X1000 sensors

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
Post Reply
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

X1000 sensors

Post by sailorMH »

Hi,
slowly I configure my fresh Debian Sid installation. What I need is temperature sensors with correct names.
Howto:

Code: Select all

cp sensors-X1000.conf /etc/sensors.d/
apt-get install lm-sensors
apt-get install mate-sensors-applet
lm-sensors is cli-tool, basic usage is sensors or sensors -u

If I cannot attach here file with .conf extension, here is content of sensors-X1000.conf:

Code: Select all

chip "tmp423-*"

    label temp1 "Case"
    label temp2 "CPU"
    label temp3 "Core 1"
    label temp4 "Core 2"

chip "radeon-pci-0300"

    label temp1 "GPU 1"

    set temp1_max 120

chip "radeon-pci-0100"

    label temp1 "GPU 2"

    set temp1_max 120
In the .conf file are real names of sensors, without it we see only Temp1, Temp2, etc.
I am not 100% sure what is the order of sensors on I2C bus, but I use naming convention from AmigaOS dock.
If you find some error in names, please let me know.
GPU 1 is primary card in first x16 slot, I have here card for AmigaOS
GPU 2 is secondary card, second slot x16, I have here card for linux

And how it looks:
Image
Micro A1-C (G3/1.2 GHz), AmigaOne XE (G4/1.4 GHz), Pegasos II (G4/1.33 GHz), Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000
Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Powerbook, Mac Mini (1.83 GHz), iMac, Powermac Quad

AmigaOS, MorphOS, linux, MacOS X
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9348
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: X1000 sensors

Post by xeno74 »

Great! Well done!

FYI: The CPU provides 3 SMbus controllers, and these are used to connect up various SMbus and I2C devices. The number of SMbusses is expanded to 7 via a 1:4 multiplexer on SMbus 1.
SMBus is built on I2C and is therefore generally compatible with I2C devices.
The controller is a PCI device.
The pasemi smbus controller uses PCI_FUNC(dev->devfn) to define which number bus to attach to.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: X1000 sensors

Post by sailorMH »

I played with sensors-detect, but found no other sensors.
I also check the AmigaOne X1000 firmware and booting guide and found there, that 'show temp' displays in CFE four temperatures:
-ambient in the case
-CPU core 1
-CPU core 2
-Southbridge chip
And if I not found other sensors on bus, I corrected names in according to it.

/etc/sensors.d/sensors-X1000.conf:

Code: Select all

chip "tmp423-*"

    label temp1 "Case Temp"
    set temp1_max   40
    set temp1_crit  50

    label temp2 "Core0 Temp"
    set temp2_max    90
    set temp2_crit  100

    label temp3 "Core1 Temp"
    set temp3_max    90
    set temp3_crit  100

    label temp4 "SB600 Temp"
    set temp4_max 100
    set temp4_crit  120

chip "radeon-pci-0300"

    label temp1 "GPU1 "
    set temp1_max 120

chip "radeon-pci-0100"

    label temp1 "GPU2 "
    set temp1_max 120
I also added critical and max temperatures for four base sensors. Unfortunately it looks like _crit and _max has no influence to anything.
PCI graphics cards have limit set automatically.

If somebody want to set Mate Sensor Applet manually, temperatures are these:
PA6T core 100 C running junction temperature ( max will be higher, but I cannot found exact source )
SB600 Operating case temp: 105 C
SB600 Absolute Rated junction temp: 125 C
Mate Sensor Applet icons+max temp can be altered via Prefs/Sensors/Properties

Image
Last edited by sailorMH on Fri May 26, 2023 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Micro A1-C (G3/1.2 GHz), AmigaOne XE (G4/1.4 GHz), Pegasos II (G4/1.33 GHz), Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000
Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Powerbook, Mac Mini (1.83 GHz), iMac, Powermac Quad

AmigaOS, MorphOS, linux, MacOS X
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9348
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: X1000 sensors

Post by xeno74 »

Fantastic! Great work!

Does it mean, that the naming convention from the AmigaOS dock is wrong because it has the name “CPU” instead of the name “ Core0” for the second sensor value?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: X1000 sensors

Post by sailorMH »

xeno74 wrote: Thu May 25, 2023 10:05 pm Does it mean, that the naming convention from the AmigaOS dock is wrong because it has the name “CPU” instead of the name “ Core0” for the second sensor value?
Probably yes. But os4depot.net / x1ktemp.lha has no source code there, so I am not able to check it directly. We can contact author Alexandre Balaban and ask him.
x1ktemp.docky shows this:
Image

and this is from A-EON Firmware + Booting guide:

Code: Select all

local 1 = ambient temperature in the case.
remote 1 = CPU core 1
remote 2 = CPU core 2
remote 3 = Southbridge chip
I prefer data written in manual, they are more logic. But I have to say it is no big problem if I am wrong. Temperatures above 100°C are too high both for CPU and Southbridge, and both alternatives signalizing bad cooling.
Also if you look on picture in my previous post, there is on mate panel this order of sensors ( named according to manual ):
Core0 51°C, Core1 51°C, SB 45°C, GPU2 47 °C, GPU1 43°C, Case 33°C
Snapshot was made after few minutes of glxgears, and the results makes sense with this names.

Other way how check which names are right is to make a stress test with active cooling of Southbridge.
Micro A1-C (G3/1.2 GHz), AmigaOne XE (G4/1.4 GHz), Pegasos II (G4/1.33 GHz), Sam440ep, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000
Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Powerbook, Mac Mini (1.83 GHz), iMac, Powermac Quad

AmigaOS, MorphOS, linux, MacOS X
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 9348
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: X1000 sensors

Post by xeno74 »

I successfully configured lm_sensors on Void PPC today.

Image
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
Post Reply