How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

AmigaOne X5000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by amigasociety »

I don't believe my Warp3D is working on my new X5K using the Radeon HD 7750 that came with it from Amiga On The Lake.

Seem to remember when I owned the X1K that if the Boing Screenblanker failed to run, Warp3D was not working.

My Boing Screenblanker fails to work and the Cow3D also errors on me. Double clicking the Cow3D-Amiga-ppc gives me error "Can't create Warp3D context! (error -4). Can't SetTextureBlend (error -2).

Looking in my Libs drawer I see the follow regarding Warp3D and Warp3DNova

Warp3D (the drawer)
Warp3D.Library (version 53.27 (05/24/2016)
Warp3DNova (the drawer)
Warp3DNova.Library (version 1.29 (08/10/2016)
Warp3DPPC.Library (version 4.3 (01/18/2008)

This is all in my Libs drawer. The Warp3D and Warp3DNova Drawers also have various files in them.

So, any reason Boing Screenblanker and Cow3D fail? How can I tell my standard Warp3D is running?

Thanks

TJ
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor

User avatar
ZeroG
Posts: 119
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by ZeroG »

Check if there is a driver for your graphicscard inside the Warp3D drawer.

User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by amigasociety »

Inside my Warp3D Drawer is 2 Drawers. No other files are at the 1st level of the Warp3D Drawer.

Inside the HWdrivers Drawer is numerous files. Non that say 7750 but here is what I show...

W3D_Avenger.library
W3D_Permedia2.library
W3D_Radeon.library
W3D_Napalm.library
W3D_R200.library

Did the Amiga OS 4.1 Pre Release for X5000 supposed to install more? Or the Enhancer 1.2 CD?

Is there supposed to be a driver named 7750? Or does one of these files above need to be moved elsewhere to work?

Regards

TJ
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor

Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by Spectre660 »

Warp3D RadeonHD driver for Southern Islands is a separate product from A-Eon (AmiStore USD31.41).
It is not the same as the Warp3D Nova that is included in the A-Eon enhancer product.
The Warp3D RadeonHD driver for Southern Island cards is named W3D_SI.library

User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by amigasociety »

Spectre660 wrote:Warp3D RadeonHD driver for Southern Islands is a separate product from A-Eon (AmiStore USD31.41).
It is not the same as the Warp3D Nova that is included in the A-Eon enhancer product.
The Warp3D RadeonHD driver for Southern Island cards is named W3D_SI.library
Gotcha... When I had asked Amiga On The Lake if both Warp3D and Warp3DNova were included, they said yes. Guess they were mistaken.

Will have to buy at some point I guess.

TJ
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by zzd10h »

"Will have to buy at some point I guess."

If you have bought Enhancer Plus Package, you still have Warp3D for X5000.
It's not called Warp3D, but Warp3D Nova.
You don't have ti buy something else to run Warp3D programs.
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

Spectre660
Posts: 1494
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by Spectre660 »

@zzd10h

No.
He would have Warp3d Nova with the Enhancer.
This would not allow him to run Warp3D program like the Cow3D-Amiga-ppc demo or the current AmigaOS 4.1 Blender port.
He needs Ward3D for RadeonHD Southern Island card to run those.
zzd10h wrote:"Will have to buy at some point I guess."

If you have bought Enhancer Plus Package, you still have Warp3D for X5000.
It's not called Warp3D, but Warp3D Nova.
You don't have ti buy something else to run Warp3D programs.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by zzd10h »

Ah yes, you are right.

I thought that RadeonHD Southern Island was included in Enhancer package... My mistake. Sorry
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
amigasociety
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:09 pm
Location: Northern California
Contact:

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by amigasociety »

zzd10h wrote:Ah yes, you are right.

I thought that RadeonHD Southern Island was included in Enhancer package... My mistake. Sorry
Nope, it does not appear to be.

I think this has made for some confusion about Warp3D.

I guess some have thought Warp3DNova is a replacement for Warp3D and was is taking its place. Therefore if you have it, it can handle the older and newer Warp3D based apps.

But they seem to be two separate packages so if one wants to run Warp3D based apps, they need to buy the original Warp3D to make it happen.

TJ
Happy owner of several Amiga systems including:

AmigaOne X5000
Amiga A1222 Tabor

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: How to tell if Warp3D is working on X5000

Post by ssolie »

amigasociety wrote:But they seem to be two separate packages so if one wants to run Warp3D based apps, they need to buy the original Warp3D to make it happen.
Warp3D = old school 3D rendering
Warp3DNova = modern 3D rendering with shaders (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shader)

Hyperion started a Gallium3D project (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gallium3D) that is supposed to give us access to shader technology and supplant Warp3D but it has yet to materialize. A-EON got tired of waiting and created Warp3DNova so we at least have some shader support right now. That's my take on the situation. Your mileage may vary. 8-)

In either case, you need a compatible graphics card as well.
ExecSG Team Lead

Post Reply