Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot [SOLVED]

AmigaOne X1000 platform specific issues.
User avatar
328gts
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by 328gts »

328gts wrote:@ gerograph

great to hear your X1000 is back to normal but it would be doubly great if Amigakit can explain what the problem was exactly as bot xeno and I have the same problem. I've tried replacing my PSU & video card with no help. Now, with Trevor's advice, I will try to get my Debian partition loading again (something about registers?) and if that doesn't work then I'm at a total loss.
@ Chris aka Amigakit

can you please tell us how you solved the problem with gerograph's board as if it's a simple fix I'd like to do it myself.

@ all

once again let me confirm that replacing the PSU and vidoe card has not helped me at all with the random boot problem. The last thing I have to try is reinstalling Linux on my Linux partition as Trevor mentioned something about registers not resetting if Linux didnt close properly or something to that effect.
I'm assuming the 4 of us that have this problem all have a Linux partition correct :?:
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
amigakit
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 294
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by amigakit »

@328gts

Gero's X1000 support case is now resolved and it was unrelated from this thread.
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

www.amigakit.com Amiga Computer Store
User avatar
gerograph
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 9:24 am
Location: Moers
Contact:

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by gerograph »

Gero's X1000 support case is now resolved and it was unrelated from this thread.
I can confirm, my X1000 is happily working again :-). And it is/was unrelated to the problems here... my whole computer didn't get any power (no LEDs no fans) occasionally.... So I don't see anything related to this thread!!
User avatar
328gts
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by 328gts »

@ Amigakit/ gerograph:

my apologies for my confusion & thanks for clearing that up for me.
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by xeno74 »

328gts wrote: once again let me confirm that replacing the PSU and vidoe card has not helped me at all with the random boot problem. The last thing I have to try is reinstalling Linux on my Linux partition as Trevor mentioned something about registers not resetting if Linux didnt close properly or something to that effect.
I'm assuming the 4 of us that have this problem all have a Linux partition correct :?:
My Linux partitions are correct. Have you got any boot problems now?

Yeah, Firefox 22 for Lubuntu 12.04.2 PowerPC is out:
2013-06-26-111826_1280x1024_scrot.png
(211.89 KiB) Downloaded 1136 times
:) :) :)
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
328gts
Posts: 542
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2011 5:53 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by 328gts »

xeno74 wrote:
328gts wrote: once again let me confirm that replacing the PSU and vidoe card has not helped me at all with the random boot problem. The last thing I have to try is reinstalling Linux on my Linux partition as Trevor mentioned something about registers not resetting if Linux didnt close properly or something to that effect.
I'm assuming the 4 of us that have this problem all have a Linux partition correct :?:
My Linux partitions are correct. Have you got any boot problems now?

Yeah, Firefox 22 for Lubuntu 12.04.2 PowerPC is out:

:) :) :)

GREAT to hear :D I tried to install a Linux distro recently but my dvd that had the iso couldn't be read from my X1000 for some reason so gave up. Now that I know it solved your problem I'll make sure to get it up & running again & report back here hopefully with some great news of my own ;)
A1-X1000 setup: Corsair GS800 800w PSU, Western Digital 250 GB SATA HDD (model:WD2500YS), 4GB Ram, Radeon HD7950-3GB GDDR5- Dual Slot, Lite-On RW DVD/CD, On-Board Nemo sound,8139B NIC, Catweasel MK4+
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by xeno74 »

328gts wrote: GREAT to hear :D I tried to install a Linux distro recently but my dvd that had the iso couldn't be read from my X1000 for some reason so gave up. Now that I know it solved your problem I'll make sure to get it up & running again & report back here hopefully with some great news of my own ;)
Thank you for your answer. My boot problem isn't solved but I haven't any boot problems in the last time. I don't understand why I haven't any boot problems in the last time.

Do you have any boot problems in the last time?

Anyway, the Thunderbird 17.0.7 for Linux-PPC (Lubuntu 12.04.2) is available.
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by xeno74 »

Yeah, Iceweasel 22.0-1 and Icedove 17.0.5-2 are available for Debian 7:
iceweasel22.png
(177.02 KiB) Downloaded 1001 times
Icedove1705-2.png
(218.54 KiB) Downloaded 1001 times
Damm Small Linux on QEMU:
x1000-qemu.jpg
(151.87 KiB) Downloaded 1006 times
Does anyone have boot problems at time?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
xeno74
Posts: 6309
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by xeno74 »

xeno74 wrote:
Thank you for your answer. My boot problem isn't solved but I haven't any boot problems in the last time. I don't understand why I haven't any boot problems in the last time.

Do you have any boot problems in the last time?
Can it be a CFE problem? Shall I activate the rescue firmware?

@328gts
Have you had any boot problems in the meantime?
http://www.amigalinux.org
http://www.supertuxkart-amiga.de

Running Linux on AmigaONEs can require some tinkering.
User avatar
trevordick
A-Eon Technology
A-Eon Technology
Posts: 1381
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 1:28 pm

Re: Sometimes the X1000 doesn't boot

Post by trevordick »

I would recommend you do not mess with the rescue firmware. This will re-install the old CFE firmware.

Also please be advised your "First Contact" system is different from @328gts who is an A1-X1000 beta tester and does not have the AmigaOS software or standard "First Contact" hardware.

Trevor

Edit: typo (Thanks Lyle)
I'm just Breezin'
Locked