Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
sailorMH
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sailorMH »

xeno74 wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 3:20 am
In the X5000/40.
then yes ! :-) :-) :-)
Pegasos 2, AmigaOne X1000, Powebook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
MorphOS, AmigaOS, linux: MintPPC 11, Debian, Ubuntu ..., MacOS X

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

FYI:
caseycullen wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 3:48 am
@everyone: I pushed several updates to Fienix Soar. Updating from a Soar image should go smoothly and I think I tested everything adequately but let me know if you run into any issues.
I also made some minor additions like additional printer support/drivers, additional samba support, ibus input methods, glade user interface designers for development, and a bunch of LV2 plugins for LMMS and Audacity.

@kilaueabart: Please install ibus, ibus-gtk3, and whatever modules you want such as ibus-anthy (Japanese) and ibus-hangul (Korean). Hopefully this is what you're looking for, let me know.

@kilaueabart: Please install samba, smbclient and hplip. Hopefully this allows you to use your printer. You can also install system-config-printer if you want to add Print Settings to your Control Center.

@Roland: In Synaptic, please click on vlc, then Package menu, and Force Version. Choose the 3.0.10 version. After vlc 3.0.10 has installed, install vlc-fienix. If Synaptic does not allow you to Force Version to 3.0.10 you may need to remove and reinstall the vlc package.

@Roland: If your /home subdirectories are still not populating when you create a new user, try entering the following command after you add the user:

Code: Select all

su - username -c /usr/bin/xdg-user-dirs-update
Thanks!
-Casey
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

Hi All,

I successfully upgraded Fienix on my AmigaOne X1000 today. It works fantastic!

Please install the package "vlc-fienix" if you want to use VLC on your X1000. The default version of VLC doesn't work reliable on the AmigaOne X1000. Sometimes the X1000 freezes if you use the default version.

The default version of VLC doesn't start on the X5000. Please install the package "vlc-fienix" on your X5000.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

If you use an old Radeon graphics card then some 3D games don't work reliable on Fienix. For example SuperTuxKart 0.7, 0.8 etc. STK 0.7 and higher needs at least OpenGL version 3.0. You can try STK 0.6.2a with old Radeon graphics cards.

For example STK 0.6.2a with an ATi Radeon X1650 SE (RV516, OpenGL version 2.1):

Image

The ATi FireMV 2250 has also only OpenGL 2.1 support.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by MichaelMerkel »

xeno74 wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 12:52 pm
MichaelMerkel wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 9:19 pm
exactly the same here. i tried 2 usb sticks already :-( one brand new sandisk 64gb (just bought last week) and an older one. i can access the files on the stick and copy them e.g. drom amigaos. so the stick is "working" in general.

regards...
michael
Hi Michael,

Please format the FIENIX-BOOT partition with FAT16 and copy the initial ramdisk and the kernels to this partition. I think we should use FAT16 for the FIENIX-BOOT partition in the future.
i forgot to give an answer - sorry.

yes - that worked. at least the boot process started. but it failed at some point with a black screen IIRC.
maybe my graphics card is not supported?

CFE tells me i have a "Radeon HD 7800 Series" card installed...
hmmm... it is in fact a "R9 270x" if i can trust sysmon and afaik

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

MichaelMerkel wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:25 pm
i forgot to give an answer - sorry.

yes - that worked. at least the boot process started. but it failed at some point with a black screen IIRC.
maybe my graphics card is not supported?

CFE tells me i have a "Radeon HD 7800 Series" card installed...
hmmm... it is in fact a "R9 270x" if i can trust sysmon and afaik

regards...
michael
Please try using Fienix-GPU-Bandage:
  1. Boot up your system, when the black screen appears press CTRL + ALT + F1 to switch to console
  2. Log in as su
  3. Enter "apt-get install fienix-gpu-bandage"
  4. Enter "fienix-gpu-bandage"
  5. Press 1 for Yes
  6. Reboot
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by MichaelMerkel »

xeno74 wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:53 pm
Please try using Fienix-GPU-Bandage:
  1. Boot up your system, when the black screen appears press CTRL + ALT + F1 to switch to console
  2. Log in as su
  3. Enter "apt-get install fienix-gpu-bandage"
  4. Enter "fienix-gpu-bandage"
  5. Press 1 for Yes
  6. Reboot
:-( ctrl+alt+f1 does not show anything here unfortunately.
i'll check with my old gfx cards if i can find it. to be sure.

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)

sailorMH
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sailorMH »

Try to boot to single-mode with "single" kernel parameter

Code: Select all

setenv bootargs "root=/dev/sdXy rootdelay=5 single"
or with "nomodeset"

Code: Select all

setenv bootargs "root=/dev/sdXy rootdelay=5 nomodeset"
Pegasos 2, AmigaOne X1000, Powebook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
MorphOS, AmigaOS, linux: MintPPC 11, Debian, Ubuntu ..., MacOS X

corto
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 8:53 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by corto »

xeno74 wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 11:38 am
With the following commands you can boot Fienix 3.0-20200426 with an initial ramdisk from a USB disk:
  1. Code: Select all

    setenv bootargs "root=LABEL=FIENIX-DISK rootdelay=5"
  2. Code: Select all

    ramdisk -z -addr=0x24000000 -fatfs usbdisk0:initrd-5.5.img
  3. Code: Select all

    boot -elf -noints -fatfs -z usbdisk0:zImage-5.5
    It takes a long time. I would recommend you vmlinux-5.5 instead:
  4. Code: Select all

    boot -elf -noints -fatfs usbdisk0:vmlinux-5.5
NOTE: I had some problems to load the initial ramdisk and the zImage from the FAT32 FIENIX-BOOT partition. I formatted this partition with FAT16 and copied the initial ramdisk and the kernels to this partition. After that I was able to load the initial ramdisk and boot Fienix with the zImage-5.5 or with vmlinux-5.5. I think we should use FAT16 for the FIENIX-BOOT partition in the future.

username: fienix
password: fienixPW
root password: rootAdminPW

I successfully tested these instructions with my A-EON AmigaOne X1000 today.
I followed first the procedure from the fienix website but it is outdated ... So I found yours here (using vmlinux), I tested it and:
- I confirm FAT16 boot partition is required
- "-z" has to be removed in the "ramdisk" line
- That does not work with a RadeonSI (mine is HD7770) but with a HD6570
- I had many errors about applets, like "The panel encoutered a problem while loading NotificationAreaAppletFactory::MateWeatherApplet"

Please don't forget to remind to start with "set pmu -astate=A4" in CFE to run at full speed.
And please, explain what to do once the desktop is there.

I have a (kind of) working Ubuntu 16.04. Can I copy the FIENIX-DISK in a new partition and boot on it?

User avatar
MichaelMerkel
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by MichaelMerkel »

MichaelMerkel wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 7:16 pm
xeno74 wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:53 pm
Please try using Fienix-GPU-Bandage:
  1. Boot up your system, when the black screen appears press CTRL + ALT + F1 to switch to console
  2. Log in as su
  3. Enter "apt-get install fienix-gpu-bandage"
  4. Enter "fienix-gpu-bandage"
  5. Press 1 for Yes
  6. Reboot
:-( ctrl+alt+f1 does not show anything here unfortunately.
i'll check with my old gfx cards if i can find it. to be sure.
yes. i tried my old card (6870) and that worked! there i executed the bandage stuff. then also the current card works.

thanks!

regards...
michael
Michael Merkel :lol:
(Member of Amiga Freunde Pfalz)

Post Reply