DiskImage lockups...

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.
Post Reply
Belxjander
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan
Contact:

DiskImage lockups...

Post by Belxjander »

There is a thread for this in the X1000 section of the forums, and I have this same lockup issue,

there exists two variations on the lockup.

I either have a complete non-functional/non-response lockup...
or with compositing enabled, everything not the mouse is locked for some graphics issue.

And the above occurs everytime diskimagegui is run to display anything windowed.

User avatar
Raziel
Posts: 962
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 4:00 pm
Location: a dying planet

Re: DiskImage lockups...

Post by Raziel »

Belxjander wrote:There is a thread for this in the X1000 section of the forums, and I have this same lockup issue,

there exists two variations on the lockup.

I either have a complete non-functional/non-response lockup...
or with compositing enabled, everything not the mouse is locked for some graphics issue.

And the above occurs everytime diskimagegui is run to display anything windowed.
Have you tried the soltution from X1000 thread?

iirc it had something to do with abroken prefs file (*not* DiskImageGUI's one)
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: DiskImage lockups...

Post by nbache »

Raziel wrote:iirc it had something to do with abroken prefs file (*not* DiskImageGUI's one)
It's the gui.prefs.

I have Sundown's backup of the gui.prefs which caused it, and I'm in the process (in spare moments) of trying to isolate which setting triggers the problem. I've captured a couple of crash logs, but they weren't that helpful (to my eye). If/when I find something significant, I'll make a bug report about it, including crashlogs etc. And of course let you all know which setting (or settings?) it was.

Best regards,

Niels

Belxjander
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan
Contact:

Re: DiskImage lockups...

Post by Belxjander »

Raziel: yes, gui.prefs...and I already reset and played with everything there with no changes.

@nbache: Would a whole set of GUI.prefs file which trigger the problem help narrow down the setting concerned?

I have a copy installation with update 6 which I am pulling base materials from.

the only setting that has any effect so far is composition in disconnecting the mouse from the rest of the graphical lockup conditions

Should I check out anything else?

User avatar
nbache
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1461
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:25 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Re: DiskImage lockups...

Post by nbache »

Belxjander wrote:@nbache: Would a whole set of GUI.prefs file which trigger the problem help narrow down the setting concerned?
Thanks, but no, not necessary. I can already reproduce it with Sundown's file, so I just have some work to do to isolate it.

Best regards,

Niels

Belxjander
Posts: 291
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 10:26 pm
Location: 日本千葉県松戸市 / Matsudo City, Chiba, Japan
Contact:

Re: DiskImage lockups...

Post by Belxjander »

Well it was in this condition from time of installation for me.

update 4 was current at the time, maybe that will help narrow down the change set

edits are typos

Post Reply