New X1000 and Linux install problems

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by mechanic »

alfkil wrote:I am installing Linux on the same HD as AmigaOS (I only have one hd).
Perhaps another has better advice, I would try splitting the area into at least two sections.
sda4 OS and sda5 swap.

Try manual formatting sda4 as / with ext3 or ext4, and sda5 as swap (no more than 2 gig.)
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6175
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by xeno74 »

Does the kernel 3.5.7 work with Ubuntu 12.04?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by zappa2009 »

yes it does. But you need the right initrd.gz.
The Rest is the same as it with Debian wheezy / mintppc11 ;)

Ubuntu 12.04 yes (with out 3D).

mfg Stanglantor ;)
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9

User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6175
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by xeno74 »

zappa2009 wrote:yes it does. But you need the right initrd.gz.
The Rest is the same as it with Debian wheezy / mintppc11 ;)

Ubuntu 12.04 yes (with out 3D).

mfg Stanglantor ;)
Do we need a new kernel?

What about Free-, Net-, and OpenBSD for the X1000?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.

User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
Posts: 1381
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:28 pm

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by trevordick »

Linux is not supported by Hyperion. As recommended by Daz you need to download the latest kernel from the secure download area on the A-EON Technology website along with the updated installation instructions. Anything you find on the Hyperion website will be at least one year out of date.

Note: you will need to register on the A-EON Website to receive your login details. These files are not available from Hyperion.

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by ssolie »

trevordick wrote:Linux is not supported by Hyperion. As recommended by Daz you need to download the latest kernel from the secure download area on the A-EON Technology website along with the updated installation instructions. Anything you find on the Hyperion website will be at least one year out of date.
I've now deleted all the Linux related files on Hyperion's web site. This should help eliminate any confusion.
ExecSG Team Lead

User avatar
ddni
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by ddni »

@ssolie.

Deleting stuff. Cathartic ain't it? ;)

User avatar
alfkil
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:46 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by alfkil »

Ahem, yes, I was totally confusing Hyperion with A-Eon there, sorry guys :)

But uhm, does anyone else experience this mysterious lack of keyboard input with MintPPC and Ubuntu? Why do I?
Is it perhaps a sign from ye Gods ("the Lord of Light" (?)) that I was never ment to run such horrendous system software on my precious newborn A1...?

User avatar
alfkil
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 8:46 pm
Location: Denmark

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by alfkil »

Ok, I tried the MintPPC netinstall iso, and was able to run the installer. But I have the same problem as with Squeeze, that it complains. that it cannot find the root device. I noticed in another thread, that people mentioned a problem when using a partition number > 5 for the root. Is there a solution for this? My root should now be sda7. Well, I guess if there is no solution, I will have to repartition and install again (= 2-3 hours)...

On the other hand, this partition limit of 5 does not explain why my first Squeeze install failed, because here I was using sda4 as root.

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: New X1000 and Linux install problems

Post by nbache »

My /in my Squeeze installation is on sda11, working with no problems. Everything else except /home hangs there too; /home is on sdb2, with swap next to it on sdb3. Kernel is vmlinux39en, loaded off the CF card. Both HDs are RDB disks, containing AmigaOS volumes on all the other partitions.

Best regards,

Niels

Post Reply