UBoot update for AmigaOne

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.
User avatar
Ghillo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:08 am

UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Ghillo »

Its possible upgrade for UBoot in update 3 .
I'm have card combo FireWire & USB2.0 , because Freeze OS4 after boot i'm disable module Kickstart ohci.usbhcd
the USB is implemented in secondary BUS PCI card .
Or possible solution like classic Amigas with setpatch ?
Sorry for English ,d'ont speack english :oops:

User avatar
Thomas Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 147
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:21 pm

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Thomas Frieden »

There are no plans for a U-Boot update, and no possibility to patch it over.

U-Boot isn't actually Hyperion's responsibility, it would be Eyetech, but they are no longer around.

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by ssolie »

Ghillo wrote:Its possible upgrade for UBoot in update 3.
I'm have card combo FireWire & USB2.0 , because Freeze OS4 after boot i'm disable module Kickstart ohci.usbhcd
the USB is implemented in secondary BUS PCI card .
Or possible solution like classic Amigas with setpatch ?
Sorry for English ,d'ont speack english :oops:
If you can get to AmigaOS you don't need a UBoot upgrade.

The ohci.usbhcd module is being upgraded in Update 3 so maybe it will solve your problem.
ExecSG Team Lead

User avatar
Ghillo
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:08 am

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Ghillo »

Tanks, at Pianeta Amiga in Italy , i'm view UBoot version installed on AmigaOne XE (from beta tester) with one version graphics of UBoot.
This version its no released ,why?

User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by ssolie »

Ghillo wrote:This version its no released ,why?
That particular beta UBoot project was canceled and has nothing to do with your issue.
ExecSG Team Lead

User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:52 pm

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Hans-Joerg Frieden »

Ghillo wrote:Tanks, at Pianeta Amiga in Italy , i'm view UBoot version installed on AmigaOne XE (from beta tester) with one version graphics of UBoot.
This version its no released ,why?
What Steven said.

Just because it was deployed as a beta version doesn't mean it actually worked on all accounts. It didn't, and I decided to not put any more effort in it.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore

afxgroup
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 1:15 pm

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by afxgroup »

i think i'm the only one (or with other 2-3) that has that uboot version installed and i assure you that you will not have hany new benefit from it except the graphic menu.
So forget UBoot for A1. I think there are other most important things to work on at moment..

User avatar
Hypex
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:23 pm
Location: Vic. Australia.

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Hypex »

Hans-Joerg Frieden wrote:Just because it was deployed as a beta version doesn't mean it actually worked on all accounts.
Is that the one where it has a timing bug? You tell UBoot how may seconds to count down and a bug in the source inserts an extra "0" ? Sometihng like that. A member at our user group has an A1SE with that newest beta version installed.

User avatar
tonyw
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 1433
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:36 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by tonyw »

Don't remember any "timing" bugs. The main problem with the "GUI" version was that it left out support for booting some types of HD (can't remember just what any more), so it was pretty limited in what it could boot.

Are you sure someone in Melbourne had a copy of it? AFAIR there have not been any Victorian betatesters.
cheers
tony

User avatar
Hans-Joerg Frieden
AmigaOS Core Developer
AmigaOS Core Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:52 pm

Re: UBoot update for AmigaOne

Post by Hans-Joerg Frieden »

Hypex wrote:
Hans-Joerg Frieden wrote:Just because it was deployed as a beta version doesn't mean it actually worked on all accounts.
Is that the one where it has a timing bug? You tell UBoot how may seconds to count down and a bug in the source inserts an extra "0" ? Sometihng like that. A member at our user group has an A1SE with that newest beta version installed.
Never heard of that one. There were issues with slb not looking correctly on the new version, and a few other things. Eventually, I decided it was taking way too much of my time and stopped it.
NOTICE: If you want to contact me, use E-Mail. I cannot be contacted via the forum/private messages anymore

Post Reply