HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
AmigaPhil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by AmigaPhil »

(Maybe a bit off-topic. If so, sorry.)

Hi !

I'm a new user of the X1000 and OS4.1.

Last Friday, I bought a new TV/monitor for it (LG). As it has internal speakers, I didn't bought external ones.
My monitor is plugged with HDMI cable, but I have no sound. Someone from amigaworld.net told me that sound thru HDMI is not yet supported.

Is this a work in progress ? (Sorry if this question has already been raised.)

User avatar
LyleHaze
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 520
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:06 pm
Location: North Florida, near the Big Bend

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by LyleHaze »

Welcome Aboard!
Someone from amigaworld.net told me that sound thru HDMI is not yet supported.
Is this a work in progress
As far as I know this is not being worked on at this time.

LyleHaze

AmigaPhil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by AmigaPhil »

LyleHaze wrote:As far as I know this is not being worked on at this time.
Ok, I'll buy some speakers then.

Thanks.

User avatar
gazelle
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 12:49 pm
Location: Frohnleiten, Austria

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by gazelle »

AmigaPhil wrote:Ok, I'll buy some speakers then.Thanks.
My guess would be that you only need the right cable to connect the line out to the audio in of your TV/monitor.

Something like that: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/4 ... SX300_.jpg

AmigaPhil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by AmigaPhil »

gazelle wrote:My guess would be that you only need the right cable to connect the line out to the audio in of your TV/monitor.
That is a good idea, but my TV/monitor has no audio input. (Yes, I should have taken more time before choosing a "monitor" for my X1000.)

Thanks for your suggestion anyway.

User avatar
zappa2009
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:17 pm

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by zappa2009 »

Hi AmigaPhil

You can use a DVI2HDMI-Adapter with Sound-Input

Like this -> http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/4 ... SX385_.jpg (Yes its a VGA2HDMI)
I think a DVI2HDMI-Version is available ;)
X1000 RadeonHD5450 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2-PC2-8500 Kingston HyperX 5-5-5-5-15 OS4.1.6 & Lubuntu13.04/mintppc11 with Kernel 3.8.7/3.9

User avatar
danbeaver
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: On the edge of the Equator in hot & humid Guam
Contact:

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by danbeaver »

MonoPrice sells a 3 input (8145) and a 5 input (8146) model; while the prices are not cheap, neither is the build quality of their devices. Audio is converted as analogue or toslink to HDMI.

AmigaPhil
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Re: HDAudio driver for X1000 onboard sound

Post by AmigaPhil »

Thanks, but I finally bought cheap speakers. I'll buy something better later.

Post Reply