Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6716
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

Hi Casey,

I successfully upgraded Fienix Soar to version 3.0-20200412 on my X1000 and X5000/40 today.

There are AMD Radeon HD6970 (Cayman XT) graphics cards installed in both AmigaOnes so I can use hardware 3D acceleration with the new Fienix version.

Screenshot of Fienix Soar 3.0-20200412 on my AmigaOne X1000:

Image

Screenshot of Fienix Soar 3.0-20200412 on my AmigaOne X5000/40:

Image

Unfortunately SpiderWeb from your repository doesn't work.

Screenshot with the SpiderWeb issue:

Image

I installed SpiderWeb from the github site and this version works without any problems on the new Fienix Soar.
Skateman wrote: Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:40 pm The Welcome screen shows up... i can login as fienix...
After login the screen turns to black again... mouse pointer still visible and responsive
All is running, can switch to a different TTY and work without the GUI in fienix.
It has to be something with the display drivers..
Let me fiddle a bit more...

I found out that i can login as Root and get the "default" mate desktop!
So the issue is somewhere in the used Fienix theme..
I have the same issue in a virtual QEMU machine with a Virtio GPU. I can login as root and get the "default" MATE desktop as well.

Thank you very much for this great update! :-)

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
Skateman
Posts: 585
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by Skateman »

Nice work!!

It would be nice if the FBdev without hardware acceleration could be used as well..
The config that keeps using the Radeon driver is a bit complex for me... so i wrecked Fienix at the moment :-)
No problem, its running from a seperate USB SSD ...

So if someone could point me to the directions of getting the default fienix desktop by using the FBdev device, that would be awsome

PS... DPAA ethernet also working on fienix :-)
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world
Fogg_80
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:15 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by Fogg_80 »

Ciao, sorry for banal question :
Cause Covid19 I have some free time, where can I download Fienix to try it? On the Fienix website he says "404 not found".
User avatar
Skateman
Posts: 585
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by Skateman »

AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world
User avatar
caseycullen
Posts: 406
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:12 am
Location: Madison, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by caseycullen »

Skateman wrote: Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:30 pm For me, Fienix boots into a black screen with a cursor prompt topleft....
Any ideas...
I think I may have made Compton the default window manager; it should be Marco.
Could you please try to enter "marco --replace" or "marco --replace --no-composite" in TTY as su and see if that helps?
-Casey
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6716
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

caseycullen wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:12 am
Skateman wrote: Mon Apr 13, 2020 2:30 pm For me, Fienix boots into a black screen with a cursor prompt topleft....
Any ideas...
I think I may have made Compton the default window manager; it should be Marco.
Could you please try to enter "marco --replace" or "marco --replace --no-composite" in TTY as su and see if that helps?
-Casey
Hi Casey,

I removed Compton in the QEMU Serial0 console with "apt-get remove compton" and after that I restarted LightDM with "systemctl restart lightdm". Now, I can login to the default Fienix desktop in the virtual e5500 QEMU machine.

Screenshot of Fienix Soar 3.0-20200412 in a virtual e5500 QEMU machine:

Image

Thanks,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
Skateman
Posts: 585
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by Skateman »

Fienix up and running on my AmigaOne X5000 using an external usb SSD

Image

Big picture http://www.skateman.nl/wp-content/uploa ... -46-20.png

Removing compton did the trick!
KDE connect is working perfect with my Blackberry KeyOne Android phone!.

Thanks a lot Casey and Christian for al your time and effort.
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world
User avatar
virgola
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:24 pm
Location: Bergamo, Italy

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by virgola »

xeno74 wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:03 am Fienix desktop in the virtual e5500 QEMU machine
Great!

In which host is the VM running?
Is it running purely software emulated on an Intel based machine,
software emulated on a PowerPC,
or running naively with KVM on a PowerPC?
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6716
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

virgola wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 11:32 am
xeno74 wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:03 am Fienix desktop in the virtual e5500 QEMU machine
Great!

In which host is the VM running?
Is it running purely software emulated on an Intel based machine,
software emulated on a PowerPC,
or running naively with KVM on a PowerPC?
The VM runs on a PC with a Core i7-7700K CPU (8 x 4.20GHz).
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 794
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by kilaueabart »

Skateman wrote: Thu Apr 16, 2020 9:57 am Fienix up and running on my AmigaOne X5000 using an external usb SSD
...
Thanks a lot Casey and Christian for al your time and effort.
As one who developed a problem similar to yours (black fienix screen with cursor) on both my original fienix (worked fine for many months) and the first soar revision, I could use a bit more guidance.
I thought maybe the secret would be running it (the latest soar) from a thumb drive, but same black screen. In fact, it was worse from the thumb drive. No logs were saved! (Well, I haven't tried this new one from disk yet, but the original fienix and the first soar update their logs faithfully.)
Post Reply