X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues related to Linux only.
User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by mechanic »

10-4 Trevor

It will be a few days and will get back to this thread.
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by mechanic »

OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.

Thanks All.

Before leaving this thread there is one thing I noticed that seems 'off'.

In System tools - System Profiler and Benchmarks - Devices - Processor, it reports the L2 Cache as being 0kB. Is it just here?

And how the heck do I get bigger fonts for the Menus and window fonts?
The only fonts I seem to be able to change are the Desktop fonts.

(If it isn't one thing it's another,but it's always something.) RB
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
musa
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by musa »

mechanic wrote:OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.
Maybe ubuntu is more what you need.
I've tried ubuntu a while now and it is in my opinion the best of both debian and mint.
Peter
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk

User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
Posts: 1381
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:28 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by trevordick »

musa wrote:
mechanic wrote:OK. I installed Mint and the onboard sound does work. :D

I don't really care for Mint, just not my thing, but I'll try it a bit longer and maybe I'll get used to it.
Maybe ubuntu is more what you need.
I've tried ubuntu a while now and it is in my opinion the best of both debian and mint.
Peter
the main (only?) advantage of MintPPC is that the 3D hardware acceleration fix works. Other than that I think Debian Squeeze is pretty rock solid.

Trevor
I'm just Breezin'

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)- SOLVED

Post by mechanic »

trevordick wrote: Other than that I think Debian Squeeze is pretty rock solid.

Trevor
Agreed, but it is not just stability. Ever since they made the necessary changes to the base system, mostly for security, many people have been complaining about the interface being rather clumsy and not really friendly to users that like to poke around.

Anyway, I just wanted to make sure the onboard sound was working so when the Amiga drivers are ready I'll be able to use it, although I'll most likely put the SBLive back in as it does work under AOS and simply can't be beat for music. Which is why I got into Amiga in the first place.

So I guess I'll drop back one square and mess around in that sandbox.
Debian! Squeeze me. ;)
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
AlexC
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:14 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by AlexC »

mechanic wrote:I wonder if there is a way to probe the IDT codec chip. Is that on the PCI bus?
Sort of, it doesn't appear as a stand-alone PCI device as it's connected through the ATI SB600 but you can find its memory address in the PCI space from a PCI config register on the SB600/Azalia(HDAudio) device, and with that you can talk to the IDT codec chip directly.

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by mechanic »

Thank You Alex

Soon as I get Squeeze back on I'll do some investigating. ( That is if I can get away from the new Xena software toys. :D )
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
musa
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by musa »

Mechanic did you get sound in Debian?
I just reinstalled debian with
debian-6.0.5-powerpc-netinst.iso instead of 6.0.4
and there was a sound was immediately.
All audio function optimally.
Maybe you should try the same iso :)
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk

User avatar
mechanic
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by mechanic »

musa wrote:Mechanic did you get sound in Debian?
I just reinstalled debian with
debian-6.0.5-powerpc-netinst.iso instead of 6.0.4
and there was a sound was immediately.
Thanks musa, I will give it a try then let you know.

I did some kernel builds and got sound working, but what I did was not nice. I even got my Soundblaster SBLive! (0220) working. To get that going I had to not use the pasemi iommu during menuconfig.

Going to DL 6.0.5 now.
A-Eon A1X1000 ATI HD6850, Creative SB1570 PCIe, RTL8139 net PCI.

User avatar
musa
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: X1k No on-board sound. (Linux)

Post by musa »

mechanic wrote: Thanks musa, I will give it a try then let you know.
I did some kernel builds and got sound working, but what I did was not nice. I even got my Soundblaster SBLive! (0220) working. To get that going I had to not use the pasemi iommu during menuconfig.
Going to DL 6.0.5 now.
Hello
I'm sorry but I was wrong. :oops:
It is not the onboard sound card that works but the pci sound card.
On the other hand, it is a completely clean sound so that is better for me than before.
AmigaX1000
Follow me on twitter @basjoo_dk

Post Reply