Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
Post Reply
zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by zzd10h »

Hello,
I'm experiencing some problems when I soft reboot my x1000 / HD6670 / R9250.

Sometimes (around 1 time on 3 warm reboot ) when I warm reboot, my Workbench doesn't reload (no intro sound) and I'm stuck on a black screen.

According to the readme of the RadeonHD 1.0 (that I have installed) :

"...this solves the intermittent boot problems with some Sapphire Radeon HD6570 cards (and possibly others) and soft-reset problems with some Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 cards."

Is somebody encounters this problem too ?
Is it because HD6670 is not fixed by this RadeonHD 1.0 driver ?

Or is the problem completly different and not related to RadeonHD driver ?

Thank you for your reply (and thank you Raziel and Jabirulo to have spotted me the RadeonHD driver readme)
Guillaume
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by Raziel »

It would really, REALLY, no really, really helping you if you could set up a serial connection to catch the reason why it's freezing :-)

Maybe it's not about the radeon driver but some other part of your hardware?
Maybe it's your internet connection waiting?
Try to comment out AddNetInterface in s/Network-Startup
(You won't have internet afterwards, but you could test a few reboots if it still freeze for you)

But if are not able to see what is really going on we are fishing in the dark
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by zzd10h »

Serial grabbed with "os4_commandline=SERIAL DEBUGLEVEL=5" and standard kernel.

I done
1) Cold Boot,
see
zzd10h *******************************************
zzd10h COLD BOOT
zzd10h *******************************************
in the debug log

2) and a warm boot just after the initialisation.
see
zzd10h *******************************************
zzd10h WARM BOOT
zzd10h *******************************************
in the debug log

http://zzd10h.amiga-ng.org/X1000/Debug_ ... oot_KO.log

My question was too, am I alone to have this problem ?
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 935
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by Raziel »

Just an idea...what are your Screenmode settings?
Have you tried using "Detect settings automatically"?

I have never seen so many "screenmode not supported" messages...maybe it just can't access the screenmode you chose?

edit: otoh those ERROR CNPs right before it stops logging might give someone with more insight an idea :-)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by Hans »

@zzd10h

The bit you quoted from the readme is regarding to initial booting. Some cards would intermittently boot to a black screen. It was a really weird bug. My Sapphire Radeon HD 6570 had no trouble, but other people with the exact same model did.

This is a different problem to your soft-reboot issue. Unfortunately, these cards were never designed to be soft-rebooted. Some Radeon HD 6xxx cards will cause a machine check exception (which normally means hardware failure) on a soft-reset. So far I have been unable to find a workaround.

BTW, it's not guaranteed that it's your graphics card stopping the soft-reboot. There may be timing related issues with other software.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.

User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by Hans »

Raziel wrote:I have never seen so many "screenmode not supported" messages...maybe it just can't access the screenmode you chose?
That debug output is just Picasso96 rejecting a whole bunch of unneeded and low-resolution modes. Since this happens every time, this won't be causing any trouble.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by zzd10h »

Thank you Raziel & Hans,

I understood that it's maybe not related to my gfx card but, by your experience, do you know a card that is less subject to this problem ?

"There may be timing related issues with other software."
Sorry for my unknowledge, what is a timing issues ?

Thank you for your reply (and your work of course)
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
Hans
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 703
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:25 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by Hans »

zzd10h wrote:Thank you Raziel & Hans,

I understood that it's maybe not related to my gfx card but, by your experience, do you know a card that is less subject to this problem ?
Sorry, but no. I have a 6670 that doesn't have any issues (a single-slot Sapphire). However, that doesn't mean that everyone with the exact same model will have the same experience.
zzd10h wrote:"There may be timing related issues with other software."
Sorry for my unknowledge, what is a timing issues ?
"Timing issues" is a broad term for problems that can only arise if certain events occur within a particular time period. For example, the 6570/6870 intermittent boot issue was a timing one. The UBoot screen had to be carefully shut down so that the display controllers were disabled during the VBlank period. Otherwise, there was a small window of time where the controller would be put into a hung state, and not start properly when enabled.

Such issues can also happen where multiple tasks/processes share data. If a suitable locking mechanism isn't used to protect the data, then there can be small windows of time where one task can screw up another's operation. These can be very hard to debug, because the problem usually occurs intermittently.

Hans
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.

zzd10h
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:40 am
Location: France

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by zzd10h »

Thank you
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools
X1000 - AmigaOS 4.1.6 / 4.1 FE

User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam
Contact:

Re: Soft reset problem with X1000 + HD6670 + RadeonHD 1.0

Post by danbeaver »

Yes, my X1000 has a soft reset problem where I have to use the reset button, but I've pretty much ignored it. I use a 6950 card that works fine otherwise. Often however on a hard reset, I lose USB initialization and can't access the CFE menu, then a power cycle is needed. Don't know if anything is related to anything else, but after 30 years of classic Amiga ownership, I'm used to weird, odd intermittent malfunctions.

Post Reply