Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by kilaueabart »

caseycullen wrote: I call the pop-out panel "AppRow". You can drag any app from the Menu to AppRow to create launcher for that app. You have to drop the app at the bottom of AppRow - a little rectangle should appear, drop on top of that. Dropping in the middle will just launch whatever app you were closest to. Doing this just creates a launcher, you will still keep your Menu entry for the app too.
...
Hope this helps!
-Casey
It sure did! Thank you.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

Roland wrote:I think there is not yet an initrd for 5.3, so I will use 4.20 as it works with the initrd for 4.19. I prefer to operate with the partition labels...
Here you are:
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

caseycullen wrote: These packages have all been added.
-Casey
Thanks a lot! :-)
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

caseycullen wrote: Do you think these should be included in the base install?
-Casey
Yes, definitely. ;-)
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
icbrkr
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by icbrkr »

Have a question that's quite possibly answered in the last 34 pages of text but I didn't see it :)

Got Fienix from AOTL on USB. Fired it up on my x5000 with no problem at all, but I'm having trouble with two things:

I can't seem to find gparted, so I'm guessing I need to download it from the repro.

And I can't get it from the repro, because I can't seem to get my NIC to work. I read that the x5000's onboard NIC doesn't work, so I tried the Realtek 8169 compatible that came with my x5000 and that didn't appear to work - the only thing I get is Eth0 is down.

I'm assuming since I'm not 100% Linux savvy that I'm missing something obvious.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

icbrkr wrote:I read that the x5000's onboard NIC doesn't work, so I tried the Realtek 8169 compatible that came with my x5000 and that didn't appear to work - the only thing I get is Eth0 is down.
Hi Icbrkr,


Please try /sbin/dhclient eth0. After that please check it with ip a or /sbin/ifconfig -a.

To set up the network device with the dhclient is only a temporary solution. You have to set up the network device again after a restart. Please remove the following lines in file /etc/network/interfaces:

Code: Select all

iface dummy0 inet dhcp

auto dummy0
Then add the following lines for eth0:

Code: Select all


iface eth0 inet dhcp

auto eth0

After that the network connections automatically work after booting the X5000.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
Roland
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 7:23 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by Roland »

xeno74 wrote:Here you are:
Thank you!-) 5.3 works nicely...
- Roland -
icbrkr
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by icbrkr »

xeno74 wrote:
icbrkr wrote:I read that the x5000's onboard NIC doesn't work, so I tried the Realtek 8169 compatible that came with my x5000 and that didn't appear to work - the only thing I get is Eth0 is down.
Hi Icbrkr,


Please try /sbin/dhclient eth0. After that please check it with ip a or /sbin/ifconfig -a.

To set up the network device with the dhclient is only a temporary solution. You have to set up the network device again after a restart. Please remove the following lines in file /etc/network/interfaces:

Code: Select all

iface dummy0 inet dhcp

auto dummy0
Then add the following lines for eth0:

Code: Select all


iface eth0 inet dhcp

auto eth0

After that the network connections automatically work after booting the X5000.

Cheers,
Christian
Thanks for the suggestions. Did exactly that, but it's still unable to find eth0.

Trying /sbin/dhclient eth0 gives a eth0 not found. Added it to /etc/network/interfaces and removed the dummy entries, and rebooted... still the same issue.

Tried adding /eth1 as well since I have multiple NICs and nothing.

Since I'm assuming it does NOT work with the onboard NIC, what NIC is everyone using?
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by kilaueabart »

Sigh...

Up until a day or two ago Arctic Fox had started working as well on Fienix as on Ubuntu, and I was thinking that at last I could use Fienix most of the time. Saw something about Fienix being upgraded to MATE 1.20.4, as well as new things added to the repository, and thought I'd like to get in on that. So last night, Synaptic. Reload.

Code: Select all

Could not download all repository indexes

The repository may no longer be available or could not be contacted because of network problems. If available an older version of the failed index will be used. Otherwise the repository will be ignored. Check your network connection and ensure the repository address in the preferences is correct.

Failed to fetch http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian/dists/fienix/InRelease  Could not connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:80 (75.134.17.247). - connect (113: No route to host)Failed to fetch http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian/dists/sid/InRelease  Unable to connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:http:Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
Same thing today. I also tried apt-get update in the terminal, with similar (partially identical) results.

Code: Select all

root@Fienix:/home/fienix# apt-get update
Err:1 http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian fienix InRelease
  Could not connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:80 (75.134.17.247). - connect (113: No route to host)
Err:2 http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian sid InRelease
  Unable to connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:http:
Reading package lists... Done                        
W: Failed to fetch http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian/dists/fienix/InRelease  Could not connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:80 (75.134.17.247). - connect (113: No route to host)
W: Failed to fetch http://ppcutopia.ddns.net/repos/apt/debian/dists/sid/InRelease  Unable to connect to ppcutopia.ddns.net:http:
W: Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
Is there something wrong with Synaptic, or is it my Fienix? Other internet sites mostly cooperate, except that I sometimes get disconnected; the b/s counter in the panel will stick to one unchanging number.
User avatar
kilaueabart
Posts: 743
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:36 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by kilaueabart »

Another thing while I'm here. I haven't found a way to get Wi-fi in Fienix, but I notice that some of Christian's screen shots show what looks like a wi-fi icon in the panel to the right of the loudspeaker. Can I do that too?
Post Reply