No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

Here is my fienix boot variable:

Code: Select all

fienix=setenv bootargs root=/dev/sda2 ; load sata 0:1 1000000 uImage-5.12 ; load sata 0:1 2000000 cyrus-p5020.dtb ; bootm 1000000 - 2000000 ; mem=3500M
Is this right ?

This is what the 'cat/proc/asound/cards' command displays:

Code: Select all

 0 [VirMIDI        ]: VirMIDI - VirMIDI
                      Virtual MIDI Card 1
 1 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
                      HDA ATI HDMI at 0xc10040000 irq 43
Last edited by Amiguy on Sun Jul 25, 2021 2:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by xeno74 »

Amiguy wrote: Sat Jul 24, 2021 8:16 am Here is my fienix boot variable:

fienix=setenv bootargs root=/dev/sda2 ; load sata 0:1 1000000 uImage-5.12 ; load sata 0:1 2000000 cyrus-p5020.dtb ; bootm 1000000 - 2000000 ; mem=3500M

Is this right ?
No, it isn’t. This is correct:

Code: Select all

fienix=setenv bootargs “root=/dev/sda2 mem=3500M“ ; load sata 0:1 1000000 uImage-5.12 ; load sata 0:1 2000000 cyrus-p5020.dtb ; bootm 1000000 - 2000000
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

The mem=3500M argument has no effect on the sound.
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by xeno74 »

Please post the output of lsmod. I would like to see if the kernel module for the ALC898 chip is loaded.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

The output for lsmod :

Code: Select all

Module              Size  Used by
uio_pdrv_genirq     7243  0
uio                19689  1 uio_pdrv_genirq
Last edited by Amiguy on Sun Jul 25, 2021 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by xeno74 »

Amiguy wrote: Sat Jul 24, 2021 12:04 pm The output for lsmod :

Module Size Used by
uio_pdrv_genirq 7243 0
uio 19689 1 uio_pdrv_genirq
OK, I don't see any modules for sound cards. OK, I have it ...

You don't have a Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX. You have a Sound Blaster Recon3D.

Your output of lspci:

Code: Select all

1000:05:00.0 Audio device: Creative Labs Sound Core3D [Sound Blaster Recon3D / Z-Series] (rev 01)
Further information: Sound Blaster Recon3D Finally Seeing Better Linux Support


Our kernels have support for Sound Blaster Recon3D sound cards:

Code: Select all

CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0132: Build Creative CA0132 codec support
Please try the command "modprobe snd-hda-codec-ca0132" as root. You can also test it with modprobe "snd-hda-codec-realtek" but this kernel module is only for Audigy cards.

I have found a Linux thread about your Sound Blaster Recon3D:

[Solved] No sound out of Sound Blaster Z-series/Recon3D/Core3D card...

Maybe bad news:
Phoronix wrote:But now thanks to an independent contributor to the ALSA drivers, Connor McAdams, proper Recon3D support appears long at last -- well, at least for the sound cards having the 0x0013 device ID. (The Creative Recon3Di was already supported by Linux and there appears to be other Recon3D sound cards with different device IDs, which haven't yet been added as quirks to the driver.)
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9349
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by xeno74 »

Please post the output of "dmesg | grep -i ca0132". I want to make sure, that we are really talking about the right sound card.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

My dear friend,

Thank you for your insistence, but I have bad news.

The modprobe and dmesg commands do not display anything and this is quite logical since my card is indeed a Sound Blaster Audigy. That's precisely my card : https://www.amazon.fr/Creative-Blaster- ... 569&sr=8-3

I bought this card especially for my AmigaOne X5000 thanks to its excellent operation based on a recent and functional driver. But on Fienix, nothing works :(
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

It's still curious that the lspci command shows a card (Recon3D) that has nothing to do...
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
User avatar
Amiguy
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 8:01 pm
Location: France

Re: No Ethernet with... Sound Blaster card ?

Post by Amiguy »

Christian,

When I run the pacmd list-sources command, I get the information: 'No PulseAudio daemon running, or not running as session daemon.'
Is this daemon necessary and if so, how to activate it?
Amiga 1200 2Mb Chip - PiStorm32 lite - CF 128Gb - Indivision MK3 - GOEX Drive - WB 3.2.2.1
AmigaOne X5000 2Ghz / 8Gb Ram - SSD 2x4Tb - Radeon RX 580 4Gb - Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 SBX - AmigaOS4.1 FE
Post Reply