SiliconMotion 502

This forum is for all AmigaOne 500, Sam440 and Sam460 specific issues.
Spectre660
Posts: 1492
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: SiliconMotion 502

Post by Spectre660 »

Driver version 0.32 does not appear to be the problem.

I just did 5 cold boots with a HD4850 and both version 0.55 and version 0.32 of the driver.
All 10 boots were ok.

Check your versions of the following :

10.WorkBench:> version WorkBench:Kickstart/siliconmotion502.chip
SiliconMotion502.chip 53.10
10.WorkBench:> version WorkBench:Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card
PCIGraphics.card 53.5

Also what do you have in Devs:Monitors ?

dir WorkBench:Devs/Monitors/
PCIGraphics PCIGraphics.info Radeon
Radeon.info

I use Radeon for my Devs/Monitors driver with the following tooltypes

CMPLENGTH=6
BOARDNAME=Radeon
DDCMODE=All
(VSYNCMIN=60)
(VSYNCMAX=60)
(HSYNCMIN=31000)
(HSYNCMAX=85000)
(MODE=640x480@60)
(MODE=800x600@60)
(MODE=1024x768@60)
(MODE=1280x720@60)
(MODE=1280x800@60)
(MODE=1280x960@60)
(MODE=1280x1024@60)
(MODE=1440x900@60)
(MODE=1600x900@60)
(MODE=1600x1200@60)
(MODE=1680x1050@60)
(MODE=1920x1080@60)
FAKENATIVEMODES=No
INTERRUPT=Yes
Interrogative wrote:In other words, I should buy the updated RadeonHD driver from A-Eon. I am currently using the last free update (0.32).

User avatar
Interrogative
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY USA
Contact:

Re: SiliconMotion 502

Post by Interrogative »

Here is what I have.

HDRadeon.chip 0.32

siliconmotion502.chip 53.9

PCIGraphics.card 53.5

PCIGraphics.info (I did not have the Radeon.info in Devs/Monitors)

CMPLENGTH=11
BOARDNAME=PCIGraphics
DDCMODE=All
(VSYNCMIN=60)
(VSYNCMAX=60)
(HSYNCMIN=31000)
(HSYNCMAX=85000)
(FAKENATIVEMODES=Yes)
INTERRUPT=Yes
(MODE=320x240@60D)
(MODE=320x256@60D)
Motherboard: SAM460ex lite @1017 MHz 2 GB DDR2 SOLD
PCIe 4x: XFX Radeon HD 7750 Core Edition 1 GB SOLD
PCI: SYBA SY-SA3512-2R 2 Port SATA SOLD
PCIe 1x: Vantec UGT-S110 7.1 Audio SOLD
OS: AmigaOS 4.1 FE SOLD

Spectre660
Posts: 1492
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 2:16 pm
Location: Montserrat

Re: SiliconMotion 502

Post by Spectre660 »

You should have a Radeon driver file and Radeon.info. Some people have then renamed to match their video card like Radeon 9250 or Radeon 4850.
The CMPlength tooltype has to match the length of the driver name. CMPLENGHT=6 for Radeon or CMPLENGTH=11 for Radeon 9250 or Radeon 4850
I use Radeon as it will work with any compatiable Radeon or Radeon HD card.
You can just copy the PCIGraphics file using Workbench and rename it to Radeon and adjust the tool types.CMPLENGTH=6

My PCIGraphics monitor driver tooltypes

BOARDTYPE=PCIGraphics
CMPLENGTH=11
DDCMODE=All
(VSYNCMIN=60)
(VSYNCMAX=60)
(HSYNCMIN=31000)
(HSYNCMAX=85000)
(MODE=320x240@60)
(MODE=640x480@60)
(MODE=800x600@60)
(MODE=1024x768@60)
(MODE=1280x720@60)
(MODE=1280x800@60)
(MODE=1280x960@60)
(MODE=1280x1024@60)
(MODE=1440x900@60)
(MODE=1600x900@60)
(MODE=1600x1200@60)
(MODE=1920x1080@60)
(FAKENATIVEMODES=No)
INTERRUPT=Yes

User avatar
Interrogative
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY USA
Contact:

Re: SiliconMotion 502

Post by Interrogative »

I used the Radeon monitor driver along with updating the siliconmotion502.chip. I have had no guru meditations on the initial cold boot. I have to admit, though, that it was a little nostalgic seeing the flashing red box instead of the grim reaper.
Motherboard: SAM460ex lite @1017 MHz 2 GB DDR2 SOLD
PCIe 4x: XFX Radeon HD 7750 Core Edition 1 GB SOLD
PCI: SYBA SY-SA3512-2R 2 Port SATA SOLD
PCIe 1x: Vantec UGT-S110 7.1 Audio SOLD
OS: AmigaOS 4.1 FE SOLD

Post Reply