X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

Post by sailorMH »

xeno74 wrote:Yes, 4x2GB DDR2 memory modules works out of the box. See screenshot:
No, you don't need any linux kernel memory mapping. There aren't any issues like with the X5000 in the past.
many thanks, I will try with 4x2GB
In past I have no success with 4x4GB ( Intel version )
Pegasos 2, AmigaOne X1000, Powebook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
MorphOS, AmigaOS, linux: MintPPC 11, Debian, Ubuntu ..., MacOS X

corto
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:53 am

Re: X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

Post by corto »

sailorMH wrote:
Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:13 pm
Today I tested 4 pc 4GB memory sticks. I.e. 16GB total.
Strange thing, my X1000 succesfully boots only to AmigaOS ( which is unfortunately use 2GB only).
Linux (debian8, fienix, kernel 4.2, 4.20) reboots or freeze.

I made captures of serial debug and will inspect them later - but from first sight linux boots:
Booting Linux via __start() @ 0x0000000000000000 ...
and then restarts.
I want to report that I have the same behavior with 8 GB RAM (4x 2GB) and a Radeon HD6570.
That fails trying to boot my Ubuntu 16.04 with kernel 4.9.

Here is the log:
Loader:elf Filesys:fat Dev:cf0 File:vmlinux-4.9 Options:(null)
Loading: 0x0000000000000000/23387648 0x000000000164DE00/1808396 Entry at 0x0000000000000000
Starting program at 0x0000000000000000
[RUN!]OF stdout device is: /bootconsole
Preparing to boot Linux version 4.9.0_A-EON_AmigaONE_X1000_Nemo (christian@AmigaoneX1000) (gcc version 4.9.2 (Debian 4.9.2-21) ) #2 SMP Mon Dec 12 09:36:20 CET 2016
Detected machine type: 0000000000000500
command line: root=/dev/sdb2
memory layout at init:
memory_limit : 0000000000000000 (16 MB aligned)
alloc_bottom : 000000000180c000
alloc_top : 0000000030000000
alloc_top_hi : 0000000280000000
rmo_top : 0000000030000000
ram_top : 0000000280000000
starting cpu hw idx 0... failed: ffffffffffffffff
starting cpu hw idx 1... [run1]done
adding interrupt-controller property for SB600...
Changing device_type of SB600 node...
copying OF device tree...
Building dt strings...
Building dt structure...
Device tree strings 0x000000000180d000 -> 0x000000000180d4d6
Device tree struct 0x000000000180e000 -> 0x0000000001812000
Quiescing Open Firmware ...
Booting Linux via __start() @ 0x0000000000000000 ...
[HELO][DRAM]SDRAM: ECC off, Non-ECC DIMM used on channel 0.
SDRAM: ECC off, Non-ECC DIMM used on channel 1.
@xeno74 I know that works for you with 4x 2GB ... Any ideas to find (and solve) the problem?

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6212
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

Post by xeno74 »

Hi Corto,

My 4 x 2GB RAM still works without any problems with Linux. Maybe you have to try other RAM modules.

Image


Please also test it with the stable kernel 5.6 and with the 5.7 alpha kernels.

Thanks,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

corto
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:53 am

Re: X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

Post by corto »

@xeno74

Sorry for the long delay ... I tested both 5.6 and 5.7-rc6: with 4 GB installed, Ubuntu boots well but with 8 GB there is the same crash (causing a machine reboot).

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6212
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: X1000 RAM & Debian Squeeze Linux questions

Post by xeno74 »

corto wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 10:09 am
@xeno74

Sorry for the long delay ... I tested both 5.6 and 5.7-rc6: with 4 GB installed, Ubuntu boots well but with 8 GB there is the same crash (causing a machine reboot).
H Corto,

Thanks a lot for testing the kernels 5.6 and 5.7-rc6! :-) Maybe you have to try other RAM modules.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

Post Reply