Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6833
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

Sundown,

Please post the output of ls -l /lib/modules.

Thanks,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
musa
Posts: 479
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by musa »

sundown wrote:
Screenshot at 2019-04-21 06-36-03.png
Internet isn't working, have an rtl8169 card that works with Mate 16.04, need to figure that out before Fienix is useful.
I was lucky to find a post that gave the root permission password (rootAdminPW) to even try to edit things.
Also, like another user, Fienix boots up without the home icon & nothing works, was wondering if I should try another
kernel, seems I have 4.20.16 installed now.
Hi
The Home icon (and others) can be set from Mate-tweak in the control center.

Musa
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
sundown
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:38 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sundown »

/lib/modules
/lib/modules
User avatar
sailorMH
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:01 pm
Location: Czech republic

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sailorMH »

sundown wrote:
Screenshot at 2019-04-21 08-30-12.png
Hi sundown,

I think you should copy only your X1000/X5000 version of modules.
I.e. copy subfolder
linux-image-5.1-rc6-X1000_X5000/X1000/kernel_modules/5.1.0-rc6_A-EON_X1000_Nemo to /lib/modules/
It should look like:

Code: Select all

$ls /lib/modules/
5.1.0-rc6_A-EON_X1000_Nemo
the name of folder in /lib/modules should exact match your kernel version ( $uname -a )
Pegasos 2, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000, Powebook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
MorphOS, AmigaOS, linux: MintPPC 11, Debian, Ubuntu ..., MacOS X
User avatar
sundown
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:38 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sundown »

sailorMH wrote:
sundown wrote:
Screenshot at 2019-04-21 08-30-12.png
Hi sundown,

I think you should copy only your X1000/X5000 version of modules.
I.e. copy subfolder
linux-image-5.1-rc6-X1000_X5000/X1000/kernel_modules/5.1.0-rc6_A-EON_X1000_Nemo to /lib/modules/
It should look like:

Code: Select all

$ls /lib/modules/
5.1.0-rc6_A-EON_X1000_Nemo
the name of folder in /lib/modules should exact match your kernel version ( $uname -a )
Thanks for that info, thought thats the way it should be, but wasn't 100% sure.
The kernel will not load off the stick on my x1k, I finally got it to load off my CF card, unarchived version.
I still have no internet & some commands aren't right, ifconfig says not found, /sbin/ifconfig does return info.
Problem is, I have no idea how to fix a broken linux, just want it to work for network use.
X1000 - Antec Solo case, 4GB DDR2 mem, XFX R9 270 gfx card, Plextor DVD, 2 Samsung 1TB F3 HDD, RTL-8139 network card, Cooler Master Silent Pro 600W PSU
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6833
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

Please post the output of /sbin/ifconfig.

Thanks
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
musa
Posts: 479
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by musa »

Hi
I think that that ifconfig does not exist in fienix until after upgrade I also have no network due to a conflict between dummy.device and my network card.

Musa
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
sundown
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:38 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by sundown »

/sbin/ifconfig
/sbin/ifconfig
This is after booting from the Fienix usb stick.
As linux is loading I get a fail 'can't start module loading' & a network startup delay.
Setting network prefs to static like on the OS4 side speeds booting up, but no help.
User avatar
musa
Posts: 479
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by musa »

Hi sundown
I have I also couldn't load modules and did the following
systemctl status systemd-modules-load in a terminal gave me the Process ID which was 2182
Then sudo journalctl _PID=2182
Here I could see that it was some cups modules that failed.

Then sudo ls -Al /etc/modules-load.d/ who gave me this output.
"-rw-r - r-- 1 root root 125 June 16 11:00 cups filters.conf
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 10 May 26 18:37 modules.conf -> ../modules"

Then I opened /etc/modules-load.d/ cups filters.conf in an editor and inserted # in front of the modules that fails.
Then I restarted and the error was gone.
systemctl status systemd-modules-load now says:
systemd-modules-load.service - Load Kernel Modules
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/systemd-modules-load.service; static)
Active: active (exited) since Tue 2015-06-16 11:03:54 CEST; 4min 5s ago
Docs: Mon: systemd-modules-load.service (8)
Mon: modules-load.d (5)
Process: 1092 ExecStart = / lib / systemd / systemd-modules-load (code = exited, status = 0 / SUCCESS)
Main PID: 1092 (code = exited, status = 0 / SUCCESS)
CGroup: /system.slice/systemd-modules-load.service

I also see that you have dummy.device as your network device and that was the same error I had.
I remove the dummy device with ifconfig dummy0 down;
rmmod dummy;
The following command changes the network interface named “eth0” to use the IP address 102.168.0.1, and assigns the subnet mask 255.255.255.0:

sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.0.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 (use your on adress)

good luck
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6833
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Fienix - New PowerPC Distro

Post by xeno74 »

FYI:
caseycullen wrote:Please check Control Center > Network Settings. If a "Dummy" connection is listed, click on it, then click the Properties button, and disable the connection.
-Casey
xeno74 wrote:Hi Casey,
Some users have problems with the network configuration: X1000 Fienix thread and X5000 Fienix thread.

I don't have any network problems with Fienix.

Cheers,
Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
Post Reply