UDMA on microA1

A forum for AmigaOne XE and MicroA1-C specific issues.
User avatar
ssolie
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by ssolie »

I went through 4 different MicroA1-C systems myself. I used kgrach RAM (sold by Mr. Hardware) which was the only tested RAM available at the time and that eliminated most of my problems. The final issue I had was with the 750GX-based systems and ''random' lockups. I moved the 750GX module to an AmigaOne-XE and the lockups followed the 750GX so I can only assume those modules are somehow broken. If you take a look at the 750GX errata I think you'll agree those chips were rather rushed into production to meet lead-free standards.

My solution was to buy an AmigaOne 500 (460ex) system and get rid of the Micro. Your mileage may vary. ;)
ExecSG Team Lead
redfox
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:29 am

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by redfox »

I have owned a MicroA1-C since the end of 2004.

A long time ago Stéphane Guillard (sg2) fixed some issues we were having with UDMA on the Maxtor hard drives. I used UDMA5 for my Maxtor 40GB hard drive for over a year. However the drive croaked just a few days before AmigaOS 4.1 arrived. This hard drive lived many years in a PC and several years in my MicroA1 system.

My replacement hard drive was a Western Digital 250GB hard drive. At first I operated in PIO mode. Sometime after I enabled UDMA, my Western Digital 250 GB hard drive developed problems. I went back to PIO mode so long ago, that this drive has spent more time operating in PIO mode than it ever operated in UDMA mode.

MicroA1-C with 750GX ... current settings auto-discovery (defaults to PIO mode).

---
redfox
MicroA1-C with 750GX + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by Christopher Follett »

redfox wrote:I have owned a MicroA1-C since the end of 2004.

A long time ago Stéphane Guillard (sg2) fixed some issues we were having with UDMA on the Maxtor hard drives. I used UDMA5 for my Maxtor 40GB hard drive for over a year. However the drive croaked just a few days before AmigaOS 4.1 arrived. This hard drive lived many years in a PC and several years in my MicroA1 system.

My replacement hard drive was a Western Digital 250GB hard drive. At first I operated in PIO mode. Sometime after I enabled UDMA, my Western Digital 250 GB hard drive developed problems. I went back to PIO mode so long ago, that this drive has spent more time operating in PIO mode than it ever operated in UDMA mode.

MicroA1-C with 750GX ... current settings auto-discovery (defaults to PIO mode).

---
redfox
MicroA1-C with 750GX + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
How did you fix the problems you were having, as it says drive I have can go to UDMA5, but machine instantly locks up.
On UDMA3 its very stable since altering clock and re-sinking heatsink.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
centaurz
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by centaurz »

I increased the frequency of my 750GX to 800 MHz (as 8 x 100 MHz), but I still have the same symptoms when UDMA is enabled. Given the previous posts and the number of potential causes, I will not perseverate.
redfox
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:29 am

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by redfox »

@Christopher Follett

If I recall, this was back in the days of AmigaOS 4.0 Pre-Release Update 4. The drivers that came with that release were supposed to allow UDMA modes, but some of us users who had MicroA1 and Maxtor 40GB hard drives encountered issues. If we used Workbench and mouse to drag files from ramdisk to hard disk, large files would be corrupted. Using shell commands to copy worked fine and did not corrupt the files. Stéphane Guillard (sg2) made some fixes to these drivers and released a special version that worked for us. With this special driver, I was able to use UDMA5 mode for AmigaOS 4.0 Pre-Release Update 4. UDMA5 mode also worked fine with AmigaOS 4.0 December 2006 Update and AmigaOS 4.0 July 2007 Update.

My Maxtor hard drive croaked just a few days before I received my AmigaOS 4.1 CD-ROM.

My Maxtor hard drived lived many years in a Windows PC and about 3 years in my AmigaOS4 system.

My Western Digital 250 GB hard drive worked ok with PIO when I installed it in my system case. Sometime later I tried some UDMA modes and UDMA5 seemed to be the best. Less than a month later, I was having issues with this hard drive (intermittant unable to boot from hard drive, intermittant no hard drive detected, intermittant read/write errors, etc.).

At first I thought the Western Digital drive had become damaged and was slow to spin up on power-up.

These issues stopped after I set my system for auto-discovery mode (which defaults to best PIO mode).

---
redfox
MicroA1-C with 750GX CPU and AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
Last edited by redfox on Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:09 am, edited 2 times in total.
Evillord68
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by Evillord68 »

My µAone GX works without any problems with UDMA.

But with my Aone SE does UDMA not work with OS4.1. If i use the following old drivers, it works: http://aminet.net/driver/media/ide_driverpack.zip
Perhaps it helps with your micros to work with UDMA?
centaurz
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:24 pm

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by centaurz »

redfox wrote:@Christopher Follett

My Western Digital 250 GB hard drive worked ok with PIO when I installed it in my system case. Sometime later I tried some UDMA modes and UDMA5 seemed to be the best. Less than a month later, I was having issues with this hard drive (intermittant unable to boot from hard drive, intermittant no hard drive detected, intermittant read/write errors, etc.).

At first I thought the Western Digital drive had become damaged and was slow to spin up on power-up.

These issues stopped after I set my system for auto-discovery mode (which defaults to best PIO mode).

I have been using auto-discovery mode (which defaults to best PIO mode).
Almost same story here with my Samsung 80GB. AFAIR, for my part these UDMA issues appeared around OS4.1 upd 1 release, so as EvilLord suggests it might be related to drivers after all.
redfox
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 2:29 am

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by redfox »

@Evillord68

I think this file you found was the fix for the MicroA1 with Maxtor hard drives released by Stéphane Guillard.
http://aminet.net/driver/media/ide_driverpack.zip

---
redfox
User avatar
Christopher Follett
AmigaKit
AmigaKit
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 5:56 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by Christopher Follett »

Tell a lie, since sorting clock and heatsink. Im running on UDMA4, without issues,
Last edited by Christopher Follett on Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
http://www.ultimateamiga.co.uk (Home of SONY PSP Amiga Emulator and AMOS Factory)
__________________
Customer Help & Support: http://www.amigakit.com/help

http://www.amigakit.com - the Amiga store

New Products
satiropan
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:07 pm
Location: milano, Italia
Contact:

Re: UDMA on microA1

Post by satiropan »

on my amigaone g3-se running at 600mhz 133FSB, 1.79VCore, with maxtor 40GB hard disk and SFS/2, I can't get over the PIO4 mode, no matter which driver version I use
with sata sii3112 and maxtor 160gb I run at UDMA6
Satiropan
PPA1200 (Poor Portable Amiga 1200): BPPC-160MB,
BVision-CGX4, HD 10GB, slim DVD R/W, Asus VW161D
display, 3COM Lan PC card, OS4.1FE
AmigaOne G3-SE 600MHz, 1GB, Radeon 9200 128DDR,
CS4281 sound card, RTL8029, SiI3114, OS 4.1.6 & OS4.1FE
http://www.oldfab.webs.com
Post Reply