openSUSE 13.2

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

Image

Note: openSUSE 13.2 has a 64-bit userland. With our 64-bit kernel we have a whole 64-bit system for our A1-X1000. The last 64-bit system was Fedora 17 for our A1-X1000. All other systems have a 32-bit userland.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by zzd10h »

Hi Xeno,
Is openSuse supports the R7-R9 radeon cards for 3D ?

Thanks
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

zzd10h wrote:Hi Xeno,
Is openSuse supports the R7-R9 radeon cards for 3D ?

Thanks
No, sorry.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by zzd10h »

I asked with very few hopes.
thank you nevertheless ;)
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

Hi All,

I've tried to boot the openSUSE 13.2 install program from an openSUSE installation initial ramdisk today.

Download installation initial ramdisk: http://download.opensuse.org/ports/ppc/ ... c64/initrd

The installation initial ramdisk boots but unfortunately the install program exit with these following error messages:
sh: /lib64/libreadline.so.6: no version information available (required by sh)
sh: relocation error: sh: symbol rl_signal_event_hook, version READLINE_6.3 not defined in file libreadline.so.6 with link time reference
install program exit code is 127
I booted it with the vanilla kernel 4.1 RC3 and with the openSUSE kernel 3.9.8.1. I have the same problem with QEMU/"PR" KVM.

Here is the whole test:

Code: Select all

CFE> ramdisk -addr=0x24000000 -fatfs cf0:initrd
Output:
Loader:raw Filesys:fat Dev:cf0 File:initrd Options:(null)
Loading: ........................................ 39254212 bytes read
Entry at 0x0000000024000000
*** command status = 0

Code: Select all

CFE> boot -elf -noints -fatfs cf0:vmlinux-4.1 / CFE> boot -elf -noints -fatfs cf0:vmlinux-3.9.8.1-opensuse
Output openSUSE installation initial ramdisk:
>>> openSUSE installation program v5.0.39 (c) 1996-2015 SUSE Linux GmbH <<<

Please make sure your installation medium is available.

Retry?

0) <-- Back <--
1) Yes
2) No

Code: Select all

> 0
Output:
1) Start Installation
2) Settings
3) Expert
4) Exit or Reboot

Code: Select all

> 1
Output:
0) <-- Back <--
1) Installation
2) Upgrade
3) Rescue System
4) Boot Installed System
5) Network Setup

Code: Select all

> 1
Output:
Choose the source medium.

0) <-- Back <--
1) DVD / CD-ROM
2) Network
3) Hard Disk

Code: Select all

> 2
Output:
Choose the network protocol.

0) <-- Back <--
1) FTP
2) HTTP
3) HTTPS
4) NFS
5) SMB / CIFS (Windows Share)
6) TFTP

Code: Select all

> 2
Output:
Detecting and loading network drivers

Choose the network device.

0) <-- Back <--
1) PA Semi PWRficient Gigabit Ethernet
2) PA Semi PWRficient Gigabit Ethernet
3) PA Semi PWRficient Gigabit Ethernet
4) eth0 : PA Semi PWRficient Gigabit Ethernet
5) PA Semi PWRficient 10-Gigabit Ethernet
6) PA Semi PWRficient 10-Gigabit Ethernet
7) eth1 : Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+

Code: Select all

> 7
Output:
Automatic configuration via DHCP?

0) <-- Back <--
1) Yes
2) No

Code: Select all

> 1
Output:
Sending DHCP request to eth1...

Enter the name of the HTTP server. (Enter '+++' to abort).

Code: Select all

> download.opensuse.org
Output:
Enter the directory on the server. (Enter '+++' to abort).

Code: Select all

[/]> /ports/ppc/distribution/13.2/repo/oss
Output:
Do you need a username and password to access the HTTP server?

0) <-- Back <--
1) Yes
2) No

Code: Select all

> 2
Output:
Use a HTTP proxy?

0) <-- Back <--
1) Yes
2) No

Code: Select all

> 2
Output:
Loading Installation System (1/5) - 100%
Loading Installation System (2/5) - 100%
Loading Installation System (3/5) - 100%
Loading Installation System (4/5) - 100%
Loading Installation System (5/5) - 100%
Reading Driver Update ...

*** An error occurred during the installation.

Start Installation

0) <-- Back <--
1) Installation
2) Upgrade
3) Resque System
4) Boot Installed System
5) Network Setup
Log file error messages:
sh: /lib64/libreadline.so.6: no version information available (required by sh)
sh: relocation error: sh: symbol rl_signal_event_hook, version READLINE_6.3 not defined in file libreadline.so.6 with link time reference
install program exit code is 127
I think the libreadline.so.6 is the problem. I reported it to the openSUSE PowerPC developers today. I'm sorry, we have to install openSUSE 13.2 with another installed Linux currently.

Cheers,

Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

I tried it with the 13.2 install initrd instead: http://download.opensuse.org/ports/ppc/ ... c64/initrd.

The installation starts. :-)
>>> openSUSE installation program v5.0.26 (c) 1996-2014 SUSE Linux GmbH <<<
But only with the text front-end.
Your computer does not fulfill all requirements for a graphical installation. There is either less than 96 MB memory or the X server could not be started. As fallback, the text front-end of YaST2 will guide you through the installation. This front-end offers the same functionality as the graphical one, but the screens differ from those in the manual
The problem isn't the memory. It has 8GB memory. The problem is the X server. It didn't work with the AMIGA one X1000 tarball either. I had to configure it with "X -configure". After that Xorg works without any problems.

Just for info:
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (OHCI0)
Driver/Module to load
ohci-hcd
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (OHCI1)
Driver/Module to load
ohci-hcd
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (OHCI2)
Driver/Module to load
ohci-hcd
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (OHCI3)
Driver/Module to load
ohci-hcd
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (OHCI4)
Driver/Module to load
ohci-hcd
YaST2 detected the following device
Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SB600 USB (EHCI)
Driver/Module to load
ehci-hcd
Build repository cache ...
OK, the installation works.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

The good old FVWM2 on openSUSE 13.2 PPC64:
openSUSE_13.2_PPC64_AMIGA_one_X1000-4.jpg
PLEASE test the installation via initrd. It's very important to know if it works for you.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

Hi All,

I need someone who tests the initrd installation of openSUSE 13.2. Could someone help me, please? It's very important to know if it works for you.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Christian
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
musa
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by musa »

xeno74 wrote:Hi All,

I need someone who tests the initrd installation of openSUSE 13.2. Could someone help me, please? It's very important to know if it works for you.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Christian
I tried to install openSUSE, but after the message: the X server kan not be started, the installation continues in text mode where I missing most of the text. I can not see what I choose and what the consequences are of that answer is .
Is there an opportunity to start the xserver before installing get here.
Thanks
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 5496
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: openSUSE 13.2

Post by xeno74 »

musa wrote: I tried to install openSUSE, but after the message: the X server kan not be started, the installation continues in text mode where I missing most of the text. I can not see what I choose and what the consequences are of that answer is .
Is there an opportunity to start the xserver before installing get here.
Thanks
Sorry only text mode is possible currently.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

Post Reply