New U-Boot

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
Post Reply
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6175
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

New U-Boot

Post by xeno74 »

Hi All,

A new U-Boot version is available for the AmigaOne X5000. It supports the DPAA onboard X5000 ethernet adapter!

Please ask your support because of the new U-Boot. (Cyrus_50x0_uboot_22102018)

Image

Big picture http://www.skateman.nl/wp-content/uploa ... 185720.png

Unfortunately the new U-Boot doesn't solve the issue with the DPAA onboard ethernet on the X5000/40. Maybe a dtb issue?

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep dpaa
[    2.643670] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e6000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@e6000) failed
[    2.643875] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe4e6000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.644039] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e8000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@e8000) failed
[    2.644227] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe4e8000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.644412] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e0000.ethernet: of_get_phy_mode() for /soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@e0000 failed. Defaulting to SGMII
[    2.644911] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e0000.ethernet: FMan dTSEC version: 0x08240101
[    2.645252] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e0000.ethernet: FMan MAC address: 00:04:a3:6b:41:65
[    2.645552] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e2000.ethernet: of_get_phy_mode() for /soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@e2000 failed. Defaulting to SGMII
[    2.645789] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e2000.ethernet: FMan dTSEC version: 0x00000000
[    2.646164] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e2000.ethernet: FMan MAC address: 00:1e:c0:f8:01:59
[    2.646447] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4e4000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@e4000) failed
[    2.646637] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe4e4000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.646814] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe4f0000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@400000/ethernet@f0000) failed
[    2.647010] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe4f0000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.647192] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5e0000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@e0000) failed
[    2.647380] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5e0000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.647556] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5e2000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@e2000) failed
[    2.647745] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5e2000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.647927] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5e4000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@e4000) failed
[    2.653296] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5e4000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.658733] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5e6000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@e6000) failed
[    2.664327] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5e6000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.670067] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5e8000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@e8000) failed
[    2.675781] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5e8000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.681637] fsl_dpaa_mac ffe5f0000.ethernet: of_get_mac_address(/soc@ffe000000/fman@500000/ethernet@f0000) failed
[    2.687526] fsl_dpaa_mac: probe of ffe5f0000.ethernet failed with error -22
[    2.695526] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: Probed interface eth0
[    2.703466] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: Probed interface eth1
[    7.369093] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: init_phy() failed
[    7.488799] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  195.455343] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  308.541945] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: init_phy() failed
[  315.756304] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  420.228314] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  489.474505] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  683.936517] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: init_phy() failed
[  689.960667] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  728.345988] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.1 eth1: init_phy() failed
[  910.461141] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: init_phy() failed
[  920.210613] fsl_dpa dpaa-ethernet.0 eth0: init_phy() failed

dhclient eth0
RTNETLINK answers: No such device

dhclient eth1
RTNETLINK answers: No such device

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

acefnq
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:58 am

Re: New U-Boot

Post by acefnq »

Christian
I have opened support tickets and emailed Amikit several times requesting the new uboot but never received a reply. I believe it is required to boot MorphOS but may be mistaken.

ace

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6175
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: New U-Boot

Post by xeno74 »

acefnq wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 10:48 am
Christian
I have opened support tickets and emailed Amikit several times requesting the new uboot but never received a reply. I believe it is required to boot MorphOS but may be mistaken.

ace
Do you have the new U-Boot now?

@All
Installation of the new U-Boot: Just decompress and copy it with “dd“ to a microSD card.

For example:

Code: Select all

dd if=X5000_UBOOT_22-10-18.img of=/dev/mmcblk0
Old U-Boot:

Code: Select all

Firmware: U-Boot 2014.04 (Oct
New U-Boot:

Code: Select all

Firmware: U-Boot molsen-2018-10-05
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
Skateman
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: New U-Boot

Post by Skateman »

To make life with the U-Boot SDcards a bit easier i have ordered myself an SDcard Extender. (Thanks for the tip Jamie)
Now i have the onboard SDcard connector bridged to the outside of the X5000

This is what i ordered for a few euros from china.

Image

And here is the result

Image

Image

Bridged to the front of the X5000. Not the most elegant place but could not find a nice way to get the thing out on the back of the case.

Image

I would recommend this to all X5000 users.
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6175
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: New U-Boot

Post by xeno74 »

Interesting! Thanks!
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
klesterjr
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: New U-Boot

Post by klesterjr »

Skateman wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 7:52 pm
To make life with the U-Boot SDcards a bit easier i have ordered myself an SDcard Extender. (Thanks for the tip Jamie)
Awesome idea! I just ordered two from Amazon! :)

Post Reply