X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by zappa2009 »

Hi.

What is needed for my Serial-Transfer between Amiga500 and my X1000 ?
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by LyleHaze »

You'll need the X1000 serial header, either hand made or from AmigaKit.
You'll need a NULL modem cable,
and you'll need to adapt the A500 serial port to whatever connector type your NULL modem cable supports.

Of course if you are making your own cable, you can combine the second two into a single item.

If your purpose is to catch debug, you might want to see this article:
http://wiki.amigaos.net/index.php/Advan ... ging_Guide
User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by zappa2009 »

Hi Lyle!

I have the Serialheader on my X1000 and a 2 Nullmodem-cabels (25pol A500 to 9pol X1000).
One Nullmodemcabel is 3 wire and the other is 7 wire .

With both my X1000 frizzes when i send with Term4.8 ASCII , BINARY or TEXT to my A500 with Term4.8

But when i only start TERM4.8 on my A500 i receive Serial-Debug if my X1000 bott into his Workbench (I try the Debug-kernel bootup) .
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by LyleHaze »

zappa2009 wrote:Hi Lyle!

I have the Serialheader on my X1000 and a 2 Nullmodem-cabels (25pol A500 to 9pol X1000).
One Nullmodemcabel is 3 wire and the other is 7 wire .

With both my X1000 frizzes when i send with Term4.8 ASCII , BINARY or TEXT to my A500 with Term4.8

But when i only start TERM4.8 on my A500 i receive Serial-Debug if my X1000 bott into his Workbench (I try the Debug-kernel bootup) .
The Wiki article I pointed you towards is as complete as we can get it.
It goes into detail about the cables, settings, software, and even troubleshooting.

Beyond what is in the article, I really don't know how to help.
My X1000 serial port is always connected to a second machine, and it has never "frizzed" as far as I can tell.
If you meant "freeze" I am even more confused, unless you missed the part about "no handshaking" in the article.

Good Luck!
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by nbache »

Unless you have a SilverSurfer or similar third-party serial port in your A500, you probably can't make it receive/send the full 19200 bps which is the default rate of the X1000. So you'll need to lower that rate. 9600 might be doable.

Also, you might as well use the 3-wire cable, because hardware handshake (which would be using the other wires) won't be available anyway. So when Term suggests you to turn that on, say no.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by zappa2009 »

No Luck.

On Both X1000 and A500
9600 8 N 1

A500 are running and The X1000 hangs up! aka Freeze

Hm but i get debug if I reset mx X1000 ! So the Cabel is ok

Iget this after pressing Send a Binary/text/ASCII :
  • Dump of context at 0xDFCB23E0
    Trap type: DSI exception
    Machine State (raw): 0x100000000200B030
    Machine State (verbose): [Hyper] [ExtInt on] [Super] [FPU on] [IAT on] [DAT on]

    Temporary stack trace:
    #0: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x0001D858 (0x02186518)
    #1: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x00069408 (0x021D20C8)
    #2)
    #5: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x0001D620 (0x021862E0)
    #6: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x0006AA10 (0x021D36D0)
    #7: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x0006C7D4 (0x021D5494)
    #8: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x0001824C (0x02180F0C)
    #9: in module intuition.library.kmod+0x00018470 (0x02181130)
    #10: in module int6502476E0F0F280C8 R0 0D:0D40RFF0095DDF000 D9DD900F008000600004
    :00 000 0000P0000000000P00000000000
    000CFEFE08Dx60
    D3C3CD000000FFFF C3C3C60F310D3D3C32 CE32CE32CE32CE32CE32CE32CE32CE32
    V10: FFCECFCEFFCECFCEFFCECFCEFFCECFCE 00000000000000000000000000000000
    V12: FE01CE31FE01CE31FE01CE31FE01CE31 00000000000000000000000000000000
    V14: 001002120414061608180A1A0C1C0E1E 01000100010001000100010001000100
    86510: 90010014 stw r0,20(r1)
    02186514: 41820058 beq- 0x218656C
    >02186518: 83DF002E lwz r30,46(r31)
    0218651C: 7FC3F378 mr r3,r30
    02186520: 4BFFFF9D bl 0x21864BC
    02186r+0x0001d858
    lr : native kernel module intuition.library.kmod+0x00069408
    ctr: native kernel module intuition.library.kmod+0x000140f0

    Stack trace:
    (0x60F992F0) native kernel module intuition.library.kmod+0x0001d858
    (0x60F99300) native kernel module in symbol]
    WARNING: Invalid backchain pointer found (68k crosscall?)!
    (0x60F99900) 0x000005A0 [cannot decode symbol]

    Disassembly of crash site:
    02186508: BFC10008 stmw r30,8(r1)
    0218650C: 7C7F1B79 mr. r31,r3
    > 00000001 - "LIBS:xprzmodem.library" Hunk 0000 Offset 00000000 (SegList: 0x1870
    9C01)
    ADDR: 00000000 60F996AC 00000000 60F99818 60F997E4 629F4010 6FF6A4D0 60F996A8
    Page information:
    Page not found
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by mechanic »

With,
"WARNING: Invalid backchain pointer found (68k crosscall?)!"

I might be tempted to try a different terminal program on X1000. Perhaps 'termie' on OS4Depot.

May be worth a try. :?:
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.
User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1481
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by nbache »

I never use those archaic protocols with Term, and I think I heard way back that there's no hope of making the XPR libraries etc. work on OS4 (?).

The only thing I know works is to use it as a plain terminal, and that's all you need for seeing debug output.

If you want to transfer files, use an Ethernet connection with something like NetFS or FTP or similar.

Best regards,

Niels
User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by zappa2009 »

Yeah wenn a plain Amiga500 become a Ethernetcard :D

I can use Envoy when i get a Sana2-Driver for the Serial.device ??? Will this work ?
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: X1000 Serial <--> A500 Serial ?

Post by zappa2009 »

ZeroG send me a Link to the Gtlayout.library V47.2 .

With this it goes fine. !

SOLVED !


See :
Attachments
IMG_2284.JPG
(193.98 KiB) Downloaded 133 times
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9
Post Reply