house and tried installing it and right after you see the x5000 boot up screen, the screen wipes to a white screen and hangs.

Anyone update to the new Enhancer and try out any of the AMD cards supported? Any help would be appreciated. Do I have to update the bios? or will the new drivers from the enhancer update take care of everything. By the way my RX560 is not the D variant and that could be the reason why it's not working. Just wanted to see if anyone else had experience with the updater and the Polaris cards.

Charles

Tijatjj
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:12 am

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by Tijatjj »

Yes I did also tried reboot 2x same thing.shutdown for a few minutes then I hit the enter button to go to options for os systems and it booted from there ok.Another gentleman noticed that when the boing ball shoots the red laser to the x5000 symbol it is slower and he is right .

Tijatjj
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:12 am

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by Tijatjj »

Update just did reinstall ok now but splash screen still looks little slow

User avatar
AlicePPC
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:04 am
Location: Asturias-Spain
Contact:

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by AlicePPC »

have you added the following line to your SYS:Kickstart\Kicklayout file?

MODULE Kickstart/RadeonRX.chip

Tijatjj
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 4:12 am

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by Tijatjj »

No but I’ll try it .do I do that from Cli thanks

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 957
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by Raziel »

Tijatjj wrote:No but I’ll try it .do I do that from Cli thanks
1) Open Notepad/MultiEdit
2) Open file --> browse to "SYS:Kickstart/Kicklayout"
Make a backup of this file, save it as "Kicklayout_original" or something
3) Find the line "MODULE Kickstart/RadeonHD.chip"
4) Insert the line "MODULE Kickstart/RadeonRX.chip"
5) Save the file as "Kicklayout"

Reboot
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

amigakit
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Enhancer Upgrade with Radeon RX560/ x5000

Post by amigakit »

Install instructions are here:

http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=RadeonHD
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

www.amigakit.com Amiga Computer Store

Post Reply