4K?

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: 4K?

Post by Raziel »

It will always have to be HDMI 2.0

HDMI 2.0 is the standard when they introduced UHD
Without it, you won't succeed as the bandwidth of all will be too low.
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

Benny
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: 4K?

Post by Benny »

icbrkr wrote:I'm sure if I should put this under the AmigaOS section or x5000 section so move if necessary.

The video card that came in my x5000 (a 77xx series) looks like it should be able to do 4k but so far, the most I'm able to eek out of it is 2560 x 1440 I think. Is it possible to go 4K?
I checked my cable, it is

DVI-D single link -> DVD-D single link with a Radeon 7750

and it display's 3840x2160 in 32bit ARGB32 on my Philips Brilliance 288P (or my allready sold Samsung U28D590D)

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 4K?

Post by nbache »

Benny wrote:I checked my cable, it is

DVI-D single link -> DVD-D single link with a Radeon 7750

and it display's 3840x2160 in 32bit ARGB32 on my Philips Brilliance 288P (or my allready sold Samsung U28D590D)
Really?

It's not supposed to be able to do that according to the specification, at least not at 60 Hz. And I also couldn't make anything above 1920×1200 work on DVI single link myself back when I tried. Only when i changed cable and KVM to DVI dual link did I succeed in getting 2560×1600@60 Hz.

Quote from the Wikipedia page linked above:
Example display modes (single link):
SXGA (1,280 × 1,024) @ 85 Hz with GTF blanking (159 MHz)
HDTV (1,920 × 1,080) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (139 MHz)
UXGA (1,600 × 1,200) @ 60 Hz with GTF blanking (161 MHz)
WUXGA (1,920 × 1,200) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (154 MHz)
WQXGA (2560 × 1600) @ 30 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (132 MHz)
Example display modes (dual link):
QXGA (2,048 × 1,536) @ 72 Hz with CVT blanking (2 × 163 MHz)
HDTV (1,920 × 1,080) @ 120 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 143 MHz)
WUXGA (1,920 × 1,200) @ 120 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 154 MHz)
WQXGA (2,560 × 1,600) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 135 MHz)
WQUXGA (3,840 × 2,400) @ 30 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 146 MHz)
Are you running at 30 Hz, or even lower?

Best regards,

Niels

Benny
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: 4K?

Post by Benny »

nbache wrote:
Benny wrote:I checked my cable, it is

DVI-D single link -> DVD-D single link with a Radeon 7750

and it display's 3840x2160 in 32bit ARGB32 on my Philips Brilliance 288P (or my allready sold Samsung U28D590D)
Really?

It's not supposed to be able to do that according to the specification, at least not at 60 Hz. And I also couldn't make anything above 1920×1200 work on DVI single link myself back when I tried. Only when i changed cable and KVM to DVI dual link did I succeed in getting 2560×1600@60 Hz.

Quote from the Wikipedia page linked above:
Example display modes (single link):
SXGA (1,280 × 1,024) @ 85 Hz with GTF blanking (159 MHz)
HDTV (1,920 × 1,080) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (139 MHz)
UXGA (1,600 × 1,200) @ 60 Hz with GTF blanking (161 MHz)
WUXGA (1,920 × 1,200) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (154 MHz)
WQXGA (2560 × 1600) @ 30 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (132 MHz)
Example display modes (dual link):
QXGA (2,048 × 1,536) @ 72 Hz with CVT blanking (2 × 163 MHz)
HDTV (1,920 × 1,080) @ 120 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 143 MHz)
WUXGA (1,920 × 1,200) @ 120 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 154 MHz)
WQXGA (2,560 × 1,600) @ 60 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 135 MHz)
WQUXGA (3,840 × 2,400) @ 30 Hz with CVT-RB blanking (2 × 146 MHz)
Are you running at 30 Hz, or even lower?

Best regards,

Niels
Yes, 30 Hz.


I will order a dual link, 60Hz is better offcourse.

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 4K?

Post by nbache »

Benny wrote:Yes, 30 Hz.
Ah, okay. Still impressive, though, and exceeding the specifications for single link.
I will order a dual link, 60Hz is better offcourse.
Yep. Let's hope that you can make that outperform the dual link specification as well, so you can go higher than 2560×1600@60 Hz.

Best regards,

Niels

Benny
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:03 pm

Re: 4K?

Post by Benny »

nbache wrote:
Benny wrote:Yes, 30 Hz.
Ah, okay. Still impressive, though, and exceeding the specifications for single link.
I will order a dual link, 60Hz is better offcourse.
Yep. Let's hope that you can make that outperform the dual link specification as well, so you can go higher than 2560×1600@60 Hz.

Best regards,

Niels
I have the dual link cable installed, it does 3840x2160 with 30Hz.

Discovered how the single link cable did 3840x2160 with 30Hz: every 2nd pixel was skipped, so it did 1920x2160 according to the 'display info' if the monitor. But the Workbench was in the 3840x2160 resolution, but it looked terrible compared to the result with the dual-link cable.

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: 4K?

Post by nbache »

Ah, that makes more sense. I wonder if it's the card or the driver which can fall back to skipping pixels. I don't remember seeing that back when I tried with my former HD5450 and single link DVI. It just didn't display, IIRC.

Best regards,

Niels

Post Reply